We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location, great accomadation, great food and atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rainforest Retreat

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Rainforest Retreat to your Saves list
Rainforest Retreat
4.5 of 5 Guest house   |   46 Cron Street, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Franz Josef B&B and Inns
uk
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“great location, great accomadation, great food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2009

Splashed out on a tree hut as a treat during our trip around NZ. Well worth it. Lovely log style cabin. Clean, comfortable and the best two nights sleep we have had. Along with this, it is located just off the main street and has all the facilities you need. We had a private spa pool to un-wind after our glacier walk and the food is excellent and affordable from the on site bar/restaurant. We even got vouchers that made the bill even more affordable. To end the night, they put on some simple but fun entertainment that gets all residents having fun together.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    271
    118
    60
    25
See reviews for
128
377
40
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2009

My partner and I stayed here in a standard ensuite room for 2 nights. The room was tiny, we could barely fit our luggage in! It was VERY basic, nothing like we have ever stayed in before. You can hear everything in the rooms next door/above, so dont expect to get a great nights sleep! The retreat itself does have a good mix of facilities but it seemed to be more of a backpacker place than anything else. Location is good and it is cheap but we definately would not return.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, WA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2009

I chose Rainforest Retreat because it seemed to be one of the nicer places in Franz Josef and was in a good location. When we arrived we found that FZ is so small that ALL accommodation is in a good location!!

Rainforest Retreat has a wide range of room types from backpacker to self contained. The self-contained Tree Lodge rooms (which we stayed in) are in 3 raised buildings with two rooms in each, right on the edge of the rainforest. Ours was at the end, so we had a private balcony looking into the forest.

The room was clean and well designed, but unfortunately was let down by poor maintenance. Paint was peeling off the wall behind the toilet and it appeared that it was painted in a hurry when it was constructed/last renovated and bits were missed.

The hotel's facilities were good with hot tubs (complimentary for our room type, but we didn't give it a go) and the Monsoon restaurant, which was quite good. Reception also has a mini supermarket with reasonable prices.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2009

We stayed in a double ensuite here for two nights to do a Franz Josef Glacier hike. The place was generally ok, however the notably dissapointments were the lack of knowledge of staff, size of the room & the noise.

Be warned this is the regular stop for the Kiwi Experience & other backpacking party organisations like stray & magic. Therefore the constant coming & going of loud groups is inevitable. The worst part is the walls & roof is so thin that you can hear everything - we have drunks above and hippies singing in their room on the otherside.

Also the onsite bar 'monsoon' has the potential to be great with is wooden alpine decor and log fire, however at 9 pm families are forced out to make way for loud drinking games laid on for the Kiwi Experience, which then decended into drunk 18 year olds crashing into tables etc.. We thought the saving grace would be the outdoor hot tub, however to our dismay we arrived hoping for relaxing dip to find the Kiwi Experience having their pre-binge drinking warm up in there, if you believe 30 people can fit in a tub designed for 10.

If you like this then this palce is for you.. otherwise stay at one of the numerous other motels.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2009

Stayed in the log cabin and absolutely loved this place. A little bit more expensive than the standard rooms but well worth the extra $'s. Rooms are huge with a selfcontained kitchen/cooking facilities. These cabins are nestled in amongst the rainforest and the rooms are spacious with plenty of glass windows to absorb the environment and have a balcony and modern bathroom. Log cabins are cojoined but privacy is not an issue with a fairly good buffer zone between the two so no noise is heard from the next door (or vice versa). As the cabins are away from the carparks, and the ground is covered with gravel, the march up to the cabin with your luggage isn't the most fun, but this is once in/once out and certainly is not inhibitory. There is also a private" spa which we found OK but probably not best described as "private". The establishment also has a restaurant and pub area so not far to walk/stumble back to the cabin, and it is across the road from the hot pools there.

Staff were very helpful and allowed us to check in early (8:00 am) as the room was unoccupied. One definite highlight of our stay in Franz Josef.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franz Josef
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2009

The Rainforest is a sweet place to stay, better than expected. The staff are really lovely, so helpful and friendly we even extended our stay by 1 night. It's like being in a little village, the dorms are clean, showers good and kitchen and laundry rooms are nice. There is a great pub here that has a wicked happy hour, nice food and a great spa. It's just across the road from the Glacier hot pools and around the corner from the Glacier guides place. Don't bother going to stay anywhere else if you're going to Franz just go straight to the Rainforest!

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2009

Compared to the other parts of NZ, there is a dearth of accomodations in Franz Joseff but Rainforest Retreat worked out pretty well for us. We were booked into a tree hut, which is a log cabin elevated above ground by some short stilts, with our own private balcony and car park. The log cabin was surrounded by trees, which were planted in line with the rainforest theme of the place. A bit cheesy but we did like the feeling of waking up to trees around us.The bed came with heated blanket, which the reception neglected to tell us but was a major plus - unfortunately we only discovered it on the second night so we spent the first night freezing as the heater was inadequate.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rainforest Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainforest Retreat

Address: 46 Cron Street, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rainforest Retreat 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rainforest Retreat is centrally located in the heart of Franz Josef Glacier township on the west coast of NZ’s South Island.Nestled in six acres of native bush and surrounded by lush punga groves, Rainforest Retreat offers a wide range of accommodation – all built to embrace the natural environment.Whatever the season, explore New Zealand’s glaciers while staying at Rainforest Retreat. It’s not just accommodation… it’s an experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Rainforest Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainforest Retreat Hotel Franz Josef

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rainforest Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.