We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we were stunned by the appearance as we drove up the drive” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Franz Josef Glacier Country Retreat

Save Saved
You added Franz Josef Glacier Country Retreat to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Franz Josef Glacier Country Retreat
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   State Highway 6 | Lake Mapourika, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7952, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 7 Franz Josef B&B and Inns
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“we were stunned by the appearance as we drove up the drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

Incredible building in an incredible location. Fantastic service. The room was well above our expectations. The evening meal was good wholesome home cooked, a nice change from restaurant food.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    11
    5
    3
    4
See reviews for
3
27
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Greymouth, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2011

I stayed for two nights for a business seminar that we ran based at the Retreat. I found the accommodation excellent. Both myself and my business colleague had nice rooms with everything we needed. We dined in and I found the food very good. Staff and management were very accommodating and friendly. The Retreat is in a stunning location set back against the mountains of the Southern Alps. It is quiet and peaceful and the sun just beams in during the afternoon. The room we held our workshops in was very nice and sited perfectly to take advantage of the sun throughout the day and the stunning view. Maria couldn't have done any more for us - she was great. And in the evening we shot to the hot pools to relaxed for a couple of hours.
The family that own the retreat are locals coming from the settler families of the area. Their heritage and passion for the area is reflected throughout this lovely hotel right down to the naming of the rooms.
I can highly recommend the Franz Josef Glacier Country Retreat.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Home Counties
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2011

We had been warned about this place, but thought it would be fun to see if the predictions panned out. They were… On arrival all was sweetness and light, the building and grounds are attractive and we were upgraded to very nice honeymoon suite (including a fridge) with a four poster bed and also a claw foot bath overlooking the grounds (whatever happened to that Badedas advert?). Unfortunately things went downhill from that point, service at the evening buffet – which was somewhat mediocre although the twelve cyclists on a package did provide some sort of life – was provided by an untrained backpacker waiter (extremely nice but niceness doesn’t teach you where to find the wine menu or the wine cellar - what sort of hotel throws a newly recruited student in at the deep end like this with no training and no backup?). Breakfast was truly dreadful and once more served by a (new and different) young untrained student who eventually told us they had run out of coffee cafetieres. Unbelievable. Again, this poor young chap was very nice but (repeat earlier comment). It turned out that the father of the breakfast waiter has gone into partnership with the owners. My advice to him is that unless he installs a properly trained hotel manager and a sprinkling of support staff immediately he will lose his investment PDQ.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2011

Really enjoyed staying in this hotel, we were upgraded to the Wallace Room with beautiful four poster bed and amazing views of the surrounding area which was really nice, the staff were really friendly and helpful and there was a "make yourself feel at home" feel about the place! A real chill out place, we wished we'd stayed longer!

Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2011

Amazing place, with beautiful views and inspiring atmosphere. Quite clean room, although disappointed for not having the first floor view. Running with the possible minimum staff, the owner, Sophie, was always apologizing for not providing a better service - which was nevertheless good enough. Good home cooked food, despite the lack of staff, and the best apple crumble I've ever tried. A tad far away from FJ, but that was not a problem for us. Book through wotif and save a fair amount of money.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2010

We stayed here for 2 wonderful nights.
After a long trip from Wellington in one day - we arrived to a heated room, greeted at the door with friendly smiles and provided with all sorts of service. We were the only guests for the few days we were there, so maybe we were doted upon but our experience here was the best part of our trip.

The rooms while slightly small, were luxurious in linen, spacious bathroom with massive shower (Everything appeared brand new, maybe a recent renovation?), all wheelchair accessible. Tea & Coffee making facilities and a bar fridge.
Free cookies at the bar and a cafe size espresso machine.

The lounge had a big TV and a little one in each room. Free high speed Wifi was a plus and there was a laundry and Spa available to us but we didn't get a chance to use them.

Unlike other reviews of this place which appear dated, the staff that attended to us were impeccable! We had our meals here which were massive!! And the ladies who worked there booked us all sorts of activities in town. They have offers through the retreat for Helicopter rides etc which saved us money.

Breakfast was a massive buffet and our deal from wotif.com included cooked breakfast also. We were going to burst after eating so much food and felt guilty at the amount that may be wasted.
It's a family run and family feel retreat where the people attending to you also reside. This made us feel at home and we shared a few stories.

After looking at their site, the advertised prices are extreme. Upwards of $300NZ per night. We got a great deal from Wotif.com for under $130 a night including cooked breakfast.
In retrospect the wotif.com deal of $100 would have been suffice including country continental breakfast - seriously too much food otherwise.

While a couple of km's out of town this was perfect. It is worth it to stay here just for the views of the mountains and see the sunrise/set over them.
We made friends in the town and most don't live in the heart of the town for that reason alone.

Sincere thanks for the best place we stayed in NZ.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

Hotel is very hard to find in the dark.
Clean and functional.
Restaurant closed - no food apparently.
Cookie jar lost.
Strange smell in room.
Very soft and uncomfortable bed.
Great look on the outside, let down by the interior and finishes.
Very noisy back packer types who appeared to be in charge.
No room service during two night stay.
Very demanding house cat who wanted to sleep on our bed :-)
Noisy fridge, had to be turned off to sleep (as advised in the compendium).
Would look closer to town next time.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Franz Josef Glacier Country Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franz Josef Glacier Country Retreat

Address: State Highway 6 | Lake Mapourika, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7952, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Franz Josef Glacier Country Retreat 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New specially built, boutique bed &breakfast lodge. Set in 200 acres of peaceful family farmland, looking towards Lake Mapourika, five minutes drive to the village. By staying with us you get to experience the beauty 'Glacier Country' offers, as well as to share the local history and knowledge of this special place, where our pioneer family has resided for over 100 years. All rooms have magnificent views of the lake or mountains and are centrally heated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Franz Josef Glacier Country Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Franz Josef Glacier Country Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.