We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Marriott” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Macon City Center

Save Saved
You added Marriott Macon City Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Marriott Macon City Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   240 Coliseum Drive, Macon, GA 31217   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #22 of 65 hotels in Macon
Chapel Hill, Tennessee, United States
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Nice Marriott”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

It is a very nice looking hotel on the inside and out. The bar is in the lobby and is a great place to socialize. Very busy every night and the wait staff is on the spot. My only issue with the hotel is at check-in. They only have one person checking in so it took 30 minutes with three people ahead of me. For a full service Marriott they should have at least two people checking in. The concierge lounge is excellent with a great variety of food selections both at night and for breakfast. I had lunch one day and dinner the next in the hotel and was very happy with the food quality and pricing. Right in line with any other restaurant and I did not have to leave the hotel. The hotel is very close to downtown and other things to do. It has an attached convention center which is nice for our event this week. I will always stay here when in Macon but I hope the check-in experience is better next time. All of the staff I encountered were very nice and attentive to my needs.

Room Tip: I stayed on the 7th floor. There is not much of a view but it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    53
    37
    13
    11
See reviews for
33
23
10
70
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Nice room - 4 star material
Beds were nice & comfortable. Slept well
Pretty room. Updated.
Lots of Mold in shower - black & pink
Staff - some very friendly - some grumpy. Front desk usually has just one person. SHould have at least 2. Had to wait to check in (2 people ahead.) Also other times I needed help, Had to wait.
$10 for wifi... most hotels and restaurants are free these days!

I'd give it 5 if wifi was available, and continental breakfast like other hotels in it's class.

Wasn't willing to be accommodating for late checkout. Asked for 1pm. They said 12:30pm. So finally agreed on 12:45. Other hotels would let you stay til 2pm. It was Sunday.

Got a decent rate via Priceline by mistake (I entered a wrong zone.)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton, GA
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Just returned from a one night/two day business trip. With a group reservation of about 35 rooms, they still allowed most of us to check in around 1:30. This is a very large facility with a lot of rooms, so that was no surprise. All employees were friendly, said hello, opened doors for us, etc. The meeting facilities are more than adequate, even for very large groups. My only complaint is that there is a very long walk to the conference facilities from the room. I don't know how far it is exactly, but it must be more than half a mile. People with limited mobility might have some difficulty. The room was very clean and the bed was super comfortable. Everything was just as expected. My coworker in the next room accidentally locked herself out of her room after setting her room service tray outside the door, and she came to my room and called the front desk. They sent someone up immediately to let her back in, and this was during a very busy time with everyone checking out. Great service. I'm used to getting discounts here and there, so the room seems a little on the high side, but I suppose it's the best choice for an overnight stay with large meeting facilities.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I always stay at a Marriott when I travel. But this week, I decided to do a two night "stay-cation" and checked into the Macon City Center, as with larger Marriott Hotels, the Marriott Macon City Center did not miss a beat!!! The Front Staff was great, My room was a prefect "10", Room Service was always hot and great! The Concierge Lounge was 1st class and their Liaison in there was great! And all the Management and Staff was very professional and friendly.

A true 4 Star Hotel ...

Frankie T.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

I recently stayed at the hotel. It was a great visit. I just found out that this hotel was rated 4 star hotel by Forbes travel guide. I would never expect a 4 star hotel in Macon. This hotel really deserves it. Great hotel and great people. Can't wait to go back.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Spent 6 nights at this hotel on the concierge floor. The lounge put out meager appetizers in the afternoon and served the same breakfast every morning which did not include any pastry. Our room did not get cleaned one of the days until evening when I complained. I also had to call for fresh towels and toiletries that the housekeeper did not leave. 5 hours later, I received the towels and toilet paper! Seems something was lost in the translation. Dusting was not one of the chores of the daily housekeeping schedule. The staff was all very pleasant and the night Manager, Holly kept a stiff upper lip in the face of many hostile patrons, a fire alarm (from someone smoking in the hotel) and a monster truck rally going on at the coliseum engulfing the place in fumes.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne City, IL
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

My husband and I were traveling from Galveston, Tx to Savannah, Ga, for busniness and had a few days to relax. We decide to stay in Macon, and came across the Macon City Center. This hotel was perfect for a romantic getaway!! The hotel is so nice, and the staff is very friendly!! Everything was so new, and clean. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone!! Perfect hotel for a special weekend!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wende B, General Manager at Marriott Macon City Center, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Macon is a special place and we think our Marriott is special too. There is so much history here PLUS new shops and museums to see to keep one busy for several days. Thank you so much for your comments. We enjoy what we do and very glad you had a positive experience. Keep an eye out for special events that we host at the Centreplex. Check us out on facebook.

Wende
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marriott Macon City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Macon City Center

Also Known As:
Marriott Macon City Hotel Macon
Marriott Macon City Hotel
Address: 240 Coliseum Drive, Macon, GA 31217
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Macon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Macon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott Macon City Center 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Marriott Macon City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Macon City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.