We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and Cheerful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge - Macon / Riverside Dr

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge - Macon / Riverside Dr to your Saves list
Econo Lodge - Macon / Riverside Dr
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1990 Riverside Dr, Macon, GA 31201   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #53 of 66 Hotels in Macon
Channel Islands
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Cheap and Cheerful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights. Parking is free as well as a basic breskfast along with wifi. There is a small pool too. The rooms are big and spacious. The decor is a bit dated, but when you walk in, the room smells fresh and is clean. The room also is cleaned daily.
You can also get iron and board at reception.
There is laundry facility too and a few good restsurants down the road. It is also peacefull at night, we hardly heard a noise!
Jane, the receptionist was very friendly and ever so helpful and knowledeable!! She suggested a good place to eat and also surrounding activities. Stay here if you just wish to lay your head. Good experience, good staff and great value !

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    2
    5
    6
    13
See reviews for
8
12
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jamaica, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

I dont know what econo lodge these ppl are talking about, I had a great experience, staying their with my children. The pool is very nice as so were all the help that I encountered. The continental breakfast was absoultly wonderful, they had waffles donuts cereal it was better than just a little debbie snack cake. I would recommend that someone stay there , at the price you really cant beat it.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I thought the rooms were very spacious and clean. We got a great deal over the phone so decided to stay here. My kids loved the pool. Overall, it was a great stay. Would stay there again next time we pass by.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed in a few hotels in Macon before, and they are more expensive than this one. Now I know why. The room felt old and dirty. It seemed like a sketchy room out of a bad movie. When checking in I noticed the phrase "no refunds after 10 minutes" on the paperwork. That was not a good sign. The tv reception was horrible (like old-school rabbit ear antenna quality). The only perk was the air conditioner window unit ran all night so we were hypnotized by the noise. Not sure what I expected from a $50 room in a not-so nice area of town, but I know better for next time. At least my room was roach and bed bug free!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I should start by saying that the staff that we spoke to were very helpful and nice, and the rooms are a good size for a budget place. And there was a lovely Northern Cardinal in the tree behind the pool area.

That said, everything else was poor. Their pool had no water in it. Having stayed in a number of motels already that had pools, we were baffled when the owner told us that "no motels in Georgia had water in their pools until May." Our first room had a vomit stain on one of the beds and a strange, creepy dude standing outside the room next door who just stared at my girlfriend and didn't acknowledge me when I said "Hi".

Second room was a bit better. It had a television in a cabinet with one door that wouldn't close. The channels were all blurry. There was a dead moth in the bed. The mattress felt like it was trying to consume us during the night. The police and an ambulance showed up at one of the other rooms the afternoon we were checking in. We were woken up by staff yelling at one another early in the morning. Wi Fi was pretty weak.

Maybe worth it if you want a pool on a budget but better to check it out after May. Otherwise there a ton of other options nearby.

Room Tip: Check out in advance about whether they have water in the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Econo Lodge should take this out of their system.This is the most disgusting room I have ever had the displeasure of staying in! We booked on line with EXPEDIA, which was also a mistake. They said newly renovated...... In 1960 perhaps! Blood on the shower curtain, bathtub floor looked like it was roller pained with house paint, the furniture ws dirty and old. the toilet was new (theres the reno) but the seat was loose. The sink was partially pluuged so wouldn't drain. The phone didn't work when we tried to call the office so they replaced it. There is and was more but but I have a life too. Hit the gas and drive right past this disgusting example of a hotel.....

Room Tip: Drive to another hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reidsville, Georgia, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

i must say we have never in our life have not only stayed but even seen a hotel as bad as this one . even if it was only $5.00 a night thats right $5.00 i would never stay there again nor would i advise anyone to stay there -- ceiling falling in -- water stains - tv reception terrible - floors dirty - a/cheater unit falling out of wall - tub herendous .. --- stayed march 2013 --- do your family a good deed and stay away.. words just cannot explain it i mean it ...

Room Tip: Stay away from this motel - go elsewhere ... sorry but its the truth
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge - Macon / Riverside Dr? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge - Macon / Riverside Dr

Address: 1990 Riverside Dr, Macon, GA 31201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Macon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 66 Hotels in Macon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge - Macon / Riverside Dr 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge - Macon / Riverside Dr reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macon Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge Macon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge - Macon / Riverside Dr, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.