We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seen better days” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Malagan Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kavieng
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Malagan Beach Resort
PO Box 707, Kavieng, Papua New Guinea   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Kavieng
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Seen better days”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

In my opinion the Malagan is still the only place to stay in Kavieng. It has badly deteriorated over the last ten years and the new manager is doing his best to raise it to a better standard. It isn't flash but it is (reasonably) clean, the restaraunt and bar are good and the staff friendly but most importantly it is safe and secure. Kavieng is a wonderful spot for diving, sailing, etc. A drive down the highway to check out the villages and a visit to the 'eel lady' is great but more needs to be done in the way of tourist activities

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    0
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
2
1
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yokohama, Japan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2009

Good spot to stay while diving in the area. Dive operator was not teh best but probably moved on by now.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2009

I stayed at the Malagan Beach Resort 23 to 26 February 2009. I arrived at about sunset on the first day and I was immediately taken by the beauty of the location. Literally right on the beach, the time of day made for a memorable arrival. Few hotels are blessed with a more attractive site.

Unfortunately, the location is about the only positive I could find for this hotel.

I have travelled extensively in Papua New Guinea and so expect that accommodation will be wanting. It is fairly standard to find hotels which are wanting in maintenance with limited facilities. Generally though staff of hotels in PNG, while often unsophisticated in terms of customer service, are nonetheless friendly and usually trying their best. This could not be said of the staff at the Malagan.

Surly and unhelpful are the words which best describe the staff as I found them. Generally when not actually attending to a customer, all the restaurant and reception staff would gather around the pool smoking and socializing with others from outside the hotel who came and went as though they were guests. If you wanted a drink you’d need to rouse the bar man from the pool area. He then seemed determined to show what a tribulation it was for him to attend to you, so he’d shuffle over to the bar at glacial pace, mouth red stained and his breath redolent of beetle nut.

The resort markets itself as the place to go for a famous New Ireland seafood dinner. On none of the three nights I was there was seafood available, with the exception of fish of the day. Actually I’m only assuming seafood wasn’t available on the last night. When I asked at 6.40pm (ten minutes after dinner service started) the staff couldn’t tell me what was on the menu as the cook hadn’t arrived and didn’t know when he or she might get there. I made the mistake of eating in the restaurant on the first night and after asking for a medium rare t-bone, was served a steak cooked so far beyond well done that it was inedible. I sent it back and received another which was much the same.

The cleanliness of the room was also disappointing. I don’t believe the sheets had been changed from the last guest and daily servicing was poor. Floors weren’t well swept, used tea and coffee wasn’t replaced, used towels were removed and not replaced, the hot tap on the shower worked only spasmodically and every tap in the room leaked. In addition the air conditioner did not cool the room well and could not be adjusted.

All of this was in a hotel for which I was paying about 150 US dollars a night.

It would take very little to make this one of the better hotels in PNG. While my visit there was memorable it was, regrettably, for the wrong reasons.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2008

I would like to say that the Malagan has seen better days, but in truth I suspect it has always been terrible. The rooms are tiny and awful - the sheets were dirty and torn, the floor was dirty, the bathroom and toilet were grimy etc etc. The TV did not work. Initially we changed rooms because the phone did not work. This was quite a hassle as we had to move all our things. When we got to the new room we discovered the phone also didn't work there - the staff just moved us anyway. Rooms get made up late in the afternoon (4:30pm) when you want to relax. They are truly gross and depressing rooms with tiny, filthy windows.

The customer service is poor. The hotel manager, John, seems to incessantly struggle to control the staff, but just gives up mostly. He doesn't seem to understand the needs of guests at all. One day, the hotel organised a trip down the coast of Kavieng. This should have been very pleasant, but unfortunately the driver John assigned was a maniac - he even sideswiped another vehicle he was such a terrible driver. Even after insisting he slow down repeatedly we still had a white-knuckle ride. Other guests had similar experiences.

One night I left my board shorts hanging over our allegedly "private balcony". The next morning they, and my Dad's shoes, had been stolen. Makes you feel nice and safe. By this stage we were so unimpressed with the hotel and their total lack of anything resembling service we didn't even bother to report it. Mind you the lack of board shorts was probably a favor - you wouldn't want to swim in the murky green pool.

One day we went for a day trip to Lissenung Island - this place is paradise. All the guests on the island were having a fabulous time and loved the place. The hosts, Dietmar and Ang, even went as far as taking their hotel guests to the airport, checking them in, and waiting with them for the flight to ensure they got away safely. I would recommend Lissenung, but couldn't recommend the Malagan Beach Resort to anyone. The only thing it has going for it is the beachfront location (which is a completely public beach) and the fact that it does do a very good salt and pepper mud crab (but all the other food was rubbish).

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice Springs, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2008

We stayed @ the Malagan Beach Resort ( I use that word losley )
for 7 days, yes the view of the beach was fab but so much rubbish on it, broken glass, cigarette lighters, plastic bags etc.
Our room which was the DELUX room..well where do start, aircon not working, sheets still dirty from prevoius guests, toilet leaked from the base onto the bathroom floor, 3 strips of water to shower in, rats or mice running around, had to keep asking for clean towels, menu @ the restaurant so resticted that you were given one with what's not available which was longer that the won thats was, saying this the only saving grace was Tau the chef, he was truley talented, swimming pool was green and unable to swim in.. in saying this if this was priced accordinally we would have not so many issues but we paid $225.00 AUD per night for this fiasco.. appalling, guess the money wasn't going on the up keep of the property, would stronly advise to pop over the water to Nusa Beach Resort, 4 min boat ride from the Malagan,
Homer000red

  • Liked — The View
  • Disliked — Dirty Sheets & Leaking toilet
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesloch, Germany
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2007

Probably the best hotel you can find in quiet Kavieng.

You have an ensuite bath, a fridge and a pretty good aircon which freezes your room down to zero if you want. Take a good chilled beer from the fridge and relax in your terace chair. Then you can also forget about some minor issues (room and bath definitely need some refurbishment!).

The place is directly in front of the beach. Good snorkeling.

"Downtown" Kavieng is 200 m away. You need an hour to visit all shops. :-(

John McLeod the manager is a nice guy. Ask him for the "100 km surprise coastal tour" and you wont get disappointed. I only say, take some canned fish with you.... :-)

The restaurant is certainly the best in Kavieng. Good fish selection. Try also the lobster.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Malagan Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malagan Beach Resort

Address: PO Box 707, Kavieng, Papua New Guinea
Location: Papua New Guinea > Islands Region > Kavieng
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Kavieng
Also Known As:
Malagan Beach Hotel Kavieng
Malagan Beach Resort Papua New Guinea/Kavieng

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Malagan Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Malagan Beach Resort to your Saves list