We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place to relax and enjoy the best of the Solomons!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fatboys Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ghizo Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fatboys Resort
PO Box 140, Ghizo Island, Solomon Islands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Ghizo Island
Sydney
1 review
“Beautiful place to relax and enjoy the best of the Solomons!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2009

We stayed at Fatboys the start of a month in the Solomons and loved it so much that we changed our plans so that we could come back at the end of the holiday too. The setting is amazing from the outset. The fatboys staff picked us up at the airport in a boat and we were blown away be the scenery from the start: islands big and small scattered in crystal clear blue/green sea. The kind of stuff that tropical postcards look like (but most places are disappointing when you see it first hand, not Fatboys and it's surrounds!).

Fatboys itself is a great place. It is hard to imagine a more relaxing or beautiful place for a meal or a drink than the over water restaurant/bar. The food was impressive, and you can see it arrive everyday when local fishermen bring the catch around! The staff (including the owners, who are around all the time) are relaxed and really friendly.

We were there for the diving, which was really varied and generally great. There are wrecks, great reefs with amazing fish and plant life, and some sharks, rays etc. All the diving is done from boats and, best of all, the water is warm enough that even diving below 30m there is no need for a wet suit!

Can't recommend this place enough!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    44
    14
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
31
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
tasmania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2009

Wow what an amazing place!
We spent 2 months travelling & trekking the solomons & this was eaily our highlight. We spent a total of 4 nights at fatboys & this place had everything.

The rooms were tranquil & peaceful. The hosts - chelsea & dave - were brilliant. Chelsea was so welcoming & dave was at his charismatic best.

the restaurant & bar hosts one of the better views i have seen over turquoise waters. the food is great and afternoons, evenings are something special at fatboys. the sunday sessions are worthy of the hype (if u spend time in gizo, u'll know what i mean)

I would recommend this to all travellers to the solomons - relaxation, fun evenings, great staff, good food.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2009

We recently returned from a 3 week trip to the Solomons, Fiji and Tonga. We were in the Solmons for 1 week. We stayed at Fatboys for 4 nights and wished it could have been longer ... we could have easily spent a week there and the only reason we didn’t was because of flight restrictions.

The location of Fatboys could not be more beautiful, set above the turquoise water, facing the volcanic island of Kolombangara which makes a stunning view whatever the weather. We were allocated a spacious double room with very tasteful decor and balcony at the top of the 2 floor self-contained unit. This was kept immaculately clean throughout our stay and a few fresh flowers were placed on the bed every day which we thought was a nice touch. The room had a beautiful view to the side and front of the room and you could easily spend an afternoon or so reading on the balcony or on the bed without feeling you were wasting the day as when you looked out of the windows, the view was breathtaking.

There could not be a better setting for the restaurant and we enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere and feeding the fish under the lights around our meal times. We saw a couple of small (and harmless!) sharks come in when we tempted them with large fish carcasses one night, which was a treat for us and a lionfish or two were regularly sighted there.

We found the food very good quality and reasonable value for money given the location and the cost of some of the imported goods used in the cooking. An evening main course was less than $AUD20 and the size of the portions we had, we didn’t need a starter or a main. It was a very generous portion. Particular highlights were the crayfish and red snapper caught fresh that day by the locals. The cook Kenzie and senior staff member Mano, were both extremely accommodating and helpful when we had a couple of special requests for some local Solomonese food ... what Kenzie cooked up for us that night was a culinary delight.

We found the service was excellent and the staff and owners, Dave & Chelsea Carlton, extremely accommodating and friendly. When we first arrived, we were a little disconcerted as some workers were cutting some wood quite near our room and the noise spoiled the quiet ambience. As soon as one of the owners, Dave, returned from town not long after, my boyfriend had a brief word with him about the noise; he was very nice and extremely apologetic. He immediately spoke to the builders and we had no further disturbances for the rest of our stay. Whilst there would always be music playing in the restaurant, we could always head back to our room/balcony if we wanted quiet. Whilst we personally did not have a problem with the music volume, I am sure if you found the music too loud, the staff would not mind turning it down ... or you could do it yourself ... there is a pretty relaxed atmosphere there.

Dave and Chelsea were both very helpful in assisting us with our schedule so we could fit in everything we wanted. Chelsea too helped us out a lot by making the Skull Island day trip more affordable to us. It is best to have 4 -6 people to do the trip but as we were only 2 it would have been more expensive. Chelsea made the trip possible for us by running the two of us there whilst running a couple of errands for the resort nearby, which brought the cost down.

