We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice change from the B&B circuit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Glenfern Villas Franz Josef

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Glenfern Villas Franz Josef to your Saves list
Glenfern Villas Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 Villa   |   State Highway 6, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7952, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 3 Pay 2 nights
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Newton, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Nice change from the B&B circuit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Stayed here with two couples during our March tour of the South Island. Although our hike on the glacier was rained out, we were pleased to be staying in such comfortable and spacious surroundings. The self-contained units were also a fabulous change from all of the Bed and Breakfasts we had been staying in. We enjoyed the opportunity to prepare our own dinner and keep it simple with coffee and a light breakfast in the morning. We were also happy to raid Glenfern's DVD supply and have a relaxing night in. The Villas are a little removed from town, but it was nice to be in a quiet area, and it didn't take but a few minutes to find our way back in to Franz Josef village in the morning. I would certainly recommend for people to stay here, maybe even for a longer stretch. Clean, well maintained, and very comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    126
    22
    3
    5
See reviews for
80
214
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

My husband and I spent 2 nights here (July 2013) with our adult son whilst attending a wedding at Fox Glacier. We did an extensive road trip of the South Island recently and this motel was significantly better than others we stayed at with similar Qual mark ratings and prices. We had a unit with 2 bedrooms both with queen beds. The rooms were spacious, warm and clean with comfortable beds and lovely linens. The bathroom was modern and stylish with nice bath linen and toiletries. The lounge had comfortable seating and the kitchen is the best I've seen in a South Island motel. The split level accommodation affords privacy if you are travelling with, say, another couple or just want some space between you and the kids. Free WiFi and friendly and welcoming hosts. We hope to stay there again and consider it to be great value for money.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

What a good place to stay as a family with two kids. The very cosy and well maintained bungalows feature enough space for a family of four. Well equipped kitchen. Great location for venturing into Franz Josef' s and Fox's main attractions. The only thing we did not like: Their arcane internet access. Here they should and could do better.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Had a lovely 2 nights here (May 2013) with hubby on our visit to Franz Josef.
The staff here are friendly and welcoming with great tips for where to go and eat.
It is about a 5 min drive into town so be aware of that if you don't have a car. They do have a couple of bikes for hire.
Room was clean and had everything we needed to have a couple of meals in.
The only thing I'd say to improve it would be to have either separate heating for the bathroom or heated towel racks. The bathroom gets cold with the door closed!
Other than that, it is a lovely place that we'd recommend to friends and would stay there again too!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

The apartment was warm and very spacious with everything we needed. Friendly staff and very helpful on things to do in the area. The Villas are a short drive to the town. They suggested Fox Glacier which we did and so glad we did.
The room looked back to the mountains and was a lovely sight early in the morning as the sun came up. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

From the moment we drove into the villa until the moment we left, we loved everything about it. Friendly staff greeted us, took us to our very nice and spacious room, equipped with a large kitchen area and lounge.Comfortable seating good heating and wondreful views. A short drive into town and their are several places to choose from for a meal or just to sit and have a drink.The only disappointing thing about this experience was that we only booked to stay one night.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

From the moment we checked in we felt both welcome and relaxed. There was nothing that was too much trouble from free wi fi to being escorted and shown the room.
Added extras of vouchers were another surprise.
I do not write too many reviews but I found this place worthy of praised and somewhere you should definitely consider if ever you are fortunate enough to travel down to this part of the world

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glenfern Villas Franz Josef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenfern Villas Franz Josef

Address: State Highway 6, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7952, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Glenfern Villas Franz Josef 4.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Glenfern Villas Franz Josef reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenfern Villas Franz Josef Hotel Franz Josef
Glenfern Hotel Franz Josef
Glenfern Franz Josef

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glenfern Villas Franz Josef, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.