We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views, rooms need more light !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westwood Lodge- A Select Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Westwood Lodge- A Select Hotel to your Saves list
Westwood Lodge- A Select Hotel
4.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   State Highway 6, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7952, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$280 (NZD)
Ranked #3 of 7 Franz Josef B&B and Inns
Oxford
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great views, rooms need more light !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

Lovely quiet location just out of the main township, with fantastic views of the glacier from the main lounge. Rooms are very much "cabin style" with lots of wood and absolutely huge , but the lighting was extremely poor so after dark, it felt a bit dingy. Breakfast does not start until 7.30am so if you want an ealy start you need to make special arrangements. Bed was very comfy and bathroom was very large with twin sinks - a nice touch. Overall , a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    32
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
15
93
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2011

We stayed two nights here in january. The room we stayed in was a nice, large, well equipped room. We found Kaz to be a willing, but very unpersonal and rather cold host - but that's personal opinion, and he seems a knowledgeable guy that runs this place as good as he can. But when it comes to details or to doing better than competition, there is room for improvement...

The wireless internet is incredible expensive (payed by time online, with a stone-age invented checkin/checkout mechasim) and the absolute slowest connection I had in New Zealand so far. When I mentioned this to Kaz, he said that this was the way internet was in all New Zeel;and hotels. A plain lie: we have expirienced way better, and for free in most places we stayed. Access to the internet is no option anymore if you claim to be a select hotel - it is a prime service.

The room was not cleaned while we stayed. The bed was made up, but the room was not vacuum cleaned - and as I spilled chips the day before, this was an obious need. The sinks or shower were not cleaned, only the requested towel have been changed. When I brought this up to Kaz, he explained me that this was not part of the making-the-room service in his hotel. Rather strange...

Breakfast is served in the main building. The cooked breakfast was very nice on both mornings. The buffet is, compared to similar places in New Zeeland, a little more limited but all is fresh, a decision we appreciated very much.

The lounge is spacious, has all facilities one can ask for with a nice library, dvd-collection, pooltable, etc... If we would not been hiking all days, we would definitely have enjoyed spending more time here.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2011

Booked via website. We were only staying one night and this was the most expensive place we stayed on the entire trip.

We were finishing the Milford Track and dependent on whether we were able to get a helicopter back to Queenstown would dictate what time we were going to be arriving at Westfield Lodge, which would either be five or nine pm. I left a note to this effect on the on-line booking form. We got there at 9.20pm, to a terse comment about it being after 8pm. One would have thought at $300 odd per night you could expect a warm welcome as opposed to one that might have been found at a boarding house in Blackpool in the 1950's.

We were asked what time we wanted breakfast and advised that as it was so late we better get into town and eat.

We had changed our mind about the time for breakfast, so when arriving back at about 10.30 we went into the main building to advise, for fear of being told off in the morning. When I went to look in past reception the same friendly person advised the building was shutting so I didn't actually get to see the breakfast room/lounge until the morning.

The room was nicely laid out, spacious, and finished to a high standard. Quite boutique hotel like. We stayed in the coach house.

This is really a high end motel, it is right on the road, didn't hear it in the room but if you were out on your deck it would be a nuisance. Could see the glacier from the window so good views.

Breakfast was good, we didn't mind but the room was laid out so you had to share a table over breakfast. The waitress at least was friendly this morning.

The room where served was nice as well, although as I wasn't allowed in there the previous night only found out an hour before we were due to check out.

In summary, the finish of the place is top end but the overall experience was poor and for that money I am expecting a slick operation, not someone running a lifestyle business. I would never stay there again nor recommend anyone else to and its hugely overpriced. Judging by the other places we stayed, they should be charging $200 per night but hey, that's just my opinion.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2011

Lovely stay at Westwood Lodge. Stylish, large and very comfortable rooms. Very cosy lounge area with a great view of the glaciers. We would thoroughly recommend this hotel for a special and memorable stay in Franz Josef.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2010

My husband and I spent 2 nights at Westwood Lodge and have nothing but good things to say about it! We loved our room--the bed was comfortable, the room was quiet, and the bathroom was huge and beautiful. We also had a private garden area just outside of our room, which was very relaxing to sit in and to look at from inside the room.

The service was also great. Kaz was extremely helpful with restaurant recommendations and directions. Her staff also prepared delicious breakfasts for us both days.

