We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night only!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rainforest Retreat

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Rainforest Retreat to your Saves list
Rainforest Retreat
4.5 of 5 Guest house   |   46 Cron Street, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 Franz Josef B&B and Inns
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“One night only!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

We stayed in the Rainforest Retreat for one night during a tour of the South Island. After a whole day driving, seeing the glaciers and visiting the hot pools (recommended!) we were pretty tierd by the time we arrived so decided to eat in the on site Monsoon Bar which was lovely. The food was good and the sevice was great - the girls behind the bar were very helpful with things to do and where the local shops were etc.
The room we had booked was a queen en-suite. We were please to see the room was clean and tidy but it was very very small. This wasn't an issue for us as we were staying for one night only.
The biggest complaint we had was that it was just so noisy. There seemed to be no noise proofing in the rooms as we could hear everything the people above us were saying.
There was also loud music until 1am which was a little annoying.
All in all, for the money we paid I would have expected better, comparing it it other placed we stayed during our trip.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rainforestFranzJosef, General Manager at Rainforest Retreat, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Hi Leanne,
Thank you for your review. I am very pleased that you found the staff helpful and the food and service was great. Its also great to hear you found your room clean and tidy. However I'm am very sorry that you encountered noise during your stay. We are about to under take building measures to improve soundproofing between our en-suite rooms. I'm sorry this had not happened prior to your stay. I would love the opportunity to change your opinion of the Rainforest and invite you to come and stay again, I will personally ensure your enjoyment. Please contact me direct oscar@rainforestretreat.co.nz
I look forward to hearing from you,
Kind Regards,
Oscar Morgan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

842 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    317
    138
    66
    30
See reviews for
146
430
50
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

I was travelling on my own and decided to treat myself to 2 nights in one of the tree huts here. It was lovely, tucked away from the backpacker and motel accommodation. The room had tea and coffee making, a great shower, very comfy bed and a cute decking with table and chairs. Staying in the tree hut meant you could also use the private hot tub for free. The reception were very friendly and welcoming. I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rainforestFranzJosef, General Manager at Rainforest Retreat, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Hi Suepem

Thank you for such a "lovely" review. I'm glad you enjoyed the Tree Huts so much, I love those rooms too. I hope the rest of your travels were fun filled and that you can make it back to us one day.
Kind regards
Oscar Morgan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

We stayed in a motel room. It was really comfortable, spacious and clean. All of the staff were friendly and helpful. We ate at the Monsoon Bar, which was delicious and good value. The Rainforest Retreat is well located for the shops and access to the glacier. It is quite big so is not necessarily the most peaceful place and there was a bit of noise at night from other guests. Nonetheless our room was very private and overall we really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rainforestFranzJosef, General Manager at Rainforest Retreat, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Hi Henry,
Thank you for your great review. I agree the food at the Monsoon is delicious, Irene, our chef really does cook such tasty meals.
I hope you can make it back here one day.
Kind Regards
Oscar Morgan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Ratings of this site are confused because there are several types of accommodation, from campsite to motel. We stayed in a campervan at a powered site which we thought excellent, even though the men’s shower and toilet facilities were in process of renovation and in temporary accommodation. The site has its own bar/restaurant (motto over the door: “If it rains, we pour” – the first day we laughed, the second day it and they poured!) which is good to have, also a free hot tub, good cooking facilities including free gas barbecues. Spectacular rainforest setting, quite close to “town” of which there is not very much. One of the best sites we stayed at.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rainforestFranzJosef, General Manager at Rainforest Retreat, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Hello and thank you for such a wonderful review.
I'm so happy that you felt we are one of the best sites you stayed at and you found the setting so spectacular. We are very lucky to live in such a beautiful spot.
I hope the rest of your travels were as enjoyable and that we see you again one day.
Kind regards
Oscar Morgan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

I stayed in one of their ensuite double rooms in May 2012. The bathroom was small but very clean, the room itself was also very clean and I had a comfy double bed as well as a single bed (which was great to place the suitcase ;) )
I also had a TV, fridge and working heater!!!
The location of the Retreat is fantastic, the bar serves great food and has a great atmosphere, also very handy if it rains as you don't have to walk far! (Their slogan is very fitting 'It rains, we pour')
The Rainforest Retreat really caters for all sorts of travelers and I can only recommend it!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rainforestFranzJosef, General Manager at Rainforest Retreat, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Thank you so much Miriam for such a positive review.
I'm glad you enjoyed the Monsoon bar so much, It really does have a great atmosphere. Please let me know if you come again as I'd to shout you a drink or two at the bar.
Kind Regards
Oscar Morgan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Had a great stay at the Rainforest retreat. We stayed Saturday night and Sunday night. However we were woken up by a large group of people who had left the pub when it closed and the noise continued until 4am. There was a lot of yelling from other guests to get them to be quiet. So not the quietest place to stay but apart from that we enjoyed the room and facilities.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

We spent 3 lovely nights in a Rain Forest Hut. Warm, comfortable, private, spacious. Outlook - no, not the usual carpark - Rain Forest! We thought the whole place was very well planned, well laid out, and well run. We have stayed there before, and certainly hope to again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rainforest Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainforest Retreat

Address: 46 Cron Street, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rainforest Retreat 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rainforest Retreat is centrally located in the heart of Franz Josef Glacier township on the west coast of NZ’s South Island.Nestled in six acres of native bush and surrounded by lush punga groves, Rainforest Retreat offers a wide range of accommodation – all built to embrace the natural environment.Whatever the season, explore New Zealand’s glaciers while staying at Rainforest Retreat. It’s not just accommodation… it’s an experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Rainforest Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainforest Retreat Hotel Franz Josef

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rainforest Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.