We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fatty brisket” 3 of 5 stars
Review of High on the Hawg

High on the Hawg
1687 Bass Rd, Macon, GA 31210
(478) 254-7504
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #185 of 282 Restaurants in Macon
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Macon, Georgia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“fatty brisket”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

first time it was excellent but had desserts to go.. pricey and such a small slice.. about two bites each.. second time to go, brisket was so full of fat we had to throw out..

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    2
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good BBQ Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

I ordered a BBQ pork sandwich which came with one side. I selected baked beans. (You can order many combinations with a sandwich or plate of meat and various number of sides.). The beans were good and hot. The sandwich was warm and had a good flavor. I put the mild flavor of BBQ sauce on it and it was very good. I was surprised to see so many interesting flavors of BBQ sauce, including peach. I also ordered sweet tea which was very good. It was not too busy at the time I was eating there on a Saturday, but it was at a late afternoon time. They are open until 9PM most days, except Sunday until 4PM. It was a clean restaurant. Country music was playing softly in the background. The noise level was good. I think it was a reasonable price for a decent meal. I have eaten pulled pork sandwiches at another restaurant in town and prefer it, given the choice. However, if I am on that side of town, I will definitely eat here again.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tennessee
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“GROSS-except for the french fries!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

Maccaroni and cheese was greasy yet dry. Meat was just okay, sauces were not good at all, okra was greasy, service was friendly and food was hot and fast.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, Georgia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Simply The Best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

Simply put High on the Hawg serves the best BBQ in Macon. Nothing more needs to be said...

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, GA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great lunch stop along I-75.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012 via mobile

Good food. Pulled pork was great. I liked the variety of sauce choices--they have both vinegar-based and ketchup-based sauces. My favorite was Sweet & Spicy.

The lunch specials are a good value. As of 3/1/12, $5.25 for sandwich side and drink.

Nice, friendly staff and the restaurant has a hometown feel to it.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed High on the Hawg also viewed

 

Been to High on the Hawg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage High on the Hawg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.