We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Elms Best Value Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in O'Neill
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Elms Best Value Inn
414 E Douglas, O'Neill, NE 68763-2307   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in O'Neill
U.S.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Nice little place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

This is one of those nice little motels where your room is quiet, clean and the owners care. Well run and comfy. If you need a night to bed down on the road, this is a much better value than the name brand motels.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    1
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
Couples
0
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mission, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Maybe I got a bad room on the wrong night...but...my experience was not ideal. Room floor was filthy. Think they forgot to vacuum. And there was blood spots on the vanity. But the kicker for me was the other guests that night. A lot of young construction dudes carting big coolers into their rooms with a beer in other hand. A couple of them were eyeing up my motorcycle pretty good. Not typically one to judge people but I just didnt have a safe and comfortable feeling and could be in for a sleepless night. So I packed up my stuff and moved on down the road to another motel which was $5 more a night, spotless room and much better vibe. The upside is the room rate the Elms was so cheap I didnt bother with the hassle of asking for my money back..I just left. Oh I should mention the room had a great A/C. Super cold.

Room Tip: Ask to view your room first.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atkinson, Nebraska
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I have never stayed at the Elm's personally, but as manager of another independently-owned motel in the next community, I hear much feedback. During peak season we refer the majority of our guests to this motel simply because of the feedback we have received from many of our regular guests who have stayed there when we've had no vacancy. The staff is very friendly and cooperative in the business associate aspect. This property has an excellent location next to several convenience stores, shopping & restaurants. Being a motel operator, I understand that traveler's are taking a chance when choosing a mom & pop lodging facility and often opt for the validity and reputation of a larger franchise, but I highly recommend this property. You will receive the comfort and service of any large-chain motel, but on top of that, you will receive hometown friendliness and pricing.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2006

Have stayed at the Elms Motel for several years now during our trek to and from the Sturgis motorcycle rally. The motel has a convenient location, clean and well maintained rooms. The added continental breakfast makes it an even better value. We like the fact you can pull your car/motorcycle right up to the door to unload.

  • Liked — Service, cleanliness, location
  • Disliked — No pool
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Elms Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elms Best Value Inn

Address: 414 E Douglas, O'Neill, NE 68763-2307
Location: United States > Nebraska > O'Neill
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in O'Neill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elms Best Value Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Elms Best Value Inn to your Saves list