We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious and genuine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 88 Asian Fusion Restaurant + Lounge Bar

88 Asian Fusion Restaurant + Lounge Bar
28 Main Road, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7856, New Zealand
+64 3-752 0234
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 14 Restaurants in Franz Josef
Price range: $6 - $26
Cuisines: English, Thai, Asian fusion
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Delicious and genuine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Trendy, chic bar/restaurant. Coffee was delicious as were the dinner, breakfast and hot chocolates. Not too $$$. Generous serves and genuine asian fusion. Indonesian chefs who know what they are doing. Clever and comfortable surrounds.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    41
    11
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Fresh flavours - fine range”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Chose 88 for dinner whilst staying at Franz Josef.
Seating was cafe style with brightly coloured water glasses. Changing coloured lighting was fun, but it was quite noisy and hard to have a conversation (and the restaurant wasn't anywhere near full).

The menu included an interesting array of dishes (pad Thai, Nasi Goreng, beef cheeks) and the flavours were fresh. We were all pleased with our choices. It was easy to find wines to match.
We ordered starters but our mains arrived first.

Staff were welcoming.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Modern bar style eatery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Ate here early evening before the main tourist season. The place was very quiet, and a few things were off the menu, but what we selected was delicious and well presented. Fair value for money, in a pleasant atmosphere, with good staff. I'm not likely to be returning, but that's only because I probably won't be back in NZ for some years.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Loved this restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

This is a very friendly place with a lively feel about it. The staff were great and service prompt even though it was busy. Thoroughly enjoyed our meal

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fox Glacier, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing food!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Love this colorful restaurant on the main street of Franz. Being a South Westland local, I would go back to this restaurant in a heartbeat. Me and my partner both had the Nasi Goering, mine with chicken, his with prawns. Was amazing!!! And for desert we both enjoyed a chocolate tart each.

The staff were lovely and very helpful, only down side was that they forgot to bring us our drinks, but once I asked we got them very quickly.

Even though at the end of the meal I was so full, I still wanted to eat more of the delicious food! Look forward to my next visit.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 88 Asian Fusion Restaurant + Lounge Bar also viewed

Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 

Been to 88 Asian Fusion Restaurant + Lounge Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 88 Asian Fusion Restaurant + Lounge Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.