We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Paradise Island in PNG” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lissenung Island Resort

Save Saved
You added Lissenung Island Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lissenung Island Resort
2.0 of 5 Villa   |   P.O. Box 536, Kavieng 631, Papua New Guinea   |  
Hotel amenities
QLD
1 review
“A Paradise Island in PNG”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2009

What a brilliant setting, so clean and pristine, which is not something you always find in PNG.
The service was personal from the owners and the staff, we were made to feel comfortable and at home. Read their web page what they offer is very honestly laid out there.
It is not 5 star and doesn't claim to be, but it is beautiful and unique.
It is an ideal island getaway.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    12
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
2
29
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2009

This tiny resort really is at the end of the world - it's hard to get there but it's worth it - especially if you are a serious diver. It's a beautiful, small island - like Maldives - very natural and environmentally friendly, with palm trees and flowers. Don't expect nightlife or luxury - you don't have aircondition or television in the room and water in the shower might not be hot if the weather was not so good for some time (solar heated).

But for the experienced traveler this is the place to be - especially for the diving. Spots like Albatross Passage or Planet Channel belong to the best spots I have ever seen with lots of sharks, eagle rays, tunas, jacks, schooling fish and beautiful hard and soft corals. There are a lot of wrecks as well - especially impressive is Deep Pete, a plane sitting in the sand around 40 m, from World War II.

Referring to the other posting: It's a pity the big boat was out of order, the small boats were a little packed. But this can happen everywhere, especially in third-world countries with bad supplies. I had this in a lot of other places I visited, too. You can't keep a spare for everything, especially not a spare engine... I believe than in third world countries you have to travel with a certain amount of tolerance and willingness to improvise and be flexible, it's different than travelling in the Western countries... The crew did everything they could to make the divers comfortable. The boats weren't taking in water when I was there, this might be a wrong impression because some of the boats are self-draining? Dive safety was absolutely ok as far as I could see.

Food was good, especially the desserts! I loved the buffet night with the crabs and lobsters - delicious. The restaurant also has a nice sitting area and acts as a library as well. The rooms are quite big and are built traditional style - on stilts, facing the sea, and are scattered all over the island. There is a nice couch on the terrace in between the bungalows (there are two bungalows built together) perfect for a nap or reading inbetween dives.

All the staff was very friendly and helpful. I enjoyed my stay a lot.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
108 hotel reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2009

This resort is located on its own idyllic island, near to the small village/town of Kavieng on New Ireland. It is a terrific setting for those wanting to get away from the stresses of the modern world.

The rooms are pretty comfortable and clean. There is no TV but that was a blessing to us. The facilities could be improved with hot water but I suppose that is an issue with power generation on such a remote island. However the resort does advertise free wifi internet throughout, yet the router is not strong enough to receive a signal in any of the rooms except the main office.

The resort itself is quite simple, with a main sand-floored dining area. There are no other facilities to speak of, except for the dive centre and house reef. The food was generally well cooked and is all-inclusive. Though the resort generally offers only 1 main dish per sitting so if you don’t like it, tough! I found the food not to my own taste – rather bland and western orientated, generally with no sauces (very dry). The selection of vegetables is low quality and poor variety. Again, I’m sure this is a result of the remoteness of location, but customers are paying a high price for food and board and so one can expect a little better.

The main problem with the resort though is the dive operation – an integral part of the resort. The divemaster is Japanese and does not speak enough English to be able to deliver any kind of useful briefing. Nor does she point out much on the dive so one gets the feeling that the diving could be that much better if only the DM service was up to scratch. The dive boat too is very small and uncomfortable. The dive ladder is a rickety affair that tore a great hole in one customer’s wetsuit and is just a more serious accident waiting to happen. At US$ 65-75 per dive, this is very much over-priced. The diving itself was mixed – we had 1 excellent dive (Planet Channel), 1 good dive, a few average dives, and 1 poor dive.

