We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Fantastic!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge

Save Saved
You added Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge
17 Cron Street, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 11 hotels in Franz Josef
Franz Josef, New Zealand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fantastic!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

After a horrible experience in Haast it was a beautiful surprise to get upgraded to a really nice room when we got to franz josef. This place has it all. Beautiful views. Heaps to do. And a really nice bakery in town. The staff here are better to none. Massive thumbs up and thanks.

Room Tip: Both rooms 7 and 11 are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    165
    142
    44
    11
    5
See reviews for
61
233
9
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

My husband and I were upgraded to a spa studio and found it both spacious and clean. Our stay was perfectly fine, but I do want to say that the rooms and the lodge itself are more modest than the website photos would have you believe. The room was very basic, and the "spa" wasn't much to write home about. We both felt we paid too much for what is basically an average (albeit large) motel room.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim New Zealand
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

Excellent location and spacious rooms. A bit old fashioned. Good and personalized front desk service. Knowledgeable and friendly tips about activities. Park in front of unit. Lent us torches for glow worm hunting. Would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This was a wonderful motor lodge complete with full cooking facilities. It was spacious, very clean, and in a perfect location. We bought groceries at a nearby store and they also had laundry facilities for guests. The parking was very cramped so watch out when backing out; we almost hit another car and realized we had to back out then pull forward to straighten, then proceed to back out again. I would love to stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

The facilities are good. The rooms are clean, tidy and family friendly. The location is very central, within easy walking distance of shops and restaurants. The friendly, helpful staff went the extra mile to make our stay an enjoyable one.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights, Bruce was very accommodating as we may have been delayed due to a landslide over the Haast pass. Website is misleading as its thoroughly modern throughout. Great location,value and appointment. Definite recommend!

If you have cause to be in Franz Josef or the area, here's the place to stay.

Stayed January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We were very happy with this accommodation. We had the room 25 with queen bed. Everything looked new and clean. The service was very good! We asked for cooking utensils and that was not a problem at all. Bathroom without window and the view is not very nice but I can recommend this motel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge

Address: 17 Cron Street, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Franz Josef
#2 Family Hotel in Franz Josef
#3 Romantic Hotel in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
24 spacious, well appointed, ground floor studio and family units. Central village location with spectacular alpine and rainforest views, walk to restaurants, shops and attractions. King, queen, deck and spa units with kitchenettes, ensuite bathrooms, Sky TV, DVD players and complimentary DVD library. Spa pool, guest laundry and activities booking service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpine Glacier Motor Hotel Franz Josef
Alpine Glacier Hotel
Alpine Glacier Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.