We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of JL's Open Pit Bar-b-q

JL's Open Pit Bar-b-q
5001 Brookhaven Rd, Macon, GA 31206
(478) 788-1989
Improve this listing
Ranked #89 of 282 Restaurants in Macon
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very disappointed.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

The reviews indicated that this was a great restaurant. I had second thoughts when I saw the empty parking lot on a Friday night. The food was terrible, the salad bar items looked as if they had been there forever. My husband ordered prime rib, when it came it was ice cold and when returned warmer, it was in edible. I had the ribs which were dry and not very tasty. The only bright spot was the waitress, who made every effort to attempt to make things right. Do not go there.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    20
    13
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not bad at all”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

Had the lunch special it was very good great value will return beans are great pork was also had ours pulled

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“still the best BBQ in Macon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

My wife issued her verdict on the bbq beans....best she ever had, and her pulled pork was delicious. My ribs and chicken were great,cole slaw and beans were delicious, service fast and friendly and definitely worth driving hwy 80 to I 475 intersection.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The sauce here was great. The ribs on our day were a little dry but it was a slow/friday afternoon so I'll give them a break. We had corn nuggets which were very good. Also sampled pork, chicken, ribs, chicken sandwich and all were enjoyed by everyone. This place is worth the drive from Atlanta!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Physically here, wishing I was there
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“I'll never eat another chain burger”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We decided to go off the beaten track and try some local style food rather than the slick chains we are used too. Boy what a find. This place served the best food I have eaten in all my 17years of travelling the States. The pulled pork was amazing. I never knew you could get such flavours from a BBQ. I obviously am doing it wrong in my back garden!
The silence of the four of us whilst tucking into our respective meals spoke volumes!
I will always seek out the local eateries from now on and leave the chains alone. JL's BBQ was great for taste, value, service and ambiance. Well worth a stop if your heading down the i75.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed JL's Open Pit Bar-b-q also viewed

 

Been to JL's Open Pit Bar-b-q? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JL's Open Pit Bar-b-q, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.