We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“close to ferry line, great service in the restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles

Save Saved
You added Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   221 North Lincoln Street, Port Angeles, WA 98362   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 17 hotels in Port Angeles
Eugene, Oregon
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“close to ferry line, great service in the restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

we stayed here overnight before our trip to Victoria BC. we were a bit early but they let us park while we walked around port Angeles. it was basically what we'd expect from a chain hotel: clean, organized,and knowledgeable staff. oddly, the bathroom floor was really cold. I went for a run on the little path along the water, although it only stays along the water for about a mile. what really impressed us was the service at the restaurant in the morning. they were kind, helpful, and went just that little extra mile to make our breakfast pleasant. they even filled my water cup for me to take with! for a breakfast buffet the food was not bad and there were several healthy options.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    126
    195
    138
    56
    25
See reviews for
147
189
26
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Stayed here overnight while visiting the town. Check in was fast and easy. Room was clean and we had a ocean view which was very nice. I recommend staying here and also checking out the Heritage Tour of downtown it is by far one of the best tours i have ever been on.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Stayed at the red lion hotel in Port Angeles with my boyfriend partway through an epic road trip through California, Oregon, Washington, and Vancouver Island. It was a lovely hotel with great value. Very helpful front desk service. They matched a better price we had found last minute on kayak.com and even upgraded us to a nice view room! Very clean, quiet, and easy. The view was spectacular. Also very convenient to the ferry to Victoria.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soledad, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We had a great experience staying at this hotel with our dog. We were in a room with an outside entrance so that we could take our dog out periodically without bothering other guests. The carpets need to be replaced but the service was fantastic and everyone was very accommodating. We had to stay an extra few days while looking for a place to live this summer and they were willing to let us extend our stay without any problems. The bartender I spoke with while waiting for our to go order was fantastic (Coco I believe her name was) and even though she was very busy I could tell she enjoyed her job and was very good at it. Thank you to everyone who helped make this visit enjoyable and made us feel comfortable having our dog there!

Room Tip: Rooms in the main areas have a view of the water. If you have a pet the exterior access rooms are e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Stayed in the Red Lion Hotel in Port Angeles while touring Olympic National Park for two days. The room was very spacious and clean. Had a TV, small microwave and a small refrigerator. It's worth it to spend the extra few bucks to reserve a water-side room. Nice to sip your morning coffee on the balcony overlooking the water. I have to mention the shower, too: clean, hot, and strong water pressure. Feels great after a long day on the road, hiking through the Hoh, and visiting the beaches. I was very pleased with our stay.

Room Tip: Extra $ for water-side view is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens, New York, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I stayed at the Red Lion Hotel in Port Angeles and this hotel was worth the $99 value per night. The room was spacious, the bed lush and perfect for a good night rest after hiking in the Olympic State Park. The bath room was spacious and clean. The furniture were modern and the room had a iron board, a small refrigerator, a microwave etc. The hotel is located by the ocean and you can catch the ferry to Canada right by the hotel. The only thing is I can't review the staff because I only had brief contacts with them but the room was "cleaned with love and care" by Christine. She left this message each day after she cleaned. Next time you visit Port Angeles stay at The Red Lion Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltspring Is.
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

This is the 8th year that we have stayed at the Red Lion. We like being able to walk to and from the ferry to Victoria. The staff is always pleasant. The rooms are clean and the beds are comfy. I especially like the pillows. There were 2 bathroom sinks in our room as well as a fridge, micro wave and a coffee making appliance.
We were a bit disappointed in the menu at the restaurant this year and the service wasn't as good as we've had on previous years. At our table of 4, two of us had to wait nearly 10 minutes to be served after our fellow diners had received their meal. At the time the restaurant was not busy. Otherwise no complaints and we will stay there again next year.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a water front view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles

Address: 221 North Lincoln Street, Port Angeles, WA 98362
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Port Angeles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 hotels in Port Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles has been setting the standard for Olympic Peninsula hospitality for over 30 years. Situated on the shores of Hollywood Beach overlooking the Strait of Juan de Fuca, we are one block from the town center and steps away from ferries leaving daily for Victoria, B.C. Our unique location is one of the most scenic the Northwest has to offer. Nearby you'll find great shopping and the many natural attractions of Olympic National Park, including rainforests and beaches. Hiking, golfing, fishing, and skiing are also close by.Many of our 186 spacious guestrooms and suites have balconies overlooking the harbor and feature Red Lion's signature plush Sealy pillowtop beds, Eco Fresh Environmentally Responsible Products (ERP), complimentary wi-fi, complimentary parking and airport shuttle, as well as microwaves and refrigerators. All rooms feature coffee makers, complimentary wi-fi, telephone dataports and cable TV with Encore. When it's time to relax, we also have an outdoor pool, whirlpool and fitness center.The Port Angeles CrabHouse and Lounge serves up the best in seafood and steaks. We also offer Red Lion's signature Roaring Start Breakfast Buffet... and don't forget, kids 10 and younger eat free with each adult. With 3,010 square feet of meeting space, we are also able to accommodate up to 220 guests for your next conference or special occasion. Our superior staff and shoreline location, make the Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles the right choice, whether you are on the Olympic Peninsula for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Loews Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Port Angeles
Port Angeles Red Lion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.