We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Frills But Very Clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Punga Grove Motel & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Punga Grove Motel & Suites to your Saves list
Punga Grove Motel & Suites
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   40 Cron Street, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 2000, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“No Frills But Very Clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

This was a nice place for our one night stop over in Franz Josef. Certainly not a high end motel but perfectly adequate for our short stay. It had everything we needed.
The stay was friendly and the room was very clean.
Not sure if you could get anything better n this little town.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    80
    34
    11
    2
See reviews for
34
133
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, California
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We stayed one evening at this hotel/motel. The desk clerk was very nice and provided us with the information we needed to get around town. The room was clean, internet was available. Very convenient to "everything" in town.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

This motel was the worst one we stayed in during our 2 week driving tour of the south island. From the reviews on Trip Advisor, we expected it to be quite nice, but it was old, dingy and overdue for renovating. We booked a 2 room apartment with friends only to discover that one of the 2 bedrooms was actually a loft. We could have managed with that, but the facilities were just cheap and tired, so we left after one night because we were not at all comfortable there. Obviously we would not recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Castle, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This small motel is ran by a family who greet you and welcome you to the area. The motel is spotless with spacious rooms and a little kitchenette which was nice after traveling for so long to be able to prepare food if you wish. Within the block of restaurants and stores in the Franz-Joseph area and you can actually see both glaciers from your room.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uralla, Australia
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Punga Grove is in a great position to enjoy all the attractions of Franz Josef.Our room was excellent-large and well-appointed and we could walk to the hot springs,cafes and kiwi centre easily.We were extremely comfortable despite the hot day and would go back in a flash!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We had made the booking and were uncertain about our stay here... BUT
When we got here.. a pretty lady greeted us and showed our way to our room with a complimentary bottle of milk.

Our room was huge and really cozy..
It was one of the best place we stayed in the south island.
It has a bath tub in the bathroom and I think the Jacuzzi doesn't work..

it is not only easy on your pocket but very close to the town, where you will find the restaurants and shops.. it is also at a walkable distance to the place which has hot pools :)

it doesn't have any view as such but then you will not be indoors if you stay here.. when you come back in the evening.. the hotel invites you with a warm room and a cozy bed..
As we were on our honeymoon and stayed only for one night.. this place was a perfect romantic getaway after a long track to Franz Joseph :)

I would defiantly come back to this place and stay for atleast 2 days :)

Room Tip: The one which is on the first room on first floor bang opp to the reception, its balcony faces the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

The room was clean and the kitchenette was really helpful. Close to the centre of town so you can walk to all the cafes and shops. The lady at check in was very helpful. The loan of one of their umbrellas also came in great hand walking to the glacier! We would stay here again.

Stayed October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Punga Grove Motel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punga Grove Motel & Suites

Address: 40 Cron Street, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 2000, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Punga Grove Motel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Punga Grove offers stylish motel accommodation in the heart of Franz Josef Glacier village. Perfectly positioned in a beautiful rain forest, set amongst native forest against a stunning backdrop of high alpine peaks, Punga Grove is your natural West Coast accommodation choice for your stay in Glacier Country in New Zealand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Punga Grove Motel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punga Grove Hotel Franz Josef
Punga Grove Motel And Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Punga Grove Motel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.