We found Skull Island itself interesting. It is very small and warrants only a very quick visit, but we found the picturesque journey there and back well worth the journey ... the beautiful clear water, volcano in the background, the islands ... it really was gorgeous, if you don’t mind travelling on a small boat. I dived the nearby WWII Japanese wreck on another day which was fascinating and we both snorkelled a lot around the restaurant where you could see all sorts of small fish, many of which like to stay under the restaurant itself. They have also planted a coral garden near the restaurant and it is nice to see that the owners are doing their bit for the environment. If we had more time, we would have liked to visit the village on the island and visit the volcanic island of Kolombangara, amongst other things. We would also have liked to have eaten out in Gizo one or more evening for a change, had we stayed longer, as I believe the hotel can arrange a transfer to and from Gizo even in the evenings.

There were a couple of things that could be improved like there not being hot water, but I understand the owners are planning on getting this installed imminently. Our water pump went a couple of times but this was fixed as soon as it was known and did not cause any real inconvenience. Being on a tiny island, amenities aren't the same as in a big city in developed countries...

In fact, Chelsea and Dave we understand have made quite a few changes since they took over the property including replacing the ‘gates’ on some of the rooms, with proper doors (not sure whether this has been done for all of the premises yet). They always seemed busy looking at new ways in which the resort could be improved and they have implemented some of these improvements already such as planting some colourful flowers in the garden which looks like it is starting to take very good form.

Our stay at Fatboys was an incredibly enjoyable one and was a great end to our holiday. We would certainly go back and would recommend it to our friends as a very special place to stay in an amazing setting.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2009

This was my second trip to Fatboys and once again the hospitality shown by the staff went above and beyond my expectations. The quality of the food was oustanding and the staff were flexible in meeting my many requests. Trips out to remote surf breaks, visits to the local village and even a late night dash to the hospital following an unfortunate fall. All requests were accomadated without the bat of an eyelid.

I had a truely memorable experience. I highly recommend a stay at Fatboys if ever in Gizo. It is a place to escape the hussle and bussle of Gizo town, kick back and relax. Read a book, swim amongst the reef, have a beer and generally fat it up. Ideal for couples or honeymooners as the vibe is quite kicked back. I hope you enjoy this slice of heaven as much as I did!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honiara
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2009

Myself, my wife Rebecca, daughter Aysiha (11 years) and son Wylie (12 months) got married at Fatboys in October 2009. We had many family and friends come from Australia to celebrate our wedding with us.

We had the a truly fantastic time thanks to Dave & Chelsea (our hosts), the staff from Fatboys and Jaffar and Melai from the Gizo Hotel who all worked hard to give us a most wonderful and unique wedding.

Fatboys was a magical setting for our wedding, with beautiful tropical flowers framing the towering Kolombangara volcano while barracuda chased bait fish in calm lagoon waters as we said our vows. We both felt it was truly a special, amazing and wonderful day and we could not have hoped for a better Solomons’ wedding experience.

We will always be grateful for the hard work of all the staff over the week, especially everyone’s efforts on Saturday night to create a beautiful tropical floral setting for the Sunday ceremony. We will never forget Dave’s save of the day, racing into Gizo on a rayboat at full speed to find a Minister at short notice after a no-show by the planned celebrant, nor the sight of the Minister arriving dressed in long sleeved shirt, tie and long trousers, barefoot. We owe you big time for that one mate! Nor will we forget our Gizo wedding cake - loved those 'hundreds and thousands'.

Our honeymoon suite was brilliant. We loved waking to beautiful and romantic views every morning. The food was absolutely superb. The lobster and fish were delicious, almost too good to eat. And Fatboys chips are without doubt, the best in the south pacific. So my waistline tells me.

We did some great reef and wreck dives with DiveGizo. While some of the coral was damaged by the tsunami, there was lots of other stuff to see and enjoy underwater. Some of our guests managed to get some surfing in too.

Just a couple of cautions. Visitors to Fatboys, Gizo and the Solomons need to remember that the Solomons is a remote and relatively under-developed country. You need to have realistic expectations if you visit. Things that you might take for granted back home are not always easy due to the relative lack of infrastructure services and the remoteness of the place. Don't expect everything to go smoothly all the time and don't expect the service and amenities to be world class. If that's what you're after, consider going elsewhere.

Instead, just try to go with the flow, and if you want to meet some friendly, welcoming and relaxed people, travel in one of the most child-friendly places in the world, enjoy world class diving, snorkelling and fishing, take a step back in time and have a different cultural experience away from the hustle and bustle of the world, while staying at a really pleasant resort, then Fatboys is a great option.

