We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not very satisfied” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Magnuson Hotel Macon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Magnuson Hotel Macon to your Saves list
Magnuson Hotel Macon
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   2720 Riverside Drive, Macon, GA 31204 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 66 Hotels in Macon
Somerset,KY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not very satisfied”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

As a fellow Hotel Operator I was very disappointed when I arrived at this hotel. It sits in an abandoned shopping center, very dark and limited "safe" parking sites. Getting back in to the hotel and to the entrance was quite tricky. After arriving and finally getting checked in and going to my room I noticed "fly traps" hanging all over the place. The walls were painted some of the most outrageous colors ever! The vanity in my bathroom was held on by nearly an inch of caulking and the "timer" for the light switch? Better hope you can shower in less than 10 minutes or your left in the dark! I needed change for the vending machine and had to go to the front desk and much to my surprise the desk clerk was behind the desk in a small office, bent over and snorting something. I rustled around a bit in the lobby to get his attention and when he come to the front desk to assist me there was white powder all over his nose. That truly did not allow me to rest well, knowing my safety and security was in this mans hands.. Would never recommend this facility!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    33
    27
    12
    9
See reviews for
36
18
6
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Georgetown, Kentucky
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Though the hotel is a little tricky to get to and you have to go through a vacant parking lot of an abandoned strip mall, it ended up being a very nice hotel. The front desk staff was very accomodating and our room was very clean. Our room was on the sixth floor and it had a vaulted ceiling, which made it seem more roomy. The breakfast was included and was delicious. They had a wide variety of items to choose from and breakfast staff was very welcoming.

Room Tip: Make sure you do not get a room behind the elevator shaft - it's a little noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

After a long day on the road (15 hours) I can usually trust that a Holiday Inn will be a welcome place to stay.. WRONG! Staff was very inconsiderate. Room was not equipped with necessary essentials. Only 3 towels for two of us! If room is not made up for two people the desk staff should offer additional supplies at check in as other hotels do. Two half pillows on the bed where there are usually 6 on a king bed. No extra pillows or blankets in drawers as I have found in other Holiday Inns. Very disappointing after a long day. Breakfast was good and did live up to Holiday Inn standards but nothing else!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Magnuson Hotel Macon, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear 777grandma777,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on your stay. It's nice to know that you liked our breakfast. On the other hand, I am sorry we were not able to exceed or at least be at par with your expectations specifically with our staff and room amenities. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. Thank you for staying with us and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

One of the two phones didn't work and the toilet tank took about an hour to fill up after flushing. Problems that should have been noticed by housekeeping. On the other hand, the shower was very refreshing with water pressure way above average, arguably the best shower ever while traveling. Nothing good or bad to say of the up front people, just average. Overall, we'd stay here again.While writing this, maintenance fixed the toilet tank issue at 6:15 am.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelby, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Excellent rate, clean (immaculate!), comfortable, quiet!!!! The staff is professional, friendly. Breakfast was wonderful! Efficient Wifi access for those traveling for business. The room was bright and very clean. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastaboga
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

The hotel was very clean and appeared to have been recently remodeled/updated. We asked for a non smoking room and actually got one (lots of times a non smoking room means it is non smoking at that moment, but was a smoking room sometime in the past; cigarett smoke smell NEVER really leaves a room). Thefront desk staff was friendly and was very accomadating, allowing us to view the room first. I was very impressed. I will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

We will stay again very clean great breakfast and carring staff. Easy to get to off of 75 exit 164. We stayed on our way to FL we checked in late but the staff was great. We had a very clean room the wifi worked well.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Magnuson Hotel Macon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Hotel Macon

Address: 2720 Riverside Drive, Macon, GA 31204 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Macon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 66 Hotels in Macon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Magnuson Hotel Macon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Magnuson Hotel Macon is conveniently located right off I-75, between Downtown Macon and Northside business districts/attractions. Not to mention only minutes away from the Macon Centerplex and Mercer University. A 93 room interior-corridor hotel with complimentary Hot breakfast and free high-speed Internet in all guest rooms and public areas. Macon is home to the annual Cherry Blossom Festival, Harriet Tubman Museum, and the native home to such musical greats as the Allman Brothers and Otis Redding. Whether you're staying for business or pleasure we look forward to hosting you in Macon, 'The Song and Soul of the South.' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Magnuson Hotel Macon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Macon (i-75 And Riverside)
Holiday Inn Express Macon (i-75 & Riverside) Hotel Macon
Holiday Inn Macon
Macon Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magnuson Hotel Macon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.