We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy Hostel!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau Franz, Motel & Backpackers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Chateau Franz, Motel & Backpackers to your Saves list
Chateau Franz, Motel & Backpackers
3.5 of 5 Hostel   |   8-10 Cron Street | Franz Josef, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Penang Island, Malaysia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Cosy Hostel!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012 via mobile

Paid only NZ24 per night :) for a 5 beds female dorm :) The room has satisfactory space and the heater works well! Free hot pool (closes at 7pm) and popcorn (at reception) and a wide range of movies :) the hostel is really cosy!! The tv room has sufficient room with cable tv and kitchen is oh well spacious and well equipped! There's a cleaner who Comes everyday and he helps maintain the kitchen real clean! Dining area provided as well! Value for money definitely yes!! Just a short walk to supermarket n eateries (5mins or less) location: next to YHA!
Only shortcoming is there's only one dryer that works and operating hrs for laundry is from 8am-9pm; auto power shut down there after :(

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    97
    56
    24
    12
See reviews for
23
121
64
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

We booked an ensuite room which was far better than we expected it to be, like a motel. We were not expecting to have T.V. video, fridge, jug ,toaster tea and coffee.Lovely clean room. The main kitchen was clean and well equipped and we made use of that also. The staff were very friendly and helpful and booked our next reservation for us, at Hotel Wanaka which we would also recommend.We are an older couple, both pensioners and found this accomodation suitable for all age groups.Plenty of off street parking.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangiora, New Zealand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

We were recommended to stay here & found the place very clean, tidy & the staff extremely friendly & helpful.
The unit was very warm & the ensuite very clean also.
Good off street parking also
The weather stunning & we had a beautiful walk up to the glaciers.
A definite must stay again for the Woods family.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
103 hotel reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

Chatea Franz was our first stay in a backpackers in NZ. Although we booked a 2 bedroom unit with its own kitchen and ensuite bathroom for some privacy, we were not really expecting much. We were happily surprised when we checked in to see how spacious and well equipped it was. We made full use of the kitchen facilities to cook some of our meals during our three day stay at Franz Josef. The room had a rustic alpine decor although it did look a little tired. Since the town was so small, we just walked everywhere and had no use for the car except in our day trips to the lake and glaciers.

Other plus points: very friendly & helpful staff, available off street parking, hot tub although we did not use it, beds were very comfortable

There were a lot of cobwebs though in the toilet window and decors above the kitchen which could use some cleaning. The other bedroom where the kids stayed also lacked a heater and got very cold at night.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Hot tub, rooms like hotels facilities with 3 other friendly, happy travellers, home from home film room n cooking facilities and excellent staff who went out of their way to help me book things.

Have stayed in some amazing hostels in NZ...this one really has it all.

Room Tip: No pool - the hot tub is in it's own little house! Sooooo cool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cromwell, Otago, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

At the end of our holiday we spent 2 fantastic nights at Chateau Franz. Our unit was just the right size, with ensuite and no cooking facilities who wants to cook on holiday! Clean and warm units, with sun pouring in. Bed was very comfortable. Staff went out of their way to help us and great suggestions of what to do in the area. Have to go back and stay again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

This hostel is really nice, friendly staff upon check in. We had a 3 bed dorm and it was nice! Not that big but its a hostel!
Free popcorn was cool and the spa was fixed as we got there and it was really nice to sit in that!
I would stay there again, the kitchen had enough space and plates etc and the tv lounge was cool with so many movies!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chateau Franz, Motel & Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Franz, Motel & Backpackers

Address: 8-10 Cron Street | Franz Josef, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chateau Franz, Motel & Backpackers 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ed welcomes you to Chateau Franz...Come and relax at Chateau Franz Motel & Backpackers after your fun filled day on the Glacier. Centrally located, we are only a few minutes walk to all Franz Josef has to offer. We offer a variety of accommodation to suit all budgets. A free spa pool, free homemade soup every evening, free breakfast, free movies, popcorn and friendly informative staff in a great atmosphere! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Chateau Franz, Motel & Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Franz, Motel And Backpackers
Chateau Franz, Motel & Backpackers Hotel South Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau Franz, Motel & Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.