We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not to be missed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Helicopter Line West Coast

The Helicopter Line West Coast
Main South Road | SH6, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7856, New Zealand
03 752 0767
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$187*
and up
Ranked #6 of 18 Attractions in Franz Josef
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Discover the magnificent phenomenon of the glaciers. Experienced helicopter pilots share their knowledge whilst overflying the dramatic expanse of the Franz Josef and Fox Glaciers and snowfields, exposing extraordinary colours of ice flow, ice caves and pinnacles in this largely inaccessible alpine region. All flights feature a snow landing. Alternatively combine a scenic helicopter flight with an unforgettable guided helihike amongst the glacial ice formations with the professional and experienced Franz Josef Glacier Guides.
Buxton
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Fantastic flight over both glaciers with a snow landing at the head of Fox. The pilot was even willing to be our photographer when asked by us. Fantastic views, fantastic sights, fantastic service, fantastic experience.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at The Helicopter Line West Coast, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for your comments on our Twin Glacier Flight.
It’s great to hear you had a fantastic overall experience.
Enjoy the rest of your time in New Zealand
From the Team at The Helicopter Line
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    16
    4
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A must-do in Franz Josef...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

My friend and I joined the heli-hike trip on the Franz Josef Glaciers with the Helicopter Line. Adequate loads of gears and equipments were provided, and we were able to have a spectacular view of the glaciers on the helicopter. The hike on the glaciers was also very interesting (somehow challenging!) and our guide was very friendly and gave a very good commentary along the way.

Just to remember to get your sunglasses & sunscreen when you are on the glaciers and need to dress in layers...heat builds up very quickly when you hike along..as I forgot to bring my sunglasses and I was pretty over-dressed...Anyway the overall experience is excellent.

Highly recommended!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at The Helicopter Line West Coast, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Hi there
Thank you for taking the time to review our Heli Hike in Franz Josef. It is always good to get positive feedback about the guides and their knowledge of the area. The glacier temperature can change very quickly but it is great that you managed to time your trip just right to get a nice warm day.
Thanks again for your comments; hopefully the rest of your trip was as enjoyable as your Heli Hike.
From the Team at The Helicopter Line
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Expensive but you should do this once in your life...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Last time we were in Franz Josef was around 20yrs ago so decided was time to go back and as a birthday present family had all put in money for us to do a glacier flight/hike. We didnt prebook as wanted to see what the weather was like on the day first. We managed to strike it lucky and get a perfect day, no wind, cloud and stunningly clear - to good to pass up a full scenic helicopter flight up Franz Glacier, full circle around Mt Cook (which was fully visible) land on Fox Glacier, flying back down the glacier back to Franz. - around 30-35mins in air and 5-10mins landed up the top of Fox Glacier for time in the snow and photos. BRILLIANT - and totally recommended if you get a clear day. 6 in the helicopter - 2 in the front and 4 in the back (seats swapped after stop). There is a weight limit (requires you to be weighed) so if you are last minute bookers like us have a back up plan incase you get bumped. Check in process very confusing with different companies sharing premises and while you book thru one company you fly thru another? It is expensive but it is something you should splash out and do at least once in your lifetime - especially if the weather is on your side. I would strongly suggest you dont prebook and wait until you are there and have an idea of the weather, go early in the morning - they pen at7.30am and run plenty of different flights very regularly throughtout the day so you are bound to be able to get on something. Staff all very friendly and professional

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at The Helicopter Line West Coast, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Hi there,
Thank you for your review. What a great birthday present from your family !! I am so pleased that the weather was spectacular and you got to enjoy your birthday present. It’s also good to hear that you found the staff to be friendly and professional as this is something that we strive to achieve. I do apologize that you found the check in process confusing, as we are a small community all of the operators work closely together I can understand that sometimes it gets confusing this is something that we will work on in the future.

Once again thank you for your comments from the Team at The Helicopter Line
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Way to see The Glaciers.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We took the 30 min flight over both glaciers, landing in the pristine snow above Franz Josef. Luckily we had a blue sky day and had great view as far as Lake Mattheson and the Tasman sea on the way back. Put it on your bucket list.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at The Helicopter Line West Coast, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Hi there,
Thank you for taking the time to review our Twin Glacier Scenic Flight, We are pleased that the weather was perfect for you to be able to take part in the flight, it truly is a great way to take in the beauty of the Glaciers.
From the Team at The Helicopter Line.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Spectacular”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

This was the best thing we did on our trip to NZ and I recommend everyone go on. A 20 minute flight over the glacier and the surrounding environment as well as a snow landing on an adjacent mountain. We captured some amazing pictures, and memories that we'll have forever.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at The Helicopter Line West Coast, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Hi there
Thank you for taking the time to review our Neve Discoverer flight. It’s great to hear that you enjoyed your flight up to the Glacier and got to take in the beauty of the surrounding areas.
From the Team at The Helicopter Line
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Helicopter Line West Coast also viewed

Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 

Been to The Helicopter Line West Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Helicopter Line West Coast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.