We look forward to coming back to say hello and to enjoy another fabulous time in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solomon islands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2009

On the first day of sep 2009 my 5yr old daughter and i arrived at fatboys to really try and have some time off the hustle and bussel of everyday life..on arrival i turned off my phone and off came my watch as time was now on my side to experience a holiday like no other..after 2 flights we were swept away on a boat across the magnificent, crystal clear waters of the solomon sea where within 5min you will see jumping fish that you could nearly reach out and touch right along side the amazing flying fish that seem to skim along the water forever, but it doesn't stop there..the variety of fish and other marine animals that i will encounter in this tropical paradise is endless with certain fish that only come out at night looking at the water is forever changing and visually spectacluar and not too mention the breath taking views from the simple but very luxious bungalows that are here..with only 5 bungalows at this resort it really gave me the privacy from the outside world i was looking for..having not made any plans for the month i was staying, i must admit feeling a little lost for a fleeting moment but all that changed with the warm smiles from all of the staff and locals..after chatting to the awesome staff at fatboys who were so happy to accomodate not only my needs but that of my daughter and within no time at all she was off exploring the island..as i was later to learn the combination of their love for storytelling and curious children will be, im sure, some off my daughters greatest memories from her trip here..and not to mention, a little time off parenting for me as they would often take her walkabout and share their culture as there is no language barrier with children as she easily makes friends with kids from the local village, learning about another way of living is something you cant learn in any classroom, just one of the reasons i chose this desination..having based my self at fatboys and had week of total relaxation and soaking up the sun, i was now ready to explore..the staff at fatboys were full of great ideas and advise on where to go and what to see and were more than happy to assist in any bookings for any activites i was interested in ..so off to an island called ranonga for a village stay where even the trip there in the open sea is an experience on its own..thankgod for the very experienced boat driver that kept us above water in 5m seas with the rain pelting down and in what felt at the time was the smallest boat in the world..upon arrival to ranonga we were greeted by what looked like the whole village running out to pull our boat to shore, all grabbing a piece of the boat and lifting us all up onto the beach, it was then when i realised how physically strong these people were..amazed to see an island with black sand and deep dark black rock like boulders this was a beach like no other, and obviously so rich not just in copper but love for sharing their world to curious outsiders...being a rainforest there is a gentle mist or sometimes rain falling that reminded me this was a true rainforest with thick jungle like folage and trees that looked like they touched they sky, i was surrounded by pure natural beauty..butterflies like ive never seen before fluttered around everywhere and the birdlife here was also abundent..here we got to watch and learn how to cook real village food with the local village women who are so warm and friendly and so willing to share stories, this place is a must see..casarva and fish cooked so many different ways we were never hungry, and bananas and paw paw that i wish could only taste this good back home, so sweet tasting..the bungalows even though very simple and basic became a comfortable haven after the trek to the top of an amazing waterfall that we had to walk through the actual waterfall to get to the top..as the fresh water ever so powerfully gushs over me it was revitilising and amazingly rejuvenating as the village chief called Ga Ga guides you to the top where when i reached, never wanted to leave..what a breath taking piece of mother nature and place where it is easy to become one with nature and its impossible not to appreicate its beauty..along the way Ga Ga is full of knowledge and so willing to share with those who are keen to learn about this absolutley must see piece of paradise..next we were off to nusso simbo which after being at ranonga was i must admit was a little disappointing..i didnt find the locals as warm to welcome us as ranonga and other villages i later visited, but never the less each village we went was unique and different in its own way, always observently soaking up my new surroundings and learning how different people can be and ability to accept people for their differences has been another one of the many lessons ive learnt ,among many more..back to fatboys we went where showers and a private flushing, creepy crawly free toilet had now become a treat, how quickly one's perception can change..thankgod for toilet wipes which are an essential when treking in such remote areas with or without children..the guys at fatboys make relaxing so easy i guarantee you'll never want to leave and i finally have an understanding of solomon islander time where time literally has no meaning and days are now broken up into simply morning or afternoon and nothing ever happens right away, something i found easy to adopt..next on the agenda was a quiet little island called lola where my daughter and i became best friends with the resident yellow reef tip sharks that we were told often visit and come right up to shore..as they swam between our legs while we fed them some bread both my daughter and i were amazed and exilerated at how close we were to such gorgeous animals and it was then i reminded my daughter how lucky we were to be there in another part of the world experiencing such wonder and beauty in country where the people seem so content with the basic and the somewhat primitive life they lead, such simplicity, and then it really hit me how truely