We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious and unbeatable views!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glenfern Villas Franz Josef

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Glenfern Villas Franz Josef to your Saves list
Glenfern Villas Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 Villa   |   State Highway 6, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7952, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Spacious and unbeatable views!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2007

We were only able to stay 2 nights here but it was 2 amazing days we owe in part to our stay here. Weather definitely plays a huge part as another review posted. We were lucky - had super clear weather for our helihike/helicopter rides.

We booked early enough too to ask for one of their villas that face the mountains. Wow. What a view. We felt like we were off on our own in our own home. Loved it! It was on the higher end, price-wise, but we couldn't have been happier. We arrived late and were greeted by the host without any issues. And we were welcomed too in having our 3 yr old daughter.

It is a short drive from town, but you need to have a car for sure.. I'm glad we stayed out of town (5 min) and would definitely go back if we go back to hike the mtn. Oh, and they booked the day trips for us too. My husband took the helihike and my daughter and I took the helicopter ride. They coordinated it all! Fantastic!

2 nights is a must too.. just in case of weather for seeing/hiking the glacier.

  • Liked — spacious, individual units
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    118
    18
    3
    5
See reviews for
74
196
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bellevue, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2007

This little collection of cabins was a nice, quiet place to stay. The
units are all pretty basic but clean and sunny. Our villa had a kitchenette of decent size, a small bedroom and a nice size bathroom but no tub. The living area had a pullout sofabed and there is a nice little deck on each unit although ours was not facing the mountians and so had no real view. The staff is friendly and there is a nice laundry room that won't break the bank. It is not right in town and requires a short drive to get to the main area.

  • Liked — Nice rooms, friendly staff
  • Disliked — distance from town, our unit didn't have a view or overhang for parking
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billingshurst, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2007

Our apartment was very spacious, clean, well furnished and maintained, albeit just a trifle soulless. However this could have been partly our mood as the weather was really poor and our helihike was cancelled, so we were not feeling very cheery. Franz Josef is very touristy with nowhere particularly amazing to eat (we were feeling so grumpy we retired to our villa with a bottle of excellent New Zealand desert wine and a tub of hokey-pokey!) However I would have no hesitation in recommending these apartments - they are on the main road a car drive out of town, but there is so little traffic in New Zealand that just does not matter. I think previous unhappy customers might just have been very unlucky.

  • Liked — Terrace with a view of a fence
  • Disliked — Distance from town
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2007

We stayed at this property for one night and it was great! It is a little out of the town itself (less than 5 min by car). The town of Franz Josef itself is tiny and can be covered in about 10 min walking.

The hotel is very peaceful and is run by a family. It is a beautiful setting and we would definitely go back in the future.

We would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed February 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2006

We stayed at Glenfern Villas on our honeymoon and were treated extremely well by the owners Wendy and Marcel Fekkes. We asked for a "romantic room with a view" and got exactly that! The villa was clean, well-appointed and comfortable. The views from the deck were simply gorgeous. We spent eight days travelling around the South Island and rated Glenfern Villas as the best place we stayed at in terms of overall service and comfort. We are New Zealanders and found the price a bit high for the average Kiwi ($180 per night for a couple). However, we highly recommend Glenfern for all of the positive reasons above!

Stayed February 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, NZ
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2006

Booked Glenfern for a trip to Franz Josef just before Christmas. They charged me for the wrong dates, and refused to refund our money after we arrived on the dates we booked. We ended up staying at the Terrace Hotel, which was lovely and had great views of the glacier.

When I tried to contact Glenfern later regarding their mischarging me, they were very short and not at all interested in the fact that they made a mistake with my reservation. As this all happened the day before Christmas, it really left a sour taste in my mouth and made our holiday less happy than it could have been.

I would not recommend any patronage at all of Glenfern Villas.

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamilyTrust, Owner at Glenfern Villas Franz Josef, responded to this review, October 8, 2006
We obviously take any review very seriously. Our company policy at Glenfern Villas requires 48 hours notice of cancellation to incur no charge. This is outlined in all of our emails, enquiries and confirmations. At no time do we take payment or charge credit cards until the day of your departure. We were not notifyed of this cancellation, therefore we held the room awaiting guest arrival. We did however give the opportunity to discuss the matter and due to the fact that our terms and conditions were accepted by way of confirming the reservation it was not discussed any further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2006

We visited the South Island in December 2005. Most of the hotels that we stayed at were quite lovely, but the Glenfern was a surprise disappointment. I would have thought for the price that we could expect a clean room and toilets that flush properly.

Our room had dirty sheets (with a cigarette burn on one side) and a strange odor. To make matters worse, the toilets didn't completely flush (had to flush 2-3 times to get the job done), and ran occassionally through the night...We were so happy to leave after 2 nights!

The view was very nice, however, so it wasn't a total loss. But there were several other hotels down the road with similar views, so I would give this place a pass.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamilyTrust, Owner at Glenfern Villas Franz Josef, responded to this review, October 8, 2006
When reading this review I found the notes very disturbing and frustrating as none of the problems noted were brought to our attention during the stay.
We maintain high standards at all times and take pride in attention to detail. We can only apologise for the burn mark on the sheet and have since changed our linen supplier. Staff are constantly trained and maintenence checks are completed on a regular basis. However if a problem arises during a guest stay and this has not been reported to us, we do get the the opportunity to fix it and therefore you leave with a dissappointing experience. On behalf of all the team at Glenfern Villas, we apologise for the inconvenience caused to you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Glenfern Villas Franz Josef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenfern Villas Franz Josef

Address: State Highway 6, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7952, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Glenfern Villas Franz Josef 4.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Glenfern Villas Franz Josef reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenfern Villas Franz Josef Hotel Franz Josef
Glenfern Hotel Franz Josef
Glenfern Franz Josef

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glenfern Villas Franz Josef, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.