We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Substandard at best!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Magnuson Hotel Macon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Magnuson Hotel Macon to your Saves list
Magnuson Hotel Macon
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   2720 Riverside Drive, Macon, GA 31204 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 66 Hotels in Macon
Level Contributor
42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Substandard at best!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

After a long day on the road (15 hours) I can usually trust that a Holiday Inn will be a welcome place to stay.. WRONG! Staff was very inconsiderate. Room was not equipped with necessary essentials. Only 3 towels for two of us! If room is not made up for two people the desk staff should offer additional supplies at check in as other hotels do. Two half pillows on the bed where there are usually 6 on a king bed. No extra pillows or blankets in drawers as I have found in other Holiday Inns. Very disappointing after a long day. Breakfast was good and did live up to Holiday Inn standards but nothing else!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Magnuson Hotel Macon, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear 777grandma777,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on your stay. It's nice to know that you liked our breakfast. On the other hand, I am sorry we were not able to exceed or at least be at par with your expectations specifically with our staff and room amenities. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. Thank you for staying with us and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    35
    27
    12
    11
See reviews for
38
18
6
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

One of the two phones didn't work and the toilet tank took about an hour to fill up after flushing. Problems that should have been noticed by housekeeping. On the other hand, the shower was very refreshing with water pressure way above average, arguably the best shower ever while traveling. Nothing good or bad to say of the up front people, just average. Overall, we'd stay here again.While writing this, maintenance fixed the toilet tank issue at 6:15 am.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelby, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Excellent rate, clean (immaculate!), comfortable, quiet!!!! The staff is professional, friendly. Breakfast was wonderful! Efficient Wifi access for those traveling for business. The room was bright and very clean. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastaboga
Level Contributor
74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

The hotel was very clean and appeared to have been recently remodeled/updated. We asked for a non smoking room and actually got one (lots of times a non smoking room means it is non smoking at that moment, but was a smoking room sometime in the past; cigarett smoke smell NEVER really leaves a room). Thefront desk staff was friendly and was very accomadating, allowing us to view the room first. I was very impressed. I will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

We will stay again very clean great breakfast and carring staff. Easy to get to off of 75 exit 164. We stayed on our way to FL we checked in late but the staff was great. We had a very clean room the wifi worked well.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

A recent out-of-state emergency forced us to fly across country with little notice and stay 8 days in a hotel we knew very little about. Happily, we found our stay to be comfortable at every turn. When we needed items we forgot to pack, the hotel provided them. When paper was required for an impromptu meeting, the hotel provided a tablet and folder to house legal documents. Bandaids were offered when we realized a couple were needed. I especially liked their policy of providing bottled water, free of charge, upon request. We requested several bottles each day, and when chilled bottles were available they offered those.

Housekeeping staff were always courteous and available. Front desk staff were friendly and accommodating. We did not eat the hotel breakfasts since we prefer hot breakfast meals; this hotel provides a more continental style selection. No lunch or dinner meals are provided. The hotel is situated in front of a strip shopping area which had a number of vacant storefronts making us wonder about the locale, but we had no reason to feel unsafe and saw no indication the area was problematic.

The room was spacious, and the bed was very comfortable providing ample support for my sensitive lumbar. We both rested comfortably each night. Even in the heatwave we found in GA (106 F one day!) the room was always cool and inviting. The thermostat in the room insured individualized comfort. The bathroom and closet areas were both appropriately sized, and the room contained a medium sized mini-fridge and microwave. Additionally, there was a pull-out sofa, coffee table, lamp, and comfortable and supportive chair in a seating area of the room. The desk was used for dual purposes, offering me the option of a vanity in early mornings and workspace at other times. The large, flat screened television swiveled and was easily seen from all areas of the room.

Parking near the hotel's front entrance was often limited when we returned at night. There will always be parking spaces available on the back side of this hotel due to the shared shopping center venue, but I did not want to leave a vehicle parked in an unsupervised and out of view location, especially where storefronts were for empty and advertised for lease. This was the only negative comment about our stay and fortunately did not pose a problem every evening.

We may have to return to this GA area and will not hesitate to stay in this hotel again. It is reasonably priced, convenient to 2 interstate highways (I-75 and I-16), near the city's downtown corridor, convenient to 2 large hospitals and 1 smaller medical facility, and an easy drive to the major shopping venues of the Macon city area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

I stayed here one night with my family. The room was clean, the beds were comfortable, and the breakfast was great. The nighttime desk attendant was very friendly which is more than I could say for the daytime desk attendants. I did not use any amenities other than the computer in the lobby and the breakfast. I would stay here again and recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Magnuson Hotel Macon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Hotel Macon

Address: 2720 Riverside Drive, Macon, GA 31204 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Macon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 66 Hotels in Macon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Magnuson Hotel Macon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Magnuson Hotel Macon is conveniently located right off I-75, between Downtown Macon and Northside business districts/attractions. Not to mention only minutes away from the Macon Centerplex and Mercer University. A 93 room interior-corridor hotel with complimentary Hot breakfast and free high-speed Internet in all guest rooms and public areas. Macon is home to the annual Cherry Blossom Festival, Harriet Tubman Museum, and the native home to such musical greats as the Allman Brothers and Otis Redding. Whether you're staying for business or pleasure we look forward to hosting you in Macon, 'The Song and Soul of the South.' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Magnuson Hotel Macon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Macon (i-75 & Riverside) Hotel Macon
Holiday Inn Express Macon (i-75 And Riverside)
Holiday Inn Macon
Macon Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magnuson Hotel Macon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.