We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent property and a enjoyable stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rainforest Retreat

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Rainforest Retreat to your Saves list
Rainforest Retreat
4.5 of 5 Guest house   |   46 Cron Street, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 Franz Josef B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“excellent property and a enjoyable stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

This is an exceptional quality park with fantastic amenities ,staff and the restraunt and bar first class.It is well suited for couple and equally as good for families I stayed 2 nights 1 in my motorhome and 1 in the tree lodge A great stay and i will be back

Room Tip: the tree lodge well situated and the layout very differant and a great experience and private
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

844 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    318
    138
    67
    30
See reviews for
146
432
50
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Booked the room via a deal on Wotif NZ.
My wife had booked the hotel & told them it was my birthday.
When we arrived, we were upgraded to the motel room. Clean & comfortable.
Also given free access to the sauna.

Hotel staff very friendly & courteous.
Returned to the room on the second day to find a complimentary bottle of sparking wine!

Had dinner in their restaurant on the last night - good atmosphere & also given some more complimentary alcohol!!

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Victoria
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

I spent 2 nights after picking up a last minute half price deal, so the value was excellent.

I had a motel studio unit, excellent bed, great setup.

The negative I had was due to overlooking the reception, all of the traffic passed by. With the "river pebble" road and pathway (probably to help drainage) you got a continual crunch of cars, caravans, buses and luggage trolleys. Annoying rather than show stopping.

Also there was a big friendly dog, please realise that not everyone loves dogs.

Room Tip: Ask for a room a bit back from the traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

The campervan sites were spread out amongst the rain forest, so it was a lovely setting. The kitchen had just hobs, no ovens, 2 x toasters and about 3 or 4 sinks. There was a lounge area and a few dining tables. There was a meter on the wall, so not sure if you needed to feed it to meter to watch the TV.

The main toilet block for ladies had 2 showers and 3 toilets in it. There was a sign up saying additional toilet blocks could be opened if it was busy enough. The park was full the 2 nights we stayed there. We showered on an evening, in the mornings there were always queues for the 2 showers. On the second morning 2 of the ladies toilets were out of loo paper and had been since 6am. Maybe just an oversight.

The site itself is in the town and over the road from the hot pools.

Recommended.

Room Tip: we stayed in a campervan so couldn't comment on rooms. Some sites are bigger than others, we ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed in one of the rainforest units upstairs....staff superb..really helpful- even offered to help with our bags. The unit was a very good size. Self-contained...There was also a small deck. But I loved the huge windows in the bay window dining area. It was raining....but that added to the atmosphere. We picked up some yummies from the local supermarket and sat and enjoyed the total experience. We had stayed here before ..in summer...and we could see Mt Cook from the window. We'll be back.

Room Tip: The rainforest units upstairs.....we had the unit furthest from reception. It was more private and l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

A truly comfortable night in clean well furnished tasteful surroundings. Plenty of space, two showers, good water pressure! Our best accom down the west coast and at a good tariff. Our only downside was no plug for the bath! Im guessing to conserve water??? Wish we coud have stayed longer.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havelock North, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed two nights at this resort, in a Tree Lodge which is in an amazing setting, with excellent in-room facilities. The lively Monsoon restaurant and bar provided a wide range of meals and drinks at reasonable prices.
Oscar was obliging, friendly and welcoming. Inexpensive wifi and internet.
Wish we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: Tree Lodge rooms have private balconies and great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rainforest Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainforest Retreat

Address: 46 Cron Street, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rainforest Retreat 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rainforest Retreat is centrally located in the heart of Franz Josef Glacier township on the west coast of NZ’s South Island.Nestled in six acres of native bush and surrounded by lush punga groves, Rainforest Retreat offers a wide range of accommodation – all built to embrace the natural environment.Whatever the season, explore New Zealand’s glaciers while staying at Rainforest Retreat. It’s not just accommodation… it’s an experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Rainforest Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainforest Retreat Hotel Franz Josef

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rainforest Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.