The resort staff are friendly, but the management make the resort staff uneasy and could do a lot more to improve guest relations.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2009

We stayed there for a week and wish we would have spent our entire vacation elsewhere in PNG. This resort is completely overrated. Best thing about the resort was leaving.

Grievances:
1. dive boats were in terrible condition with nails sticking out, causing several us to get holes in our wet suits; big boat was out of commission the entire time we were there and had been out of the water for at least two weeks prior to our arrival (why can't they keep spare sparts in such a remote location?)
2. the boats took in water
3. many of the tanks leaked
4. at one of the dives, Bottleshop-a critter dive, the DM was looking for discarded fishing hooks instead of critters
5. food was very small portions and kitchen often ran out of seconds
6. DMs were not actual certified DMs
7. no hot water for showers
8. no A/C
9. paper thin walls meant no privacy; we could hear our neighbors going to the bathroom
10. there were too many divers on the boat (10); on a small boat
11. short staffed; one captain per 8-10 people and no one to help the divers when returning to the boat
12. no shower near dive shop
13. no facilities for photographers
14. dirty water bins for wet suits and cameras
15. poor attention to dive safety: when DM removed regulators from the tank, the O-ring fell out and he proceed to close the cap without the O-ring before I instructed him to "hold off" and find an o-ring
16. when they met us at the airport, they had one car and one person (a small japanese DM) to help us with our luggage. the car was totally full and the small japanese woman struggled to get the luggage into the van by herself, not to mention the car was so full with all of us plus our luggage
17. no amenities provided- no shampoo, no power adapters, no soap

If the diving had been spectacular, we would not have minded, but they insisted on taking us to the dive sites "near" the resort. Also, the extra dives cost about $100 USD per dive, more expensive than any other resort we have ever visited. Having travelled so far for "great diving," we were truly disappointed. We travelled to another resort in PNG which was far better than Lissenung.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2009

Lissenung Is a well managed island dive resort 20 minutes boat ride from Kavieng. Owners Ange and Dietmar treat you as a family member rather than a guest. Accommodation is in extremely clean beach front bungalows that have all the basics you need including huge shady verandas. The bungalows are discreetly located around the beautiful small private island. (Sunset is a photographer’s dream). The house reef is truly fantastic – we bumped into a 2m Giant Barracuda, schools of Jacks and not to mention the great coral.

The dive operation is well run with good hire gear and all equipment is loaded and set up for you. They have a great mix of dive sites to suit individual diving preferences and skills but if you are looking for big fish remember that there will be current. They have a new twin outboard boat that is very quick to the dive sites and gives good shade during the surface intervals. Dive guides are locals who can be on the quiet side so you need to ask questions during briefings.

If you take the time to get to know the many staff from the nearby village, you will find them a great source of local information about life in PNG. If you have the time a day trip around Kavieng area is worth the effort.

Tips Take dive gloves and BYO spirits. Check out their web site and you tube listings.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lissenung Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lissenung Island Resort

Address: P.O. Box 536, Kavieng 631, Papua New Guinea
Location: Papua New Guinea > Islands Region > Kavieng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty lodging in Kavieng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2 star — Lissenung Island Resort 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine a small tropical island covered in palm trees, surrounded by a white sandy beach, a beautiful house reef and some of the best diving, snorkeling and surfing in the world. Lissenung Island is located just a 20-minute boat ride from the airport in Kavieng, New Ireland Province. Nestled amongst natural surrounds traditionally-built bungalows accommodate a maximum of 14 guests. Forget your high heels, suits and ties; barefoot, tropical attire is our dress code. The open sided restaurant is where local and international cuisine is served, with local seafood featuring high. Breakfast, lunch & dinner are included in the rates, which are per person. At Lissenung Island Resort, personal service is guaranteed and a visit here is truly exclusive! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Lissenung Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lissenung Island Hotel Kavieng
Lissenung Island Resort Papua New Guinea/Kavieng

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lissenung Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.