We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but a little expensive.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 58 On Cron Motel

Save Saved
You added 58 On Cron Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
58 On Cron Motel
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   58 Cron Street, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7952, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
200mb per night Free WIFI
Ranked #2 of 11 hotels in Franz Josef
Warwickshire, England
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Good but a little expensive.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed in a standard studio. Nice modern clean room with a decent bathroom and adequate kitchenette. Reception staff were very welcoming and helpful. We would happily stay there again although it is a bit expensive - but there's not much competition in Franz Joseph.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    146
    89
    15
    5
    0
See reviews for
59
151
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We rented the one bedroom apartment. It has a double bed, two twin beds and a sofa bed which can sleep 2. It only has one bathroom, toilet not separated. Kitchenette is small but functional, we managed to cook simple meals. Beds were comfortable and the apartment was clean.
We arrived late after a long drive from Queenstown through the scenic Haast Pass, then checked out early to join the Glacier Heli hike the next morning. 58 on Cron suited our needs for a clean place to spend the night and cook our meals. Staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Our room was spacious, clean, and warm :) Have nothing but good things to say about 58 on Cron. We only had one night here, and it was great. The staff was friendly and helpful in picking a good spot to eat, and they had DVD's you could borrow from the front desk.Would definitively return. :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch,New Zealand
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed in a 2 bedroom motel unit with a full kitchen which was nicely laid out and spotlessly clean. In a lovely location opposite the hot pools and the end of the village - close enough to walk anywhere for dinner but beautifully quiet. Lovely friendly service from all of the staff.

One slight niggle was that we found it difficult coming in wet (it rains a lot on the West Coast) as there was no covered space outside the unit and straight onto the carpet when inside.

Overall, a lovely comfortable base to explore the wonderful walks and scenery on offer.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Our 2 bedroom unit had heaps of room for 2 adults and 4 big teenagers. Really well equipped with everything you could possibly need. Across the road from the hot pools and down the road from a great little restaurant called Alice May Bar & Restaurant. Very quiet surrounds, had a great sleep and super friendly helpful staff. Great place to stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in the last unit on the right and it was really quiet, warm, great decor and very comforta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I highly recommend the 58 on Cron Motel for people staying in Franz Josef. The motel is clean, well located and has truly excellent service. The staff helped us figure out things to do in the area after our plans to see the glaciers were cancelled due to rain (which is apparently a very common occurrence). Thanks to the staff's help, we still had a great time on the west coast of NZ's south island. Another plus is the free DVDs that you can borrow (and you probably will want to considering how much it rains in Franz Josef).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Really enjoyed our one night here. Staff were friendly. It was a cold rainy day, but we arrived to a warm and exceptionally clean room! Couldn't be happier - the room was spacious, modern, equipped with everything you'd need. The shower was great!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to 58 On Cron Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 58 On Cron Motel

Address: 58 Cron Street, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7952, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Franz Josef
#1 Romantic Hotel in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — 58 On Cron Motel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Is set amongst beautiful rain forest but just a 5 minute stroll to the village and we are also conveniently located across from the new Glacier Hot Pool Complex.The Motel is architecturally designed for the discerning traveller and each unit is fully equipped with everything needed to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Cheap Tickets, Venere and Agoda so you can book your 58 On Cron Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
58 On Cron Hotel Franz Josef

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 58 On Cron Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.