We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Make the most of this area - stay awhile....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ribbonwood Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Franz Josef
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ribbonwood Retreat
26 Greens Road, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7856, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Franz Josef B&B and Inns
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Make the most of this area - stay awhile....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2011

We stayed in the cottage and it was lovely. A real treat is seeing glacier from the window of the cottage - away from the madding crowd! Jo is so informed about the flora and fauna of New Zealand - make sure you take advantage of his knowledge. Also much, much more to do in this area than look at glaciers - make sure to spend some time using this wonderful place as your base. Julie and Jo will make you so welcome.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    128
    11
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
34
95
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Port Hedland, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2011

Our first stay in a B&B and we loved it. It was our 20th Anniversary so we wanted to stay somewhere a bit special in Franz Josef and found Ribbonwood. We were not disappointed. We stayed in the cottage and this would be my recommendation to anyone wishing to stay. You then have the option of absolute privacy in the cottage with the ability to go over to the main house for socialising if you wish. The cottage also has great views of the glacier that can be seen both inside from the viewing window or outside from the decking area. THe bathroom is spacious with excellent water pressure. The breakfast is delicious (wish I could cook that well)! The owners are super friendly and knowledgable about the area. Loved it!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2011

My husband, daughter and I had a delightful stay in the cottage at Ribbonwood Retreat on the 31st December 2010. We found the location great - just outside the town which was very peaceful. The cottage was very clean, roomy and comfortable and gave us some great views of the mountains. We found Julie and Jo very hospitable and served a great breakfast. They also gave us some great advice on what to see and where to eat. We would thoroughly recommend it to others looking for accommodation in Franz Josef.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

My husband and I were fortunate to visit New Zealand during December 2010 and January 2011. One of our stops was of course the Frans Josef Glacier. We used B & B`s during our trip and our choice in Frans Josef was Ribbonwood Retreat. It was certainly not easy finding accomodation there at that time of year - we also tried to keep roughly to a budget of 100 Euros each time but Frans Josef is an expensive place and you just have to accept that!! We stayed in a log cabin in the grounds of Ribbonwood Retreat - they have quite a large garden which is very sympathetically planted and maintained with nature in mind. The cabin is beautifully presented with all mod cons and it has views to die for from every aspect. We were very comfortable there - we were able to look after ourselves as far as meals went, although we were treated to fantastic breakfasts in the mornings which kept us going most of the day. Jo and Julie are both very enthusiastic when it comes to looking after their guests and we were very sorry not to be able to spend more time there. It certainly rates as one of our top adresses during our stay in New Zealand and there were 20 of them!!!! Pam and Jonathan Wallen, Zuidlaren, The Netherlands

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2011

When we arrived it was chucking it down with rain (well it is a temperate rainforest area), also there was a power shortage so no electricity, never mind as Julie & Jon gave us a warm greeting along with tea and homemade Christmas cake. We stayed in the cabin in the grounds and found it very homely and well furnished but the view from the deck in the morning was something to behold, simply spectacular and bright sunshine to accompany it!
As with all Kiwi hosts Julie and Jon were a mine of information about the area and anxious that we got the most out of our stay at Franz Josef, which we did, along with the outstanding breakfasts and being able to sit on our own deck with a couple glasses of wine just looking at that outstanding view. A must for all people visiting Franz Josef.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2010

My husband and I stayed here with my parents, my brother, and his wife. Jo and Julia were just lovely, and the accommodation was wonderful. My husband and I stayed in the cottage, which was private and quiet. It was a relaxing evening after a long drive, and a delicious breakfast the next morning. I would highly recommend staying there, and I hope to be back again soon!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2010

We got to this B&B while looking for place to sleep next to Franz-Josef
The place is very nice, well maintained very clean and the owners are great

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ribbonwood Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ribbonwood Retreat

Address: 26 Greens Road, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7856, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Ribbonwood B & B - a haven for nature lovers. Sleep deeply, breathing fresh clean air! Hosts Jonathan, a wildlife ranger and Julie, international school teacher are experts on history and ecology of the glacier region. We are passionate hikers and bird watchers who can show you the best places to visit. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ribbonwood Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Ribbonwood Retreat to your Saves list