We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was o.k.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles to your Saves list
Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   221 North Lincoln Street, Port Angeles, WA 98362   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Port Angeles
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“It was o.k.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We normally stay at places like Best Western or Days Inn, but we wanted something a little nicer since it was our anniversary. The room was nice, and the bed was comfortable, but it didn't quite meet my expectations. The view was great, but there were sticky fingerprints all over the sliding glass door, which kind of ruined it. The pool and weight room were nice. The ladies at the front desk were pleasant and helpful. We appreciated how close it was to the ferry terminal in the morning, and there was a nice walking path along the coast right next to the hotel. We kind of enjoy it when breakfast is included, but it wasn't at this hotel.

Room Tip: Nice view of the ferry terminal on the window side. Fun to watch the boats come and go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    258
    183
    84
    37
See reviews for
191
267
34
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Starnberg
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Nice motel-type hotel but all worked perfectly. Nice personnel, seaside waterfront with view to Vancouver Island. A couple of good restaurants in the neighborhood, just at walking distance. You can park your car almost in the front of the door to your room, convenient.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington,WA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Stayed at the Red Lion Friday-Sunday of June 15-17, 2013. We had a dog, Rottweiler, who loves to be petted. This Red Lion is very accommodating for dogs as is there policy which is very good. They had waterfront views(right on the water) and rooms to the back of them also. Although we didn't get a room on the water side(next time though) all that we had was super nice, clean and the housekeeping staff that we came across on Friday afternoon were ready to help use out at a drop of a hat.

With the mountains behind and the water in front this place had the best of both worlds.

Room Tip: Although iut cost a little more for the waterfront view, I'd recommend it highly. Fabulous sunse...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Conveniently located in downtown Port Angeles, the Red Lion affords visitors easy access to the ferry and Hurricane Ridge. We rented a second floor waterfront room in the main building. There was a small private balcony which was ideal for watching ship traffic and drying wet bathing suits. One ship we spotted was the Tuesday evening Carnival Cruise ship going from Seattle to Alaska. Just below the room was a well-maintained trail paralleling the waterfront and leading on the west side to the City Pier, which has a small marine museum and observation tower.
Check-in was fast and easy. The lobby had complimentary coffee, tea, and snacks. The staff was friendly... they made a mistake with the date on the parking pass which, when pointed out, they fixed quickly and with apology. My wife and I received free water bottles and flower seeds upon check-in (for being members of the Red Lion loyalty program), which was a first for us! Joining the loyalty program also saved us 15% on the room price. The room itself was 300+ square feet, which left plenty of room for a crib for the baby. The bathroom was large and had 2 sinks, with a clean tub for bathing baby and a powerful shower with plenty of hot water. The room was clean and contained a fridge, microwave, coffeepot, and large desk. The bed was comfortable and there was no noise from the hallway, so we had 2 nights of excellent sleep. The housekeeper was friendly and accomodating... ... I think her name was Amanda.

Were I rating the hotel solely on the room quality, it would be a 5/5. The reason I rated it a four-star was because there was no elevator to the second floor, the hallways looked worn, and the exterior doors needed replacement. In addition, the parking lot was crowded and difficult to maneuver around.

All in all, we enjoyed our stay and would stay at the Red Lion again.

Room Tip: 2nd floor waterfront room was worth the extra cost... balcony and excellent view. No elevator to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

we stayed here overnight before our trip to Victoria BC. we were a bit early but they let us park while we walked around port Angeles. it was basically what we'd expect from a chain hotel: clean, organized,and knowledgeable staff. oddly, the bathroom floor was really cold. I went for a run on the little path along the water, although it only stays along the water for about a mile. what really impressed us was the service at the restaurant in the morning. they were kind, helpful, and went just that little extra mile to make our breakfast pleasant. they even filled my water cup for me to take with! for a breakfast buffet the food was not bad and there were several healthy options.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Stayed here overnight while visiting the town. Check in was fast and easy. Room was clean and we had a ocean view which was very nice. I recommend staying here and also checking out the Heritage Tour of downtown it is by far one of the best tours i have ever been on.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Stayed at the red lion hotel in Port Angeles with my boyfriend partway through an epic road trip through California, Oregon, Washington, and Vancouver Island. It was a lovely hotel with great value. Very helpful front desk service. They matched a better price we had found last minute on kayak.com and even upgraded us to a nice view room! Very clean, quiet, and easy. The view was spectacular. Also very convenient to the ferry to Victoria.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles

Address: 221 North Lincoln Street, Port Angeles, WA 98362
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Port Angeles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Port Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles has been setting the standard for Olympic Peninsula hospitality for over 30 years. Situated on the shores of Hollywood Beach overlooking the Strait of Juan de Fuca, we are one block from the town center and steps away from ferries leaving daily for Victoria, B.C. Our unique location is one of the most scenic the Northwest has to offer. Nearby you'll find great shopping and the many natural attractions of Olympic National Park, including rainforests and beaches. Hiking, golfing, fishing, and skiing are also close by.Many of our 186 spacious guestrooms and suites have balconies overlooking the harbor and feature Red Lion's signature plush Sealy pillowtop beds, Eco Fresh Environmentally Responsible Products (ERP), complimentary wi-fi, complimentary parking and airport shuttle, as well as microwaves and refrigerators. All rooms feature coffee makers, complimentary wi-fi, telephone dataports and cable TV with Encore. When it's time to relax, we also have an outdoor pool, whirlpool and fitness center.The Port Angeles CrabHouse and Lounge serves up the best in seafood and steaks. We also offer Red Lion's signature Roaring Start Breakfast Buffet... and don't forget, kids 10 and younger eat free with each adult. With 3,010 square feet of meeting space, we are also able to accommodate up to 220 guests for your next conference or special occasion. Our superior staff and shoreline location, make the Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles the right choice, whether you are on the Olympic Peninsula for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Port Angeles
Port Angeles Red Lion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.