We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above and beyond” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles to your Saves list
Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   221 North Lincoln Street, Port Angeles, WA 98362   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Port Angeles
Napa, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Above and beyond”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

My husband and I booked "The Height of Comfort" package. When we arrived, my husband went in to check in and was warmly greeted and presented with our packet.
Included was a waterfront room with beautiful views of the Strait of Juan de Fuca, that management kindly upgraded to a suite. Breakfast for two was included with made to order omelets in addition to buffet offerings. We used the $40.00 coupon included in the package for the restaurant, Port Angeles CrabHouse to order room service for dinner. We ordered steak, and salad and dessert and enjoyed it all.
The room was spacious and comfortable, with the promised view, and a bottle of local wine and wine tasting tour map on the table when we arrived. The food was all just fine, the wine was a nice treat and the bed was comfortable. Really the whole experience was above our expectations. And the best part? Our room was only a 5 minute walk to the ferry to Victoria.
We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Water view rooms are definitely worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    238
    176
    82
    37
See reviews for
186
250
32
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

To my fellow Travelers,
I have to say that I would actually rate this Hotel a "10"! The staff...VERY friendly; especially to the two ladies and cook working on the morning of 17NOV2011. Reception staff was just as professional and friendly. Rates and food are excellent and comparably priced.
I "Highly" recommend this hotel for anyone traveling and staying in the Port Angeles WA area.

Sincerely,
Greg E.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

If you want a prime location on the waterfront, watching the Victoria, BC ferry come and go morning and evening, this is for you. Large rooms, king size beds, nice bathroom.
Location was helpful too, with several restaurants within walking distance.
A very comfortable base from which to visit the sights on the Olympic Peninsula, including a trip to Cape Flattery.

Room Tip: Ask for the waterview rooms; rooms in the back do no include the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Washington
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

Have stayed here several times. Frustrated that the room key did not open the end dole to enter the building, but that was a minor annoyance since our room was halfway down the hall and another entrance worked just fine. Loved that our 2 queen bed room had two sinks: one inside the bathroom and one outside the bathroom. The Internet connection could have been smoother because initially the "I agree" page was automatically minimized, but could have been my computer set-ups issue. Room heater worked well - important on these cooler nights. Did find a pringles can just under the becalmed, so housekeeping should pay a bit more attention to detail.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abilene, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

My family and I stayed for 4 nights during the Crab Fest on Oct 7-8. The crab fest was actually held in the parking lot of the hotel so we were in the perfect location. We had a water front room with a great view of the ocean. Room was nice and service at the hotel was great. We ate breakfast every morning and the staff could not have been nicer. GM of the hotel was a very nice man that gave good advice for us to take ferry to Victoria for a day. Also advised against going to Forks and I should have listened. Great family hotel!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bainbridge Island, WA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

Before I start, I must state that the hotel staff was extremely helpful and courteous. That's where my nice comments end. The heater in the room didn't work (It was 40 degrees outside that night.). The toilet had to be flushed several times and even then it ran slowly. We were on the ground floor and the curtains didn't close all the way, leaving us exposed to the parking lot all night. The doors to the television cabinet didn't open properly, so you couldn't really watch t.v. in bed. I had to mess with the metal stopper in the tub for about 10 minutes before I could take a bath. Even then it didn't close all the way, so the water kept draining out. We didn't have a microwave or mini-fridge, even though the ad said we did. I registered online on the Red Lion website and asked for 2 queen beds for 3 people. When we arrived they had us registered for a 1-bed room and I had to argue with the hostess to give us 2 beds. I complained the next morning. We still had 1 hour before check out. My family and I were eating our breakfast in our room when the maintenance man barged in. He didn't knock, but just let himself in even though the "Do Not Disturb" sign was still up outside the door. Thank goodness we were all dressed. Oh, the "free continental breakfast" turned out to cost $7.95 per person. The heated pool was outside. Who swims outside when it's 40 degrees out? The worse part was that one night cost us $150! Some premier hotel! Never go there. Check out the Sequim Bay Lodge.

Room Tip: The Holiday Inn Express, Days Inn. and Quality Inn, as well as lots of other local hotels, are all c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

Stayed here for 1 night on Sept 28. Great location close to main street of town and harbour for the ferry to and from Victoria Canada.

We had a room with 2 Q beds and a rollaway -the room was very clean and quiet. My boys loved the heated pool and whirlpool.

GREAT location and vlaue for families

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles

Address: 221 North Lincoln Street, Port Angeles, WA 98362
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Port Angeles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Port Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles has been setting the standard for Olympic Peninsula hospitality for over 30 years. Situated on the shores of Hollywood Beach overlooking the Strait of Juan de Fuca, we are one block from the town center and steps away from ferries leaving daily for Victoria, B.C. Our unique location is one of the most scenic the Northwest has to offer. Nearby you'll find great shopping and the many natural attractions of Olympic National Park, including rainforests and beaches. Hiking, golfing, fishing, and skiing are also close by.Many of our 186 spacious guestrooms and suites have balconies overlooking the harbor and feature Red Lion's signature plush Sealy pillowtop beds, Eco Fresh Environmentally Responsible Products (ERP), complimentary wi-fi, complimentary parking and airport shuttle, as well as microwaves and refrigerators. All rooms feature coffee makers, complimentary wi-fi, telephone dataports and cable TV with Encore. When it's time to relax, we also have an outdoor pool, whirlpool and fitness center.The Port Angeles CrabHouse and Lounge serves up the best in seafood and steaks. We also offer Red Lion's signature Roaring Start Breakfast Buffet... and don't forget, kids 10 and younger eat free with each adult. With 3,010 square feet of meeting space, we are also able to accommodate up to 220 guests for your next conference or special occasion. Our superior staff and shoreline location, make the Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles the right choice, whether you are on the Olympic Peninsula for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Loews Hotels, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Port Angeles
Port Angeles Red Lion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.