We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place in town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rainforest Retreat

Save Saved
You added Rainforest Retreat to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rainforest Retreat
4.5 of 5 Guest house   |   46 Cron Street, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 Franz Josef B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best place in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

we arrrived and the weather was crazy, the staff looked after us and everyone like royalty ..

the whole town lost power and everyone closed down, not Rainforest, we still got fed and watered the whole night, food was great
we spent two weeks around the south island and no camp site came near this one.
well done guys ,
ill be back , the train people

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

658 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    223
    239
    111
    60
    25
See reviews for
118
343
30
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Not enough toilet facilities for number of camper vans on site, as a result quickly became dirty. Likewise the pool was far to small for number of people. Very disappointed after viewing website. Compared to some of the other campsites we stayed at on our 3 week trip the facilities here were easily some of the worst. Apart from that nice setting and good location but i wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havelock, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Really lovely place. We toured the South island in a camper van (2A & 3C). This was one of the nicest places we stayed. The camping sites were really nicely laid out. The native bush was used really well to create a sense of privacy, so lacking in other camp grounds. There was a play ground for the children. The whole complex is very much set up with the care of the environment at the forefront. The only thing lacking was a good laundry facility. To be fair, there are two on site, but the one for the campers was too small and did not cater for the numbers. The other was situated at the hotel complex, which although not far, was not appealing in the deluge of rain, which is so often present on the west coast. :o)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Rainforest Retreat has a variety of styles of accommodation. We chose the 'tree house' for our 3 night stay. This is the largest option, being a three bedroom 'Lockwood' style house nestled in the bush. The main attractions in the area are the Franz Josef and Fox Glaciers but we also took the 2 hour drive on our second day to the new tree tops walkway which has recently opened just south of Hokitika. The house was clean, spacious and well provisioned. There are nice outdoor seating areas and decks which we were unable to enjoy because it rained heavily formost of our stay. As the name implies, this accommodation is located in a temperate rainforest so be prepared for rain! The Tree House was nice and private and surprisingly quiet, considering that our stay included New Year's eve! There is a restaurant/bar on site which we didn't visit. There are plently of eating options in the village.
The only negatives were minor niggles around housekeeping - not enough towels left on one day and the staff wanting to clean our room at 9:30 am on 1st Jan which we thought was a bit early. Also, some of the furniture is a bit tired. The lacquered dining table needs re-surfacing as everything stuck to it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaukapakapa, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Lovely relaxing stay in the rainforest :-) really nice rooms and great atmosphere! Thanks... will come again one day.... nice bar the spa was awesome.... wished we could have had another night :-) excellent place to stay :-)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Our family of 2A and 2C stayed in a park motel unit. It was upstairs in a block of about 8 or 10 units. It was set in the forest so cool and quiet. The rooms were well appointed and also had reclycling bins in the room which was a great environmental choice. Easy walking distance to hot pools and town. The staff were very friendly and nothing was a problem.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We choose a Tree Lodge for the christmas break. Lodges were clean and comfortable, a little outdated in terms of choice of bedding and chairs/table but bathrooms and kitchens were excellent and well equipped, v clean and lots of nice extras like shampoo, free tea, coffee and milk. Tree Lodges have private outdoor decks and a window area by the table/chairs. The Tree Lodges are in a very quiet location away from the motel rooms and backpacker areas so we had no issue with noise. I'd recommend Tree Lodge number 23 - the one we stayed in was the quietest and most private just looked out onto the rainforest. An easy 2 minute walk to all the tour operators, restaurants, bars etc so location was excellent as well.

Room Tip: Tree Lodge 23 is the quietest!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rainforest Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainforest Retreat

Address: 46 Cron Street, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rainforest Retreat 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rainforest Retreat is centrally located in the heart of Franz Josef Glacier township on the west coast of NZ’s South Island.Nestled in six acres of native bush and surrounded by lush punga groves, Rainforest Retreat offers a wide range of accommodation – all built to embrace the natural environment.Whatever the season, explore New Zealand’s glaciers while staying at Rainforest Retreat. It’s not just accommodation… it’s an experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Rainforest Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainforest Retreat Hotel Franz Josef

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rainforest Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.