We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The website doesn't do it justice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 58 On Cron Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added 58 On Cron Motel to your Saves list
58 On Cron Motel
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   58 Cron Street, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7952, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Nelson
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The website doesn't do it justice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Very comfortable, modern, well-appointed family suite. Although we did not use it, the kitchen facilities in the room were very good. Hosts very welcoming and informative. Would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    99
    17
    5
    0
See reviews for
67
165
8
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

Great Staff. Very helpful in arranging glacier hike. Very clean. Loved our stay

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

We stayed at this property for three nights earlier this month and found the experience quite nice. Checkin was quick and easy, and Anne was there waiting for us even though we came in at a sunny 8.30 p.m. The room looked new and was quite well appointed, has a sofa, a nice bed, TV, kitchen utensils and a bathroom. There are kitchen utensils and there is a quick and easy to use laundry facility, I did use that. The motel is just a walking distance from the town center, main activities etc. There's an Indian restaurant (Priya) and a hot pool near by. The only incident that happened when we were there at 58 on Cron was the whole town ran out of water and Ann was kind enough to give us a bottle of water while the repairs were going on. There's enough parking space inside as well. Overall a very good experience....

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

Hats off to Anne and Richard who went beyond the call of duty. I had a problem with my motorcycle and Richard helped me with parts and tools to get me back on the road. Superb!
The rooms themselves were clean, modern and spacious. Great location close to town and restaurants etc. Right across the road from the hot springs is a plus.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

This place is as good as they all a=say but we spent 2 nights over new year here with another family. The place was lovely and clean and the management was terrific and more than helpful and friendly.


Our complaint is that there are no fly screens on the windows. At night our rooms filled with mosquitos I killed 30 before bed and then had to wipe the blood marks off the wall. When I mentioned it in the morning I was told they don't usually have this sort of problem but it was a bad night in the area. Even so it is highlighted on the map of NZ that it is in a bad area for mossies. Even if there were no mosquitoes, no screen still allow bugs to get in. As there is no need for air con in the area, but as the nights do get warm at this time of year (29oC) you do need to open the windows to get some air.

If screens on the windows don't worry you then this is a terrific stop on a trip around the south island.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anne-n-richard, Owner at 58 On Cron Motel, responded to this review, January 20, 2012
We are glad you enjoyed your time in Franz Josef.Yes we agree it was a bad night for mossies when you stayed with us and as I mentioned we hadn't had them that bad since we have been here over 3years.
We wish to advise we have taken into account your comments and have ordered and hopefully will be fitted in the next couple of weeks screens for some of the windows in all the units so they can be left open.
We hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday.
Kind Regards
Anne & Richard Tunnah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

We only stayed at 58 On Cron for one night but really enjoyed our stay. The room was really clean and comfortable, and the DVDs you could borrow were a nice addition. The managers/owners were lovely and provided lots of advice when were had questions. The hotel is a short walk from restaurants and the attractions and right across the road from the mineral spa.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

This is a very comfortable hotel right in the heart of Franz Joseph within easy walking distance to restaurants and activities. Also right across the street from the hot pools. Clean and spacious with a nice kitchenette. We had a two bedroom, one bath apartment and it suited us just fine for our short visit. Not much for outdoor space if you wanted to sit outside your room but close enough to bars and restaurants if you wanted to sit out and enjoy the mountain views. The perfect place to stay if you're going to hike Franz Josef Glacier.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 58 On Cron Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 58 On Cron Motel

Address: 58 Cron Street, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7952, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Franz Josef
#2 Romantic Hotel in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — 58 On Cron Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Is set amongst beautiful rain forest but just a 5 minute stroll to the village and we are also conveniently located across from the new Glacier Hot Pool Complex.The Motel is architecturally designed for the discerning traveller and each unit is fully equipped with everything needed to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, T4B, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your 58 On Cron Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
58 On Cron Hotel Franz Josef

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 58 On Cron Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.