We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westwood Lodge- A Select Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Westwood Lodge- A Select Hotel to your Saves list
Westwood Lodge- A Select Hotel
4.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   State Highway 6, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7952, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$255 (NZD)
Ranked #3 of 7 Franz Josef B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great B&B”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We stopped here for one night along our 10 day trip through New Zealand. I was super impressed with this luxurious little roadside lodge. It's set up more like a motel than hotel, but I liked the privacy, and the roadside location didn't bother us at all. Large beds, nice bathrooms, robes, coffee and a private patio.
The owner was extremely nice, and the main lodge is really beautiful. Great place for an evening drink or breakfast.
My only issue is that it's a few minutes outside of the town. Not a big deal if it's a nice day out as you could walk it (although it would probably take 15-20 minutes) but on a colder day you definitely have to get in your car.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    33
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
16
102
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, Colorado
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Westwood Lodge is beautiful with impressive woodwork throughout. Our room was comfortable and attractive, and breakfast was delicious! All this just a short drive from the village of Franz Josef and the glacier.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
genève
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Very spacious rooms, complimentary wifi (2h), lovely fireplace in the common room, fine and healthy breakfast, warm welcome by the manager (kaz). A car is necessary to go to the nearby restaurants though. Rooms are nicely decorated, modern with a wooden touch. Private car park in front of the room. Dvd player in the room and a wide selection of films in the common room.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

It's ironic that the website says no pets, but the first thing that happened when we arrived at Westwood Lodge reception was the owner's large dog jumping over me and constantly sniffing my bottom during the check-in procedure. The owner took us to our room, with the dog following, and the dog actually entered our suite. I love dogs, and it was a lovely labrador-poodle cross, but .....

We stayed in the best suite, "The Grand Suite", which was comfortable, but certainly overpriced considering everything. My husband had sprained his ankle during the day and we asked for ice for an ice-pack, but were told that there was none. We had a lovely little outdoor area with a table and chairs, but there was an ashtray under the table which was filled with butts, and the area was a little grotty.

The communal lounge area is absolutely gorgeous. It has a bar, fireplace and a separate pool table. Unfortunately, the fireplace was not fired up, the bar was closed, and when we were enjoying the company of other guests in the pool table room, the owner was hanging around and wanted to join in the fun - bringing her dog with her again.

Breakfast was a disaster. The coffee was cheap and nasty, and only served by the owner at her discretion. The scrambled eggs were boiled eggs mashed into a disastrous dry mess.

I hate writing bad reviews.

Room Tip: Choose a cheap room and don't go for the suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

We enjoyed our stay here, its a nice facility but lacked the touches that take it to the next level as a luxury lodge even though it is priced as such.

We were given a choice of a room in the main building with a tub or a coachroom which was huge with glacier views. We chose the latter which was nicely furnished, quiet and comfy, we slept well. There was a lack of toiletries in the bathroom for a hotel of this type - would have liked to have seen some body lotion,more soap, cottonwool buds, shower cap, etc. Complimentary fruit and biscuits were provided on our first day, thought this should be daily given the tariff.

The lodge is built in lockwood style, modern with a nice garden outlook. Communal facilities are good, pool table, library, bar, music and comfy lounges in front of a gas fire - perfect for a crowd.

Kaz was friendly, chatty and hospitable, we loved her labradoodle though he is not much good as a watchdog! way too sweet!

Kaz's cereal mix at breakfast is delicious and so is the yoghurt, but bottled orange juice was a disappointment as were the cooked breakfasts. Bacon was overcooked and salty, portions were small - not a hearty feast to set you up for a day exploring the mountains.

This is a lovely place close to town but on the expensive side for what we got.

Room Tip: Coachroom No 6 to get glacier views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

We found the lodge very pleasent and welcoming. Great location, nice and quiet. Everything was clean and tidy and well maintained. The log cabin style accommodation is cosy and suited our needs very well for our stay in this delightful area of NZ. The hosts were very helpful with advice for eating out and trips onto the glaciers. Breaksfast was good.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

My husband and I traveled throughout New Zealand for our honeymoon and stayed in a wide range of places, from budget motels to luxury lodges. This was our least favorite place out of about 10 different accomodations we stayed in. For the price, we found it had the least value. I felt the lodge was trying to be a luxury lodge but it felt more like a budget motel, pinching their pennies wherever they could. For over $300/night, I just expected better. The pros of the place are that the rooms are clean and spacious, and they have a nice view. However, I agree with a previous reviewer's posting that the rooms have more of the qualities of a motel, with cheap soaps, shampoos, and bathroom fixtures. They provided only one bar of soap but there were two sinks. No soap for the shower either. The breakfasts were just adequate, but the smallest portions we had seen in New Zealand. When we arrived for breakfast our first morning, our host felt the need to let us know that we were the last people to come down for breakfast. We were well ahead of the breakfast cut off time, but it seemed like we annoyed her for being the last ones. There was only one cup of coffee left in the coffee pot. When my husband asked for a second cup during breakfast, we saw the host make him a single cup of instant coffee instead of a fresh pot, without even asking him which he preferred. The coffee pot was right in front of her sitting empty. I guess she didn't want to waste a pot of coffee for just us. The lodge is also very stingy with their internet. They gave us a password that limited our use of their wifi to one hour, and when the hour expired the internet would just stop, and we would have to go back to the front desk, get another receipt for a password and they would charge us for extra time. I understand paying for wifi as this has become common practice amongst some hotels. However, if you're charging us for the internet, let it be unlimited from the start and don't make us keep coming back for more time. We stayed in motels a third of the price of this lodge and the internet was unlimited and free. The place just seemed like they were trying to save pennies wherever they could at the expense of the guest's comfort. The final annoyance was when we were checking out. We were taking our time packing after breakfast, and we received a call from the front desk at exactly 11am asking us to leave since it was the checkout time. This was a first for me. There wasn't even a 5 minute grace period! I went immediately to pay our bill and leave, and didn't notice anyone waiting to check into a room. In fact judging from the amount of cars that were in the parking lot the previous night and the people at breakfast, the lodge was not at capacity. As we were leaving, I saw that they were cleaning all the rooms at once, with all the doors open, and realized that it was more convenient to be cleaning the rooms all at the same time, so that's why they kicked us out at 11am sharp. Poor service overall. You don't get what you pay for here.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Westwood Lodge- A Select Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westwood Lodge- A Select Hotel

Address: State Highway 6, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7952, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Westwood Lodge- A Select Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Westwood Lodge offer stylish cotemporary accommodation set in a delightful landscaped native garden with Alpine & Glacier views. All rooms are superbly comfortable, choose between the Main House Suites with a luxurious French tub or a Coach House suite with fantastic alpine views. All suites have underfloor heated spacious ensuites with dual handbasins & large open titled showers. For total comfort all include complimentary toiletries, robes & hairdryers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Westwood Lodge- A Select Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westwood Lodge- A Select Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.