spoilt and unappreciated alot of western life has become..after a weekend stay and good service at lola it was back to fatboys where i felt most at home..next on the list was of course a dive with dive gizo who cater to anyone wanting to really experience another world under the ocean with so many different dives to offer on the menu they cater for all..having done a dive on the great barrier reef over 10yrs ago i was very nervous but ya cant go to the solomons,voted in the top 5 dive destinations to dive in the world and not dive..Luke, who is the main dive instructor at dive gizo was awesome in helping me get back in the saddle as i took my time learning the basics again and thankgod for his patience and encouraging persistance..its people like this that help in making a good holiday unforgetable..after 3 awesome weeks into my holiday i was now in my final week here in the solomons and was really starting to feel comfortably relaxed in my new enviroment, as having met and emerged myself in a whole new culture where simple living seems to be a whole new happiness i'd never experienced and living off the land has a whole new meaning as there are no corner stores you can pop into and just get a quick snack to past the time.. and where time has no real meaning and mother natures beauty becomes your best friend and you never seem to hear children demanding what they dont have and misbehaving because of it..having a child of my own i wish that she could be just as happy playing with a tin can like i observed many children who were just so content to just be and accepting of what they have and dont have never making a fuss, never did i see harsh punishment for wrong doings, like what we would normally witness in any shopping centre in aust, only ever love and nurture and patience when it came to a childs needs and it seems to be the community that supports the raising of all children which i guess is why they consider everyone to be a relative of some sort, blood or not these people have such a rich family culture that we could all learn a little from..love, life and family beliefs, i know are different in every culture in the world so i guess its only what we have been taught before us from our elders..i must say there are certain traits and beliefs that i feel i identify with and maybe would like to see adopted within the western world as i believe slowly we seem to be losing the importantance of how strong and rich a family structure can be when each family member has a role and responsiblity and sense of purpose within the family, therefore giving us confidence in knowing our place in the great circle of life as the young ones will eventually grow up to become elders they once looked up to for love and guidence to survive and answer the many wonders of life that you have when your a curious child as with age comes knowledge if your willing to listen and learn to those who teach which should be i believe our elders so you see i feel blessed to have had this privilige to watch and learn another culture and way of life that is not for everyone but still captures the innoncence of what life could be without all the influences of the materialistic world and we as individuals should have in our lives according to media and other politcal views..mean while loosing sight of the true meaning of how to live a life full of compassion and love for our fellow man instead of always thinking of our selfish selves..without love how can there be happiness and isnt that we all truley want???i know i do so im proud to say that i am forever changed from this adventure having learned so much not only of another culture and way of living but also of myself and perseptions i once had..life is all about never closing your mind off to the possibities of what we can learn from embrassing all of what life teachs us and being aware as every moment is a new experience here to help us grow and create unforgetable memories and of course knowledge of the world around us..and not just for me but my daughter, i already see has grown from what she has seen and expereinced on this trip and could not have learnt in any classroom..this trip could not have been possible without the help and guidance from the awesome staff at fatboys who took me in and made me feel like part of their family..Chelsea and David Carlton who manage fatboys are part of the long estabilished hotels throughout the solomons owned by the Kennedy's whose experience in the hotel industry is obvious as it is what makes any travellers stay here a holiday experience they'll never forget...i thank everyone at fatboys and all the locals whom i met in gizo, where i frenquently visited as you have all played a part in making this holiday an awesome eye opening experience that i will never forget but especially the beautiful Chelsea at fatboys whom has an energy that creates beauty whatever she is doing..i recommend the solomons to anyone wanting to live, learn, try and experience a love of beauty and simple living in a somewhat undiscovered and underated part of the world where even though considered a third world country has so many positive attributes to offer that you will be forever changed because of it...i will be back!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fatboys Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fatboys Resort

Address: PO Box 140, Ghizo Island, Solomon Islands
Location: Solomon Islands > Ghizo Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Ghizo Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheltered from the Coral Sea by the surrounding Islands, fatboys resort could be considered the perfect hideaway. Every morning our guests wake to the most picturesque views of Kolombangara, Kennedy Island and many other beautiful Coral Cays and reefs that dot our warm calm waters. With a tropical climate and an average daily temperature of 29C, fatboys resort is the destination to be visiting anytime of the year. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fatboys Hotel Ghizo Island
Fatboys Resort Solomon Islands/Ghizo Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fatboys Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Fatboys Resort to your Saves list