We also enjoyed the common areas of the lodge--great views and a relaxing place to hang out and write postcards, catch up on e-mails (by the way, first half hour of internet was free, then 4 NZD for each half hour after that), etc. They also had a nice selection of books and DVDs to keep us entertained.

Some reviews mentioned traffic noise on the road--I'm extremely sensitive to noise but didn't notice any noise at all. The lodge is set back at least 50 yards from the road, so we couldn't hear cars at all, even with our windows open. We also drove about 10 hours total on that road during our visit and never passed anything but passenger cars (i.e., no loud large trucks).

Overall, Kaz thought of every detail, from the cookies, fruit and bug spray (you'll need it--the sand fly bites itch like crazy and don't go away for weeks) in the room to the well-appointed lodge.

Kaz recommended both Blue Ice and Canopy for dinner--Blue Ice was great for something more casual, and Canopy was a delicious 4-5 course meal. Both were right in town, walking distance from the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
249 helpful votes 249 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2010

We had a one night stay in Franz Josef last week. We arrived at Westwood and were checked in by a lovely young girl and shown to our room. There were some biscuits and fruit for us on arrival. The room was lovely, the bathroom was huge.

For the price we paid $345NZD incl breakfast - I felt this place was extremely overpriced. I'm not quite sure why the extreme costs.

The lodge is on a road which had traffic on it all through the night - not constant but because it is so quiet without the traffic when a truck rattles through it is loud. I am a light sleeper so might not affect others. The shower in our room was pitiful and you had to run around to get wet. Also the view from our room was ok, but nothing to rave about.

We had breakfast the following morning of French Toast and my partner had bacon and eggs. The French toast was terrible and tasted like it was stale and reheated in the microwave. My partner had the smallest breakfast I've ever seen with dried up old bacon. For the price we paid we were expecting something really great. Also they have big share table at breakfast, which I hate. We like to have a relax at breakfast and not be forced into conversation with strangers while you're trying to eat.

Overall I was disappointed and felt ripped off at this price. We stayed at some exceptional accommodation for less than half this price elsewhere in NZ, in remote places and in big cities. If I were going again I would choose something much cheaper - there are tonnes of options in this small town.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Managing Director at Westwood Lodge- A Select Hotel, responded to this review, November 24, 2010
Dear SusieQ78

Westwood Lodge values all our guests reviews & we are disappointed that we did not live up to your expectations.
Our continental breakfasts are indeed a buffet style, but we do cook all our hot breakfasts to order. On no occasion would we reheat or micowave any order. Had you mentioned that either the french toast or your husbands bacon was not to your liking we would have been more than happy to have had our chief prepare another breakfast for you.
Many of our guests do get to know each other prior to breakfast & enjoy being able to sit togeather & chat about their journeys. However I do understand that some guests may prefer to be seated at their own table. The option of separated dinning tables may be something that we will consider in the future.
I am unsure what the weather was like during your stay, however on a clear day the Alpine & garden views from the Coach House Suites is indeed quite lovely.

As you mentioned our Coach House Suites are quite near the road, however it is quite unsual to have truck passing though during the night, generally speaking the West Coast roads are not at all busy & therefore traffic noise is not a problem that has been highlighted before.

We do hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday though New Zealand.

Kind Regards
Kaz Gilmore
Manager/Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2010

We booked Westwood Lodge on Wotif and were amazed at how beautiful it was when we arrived. Great spot, fabulous decor and amenities in the rooms. We wish we had stayed longer.

Breakfast was in a large dining/lounge area that looked out to a garden filled with rhodendrons and snow capped mountains. Food was fantastic and Caz provided very tasty Afghans to have with our coffee.

A wonderful choice.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westwood Lodge- A Select Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westwood Lodge- A Select Hotel

Address: State Highway 6, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7952, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Westwood Lodge- A Select Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Westwood Lodge offer stylish cotemporary accommodation set in a delightful landscaped native garden with Alpine & Glacier views. All rooms are superbly comfortable, choose between the Main House Suites with a luxurious French tub or a Coach House suite with fantastic alpine views. All suites have underfloor heated spacious ensuites with dual handbasins & large open titled showers. For total comfort all include complimentary toiletries, robes & hairdryers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Westwood Lodge- A Select Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westwood Lodge- A Select Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.