We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pizza” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Ice Cafe

Blue Ice Cafe
Main Road, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7952, New Zealand
(03) 752 0707
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 14 Restaurants in Franz Josef
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

What a lovely little restaurant and you can get a take away pizza that was absolutely delicious.
Licensed bar and great menu.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    76
    25
    12
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, New Zealand
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Unexpected surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

From the outside, this restaurant doesn't look like much ~ just another cafe, but DON"T pass it by.

We made a reservation for a mid-week dinner and it did end up quite busy. The crazy hummer-limo they send to pick you up at your accommodation was actually quite fun and a great idea if you plan to drink. We arrived at the restaurant and were greeted at the door by a couple of the staff. They were very warm and welcoming.. seated at our table, our waiter immediately brought water and menus. We had brought a bottle of wine (corkage= $10) and we bought a bottle to do side-by-side tastings. The waiter was fine with bringing us extra glasses, no problem.
The menu has just the right amount of choices- meat, fish, vegetarian, and all of it really did sound good. Our party (4ppl) ended up choosing the Lamb shanks, Lamb rack and Salmon fillet- the portions were huge and super tasty. We were truly surprised how such an unassuming place is turning out such good food. The Lamb dishes were cooked perfectly (what I was told) and my salmon fillet was as well. All the mains come with vegetables and a starch (potato/pasta)~ thank goodness we didn't have any starters, because we were absolutely full.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“At the end of Town and worth the trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

This little restaurant at the end of the main drag proved to be a delightful experience. We were fortunate enough to have made reservations so it does fill up. All of the meals (party of 4) were outstanding - a fish dish, lamb shank and steaks. No one thought there meal was lacking. The service was great and I highly recommend this restaurant

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Blue Ice Cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

The cheeseburger is very big and very filling so you may want to split it. I can't be sure, but I think that an egg is mixed into the ground beef.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic dinner...must not miss it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

It has been the best steak meal we have tried in New Zealand so far and wish we can have it again. Remember to make reservations...it's very popular!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Ice Cafe also viewed

Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 

Been to Blue Ice Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Ice Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.