We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view near the hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Glacier Gateway Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Glacier Gateway Motel to your Saves list
Glacier Gateway Motel
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   State Highway 6, | Franz Josef Glacier,, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7952, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great view near the hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Good mid range hotel and rooms with free wifi, stayed for a night on way to the Franz Josef glacier, town is 5 min drive from the hotel. There is flowing river next to the hotel and a bridge, weather was amazing with a slight drizzle and cloud cover which was adding to the view. check out the pictures. Really loved the location

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    2
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
7
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burleigh Heads, Queensland, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I just had 31/2 weeks touring around the south island of New Zealand even flying across to Stewart Island. Everywhere we stayed was great except for the Glacier Gateway Motel. I have never stayed in such a dump in my life. The walls were paper thin, the towels were so old and disgusting I would not have used them to wash our dogs and it was very expensive for what we didn't get.
Keep going into Franz Josef - the next night we stayed elsewhere - cheaper but so much nicer!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A good base for Franz Josef. The owners made us welcome and left fresh milk each day, in a cute little bottle. Our unit had two bedrooms which was ideal for our family of four. Free wifi throughout the stay which kept my daughters happy. Plenty of activities to do locally. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The owner of this motel is very welcome and helpful. She made an effort to help me to call heliservice to confirm my ride. Our room is just perfect and spotless clean. This motel also offer unlimited free wifi. We will definitely stay in this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My cousin and I stayed at the Glacier Gateway Motel recently, on our travels around New Zealand. We were initially worried about the location as we knew it was out of town but soon found out the location was perfect. The motel is situated just outside the town of Franz Josef, about a 2 minute walk over a bridge, with absolutely beautiful views of the glacier and mountains behind. Our room was perfectly clean and well equipped with a small kitchenette and good sized bathroom. The area is quiet and the TV in the room had a good selection of channels to choose form. The highlight of this stay, however, was the service provided from the owners. From the moment we arrived there we felt welcome and the owners do as much as they can do to ensure you enjoy your stay. We were catching a bus on our last morning at the motel and because it was raining heavily out, Marnie drove us up to the top of the driveway and let us sit in her car until the bus came! I would definitely stay in Glacier Gateway Motel if I were to ever visit Franz Josef again.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

The staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms were adequate but having a back access to a shared corridor, which was lit all night, was a bit odd and spooky especially as we appeared to be the only ones there. It might have felt better in the summer. It was outside of town and the rooms were also located below the level of glacial river running from the Franz Joseph glacier, separated by a high bank.

Room Tip: Ask for mountain view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We booked this motel on a special rate having reviewed their feedback on TripAdvisor. The news owners have turned this motel around. Our trip began with a call from Vicky on the morning of our proposed check in to say that they had no power but we were welcome to still come through. We decided it would be an adventure and headed there. Upon arrival we had fabulous service from Vicky, Marnie and the team. We were given candles and torches and told a generator was on its way. Not 20 mins later the power came on and we were away! Great service, no problems with the rooms. Perfect for what we needed. Thanks!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Glacier Gateway Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glacier Gateway Motel

Address: State Highway 6, | Franz Josef Glacier,, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7952, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Glacier Gateway Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
23 Units ranging from studios for 1-2 persons to family cottages for 1-5 persons. Budget units, best value, best views, best location. Free wireless Wi Fi. 50 Plus channels of Sky, flat screen TV's, insect screens on all windows. We are 500m from the main village - nice and quiet with fantastics national park, glacier and bush views. All rooms are clean, comfortable and affordable. Family units have cooking facilities, we have plenty of on-site parking and a laundry,playground. Free tour booking office for all locals walks, flights and other activities. Friendly new owners . Come spend a night, not a fortune! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Glacier Gateway Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glacier Gateway Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glacier Gateway Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.