We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bernie is terrific!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holly Homestead B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Holly Homestead B&B to your Saves list
Holly Homestead B&B
4.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   2900 Franz Josef Highway, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7856, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Franz Josef B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Bernie is terrific!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

After driving down the coast from Greymouth, we were given a warm welcome by Bernie, who is both no-nonsense and charming at the same time, and spent a wonderfully relaxing two days, hoping for the weather to clear so we could take our heli trip onto the Franz Josef glacier. Unfortunately, that didn't happen, but we had a great time at a great B&B, regardless.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    17
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
127
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed at HH enroute to Queenstown for one night. We were upgraded since there was just one more family staying during that time. Bernie was very warm & welcoming and showed us to our rooms. This was followed by a round of coffee and baked goodies around the fireplace, as she helped us choose the restaurants that we could consider for the night. As with every cozy B&B, you do have a feeling that you are staying at someone's house, so you may feel slightly inhibited. But i suppose a couple of nights there, and you should be more at home. Breakfast next morning was very nice, with Bernie's husband doing the cooking. He was unusually quiet though. The room (suite, since we were upgraded) is warm, well done and lovely, and the bathroom has heated flooring which is welcome on a wintery night. There are goodies in the fridge, along with fresh milk for coffee/tea. Overall, pleasant stay but on the pricey side

Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

We were welcomed by Bernie before we had got out of the car! And then encouraged to have a welcome drink.We were upgraded to the deluxe suite upstairs so we had our own private lounge. This had a sunny aspect. Since we had rain and mist which stopped our glacier trip in the helicopter we made good use of the lounge. The bed was very comfy and the bathroom luxurious. Gerard cooked a lovely breakfast. The complimentary port in the communal lounge went down very well. Laundry service was free if you were staying more than one night and iron and board were available on request.

Room Tip: I originally opted for the queen room which I suspect offers best value for money. (we were upgraded...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

Great welcome from Bernie with choice of wine ,beer , or soft drink. We settled for tea and cake (homemade ) at no extra cost. Our suite of rooms comprised large lounge. ornate bathroom and very comfortable King size bedroom. Lounge had well stocked fridge and there was port available in the communal lounge again at no extra cost. It did not seem that this could be improved and yet it was by Gerard at breakfast which was exceptional.
This is a special B & B and well worth its rating of 4* plus and at a very reasonable price. We could not find a single fault and on our simple marking had to give Bernie and Gerard 12 out of 10 it was that good.
We have no hesitation in giving Bernie and Gerard our wholehearted recommendation.

Room Tip: The en suite rooms are great with super views but the suite we had although no such views was superb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

We stay one night at Holly Homestead. We enjoy a lot our stay: very helpful owners - giving adivise, booking restaurant for us. The house is really lovely and the rooms are big. Very nice breakfast which you are sharing with other guests. Really recommendable!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

we can't recommend this B&B highly enough; a beautifully kept homestead and our hosts were exceptional. The room was so comfortable and we had views of the glacier. The owners pay meticulous attention to detail for the comfort of their guests. The breakfast was superb as well and we really enjoyed the chat with the other guests around the big table.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

Our group stayed (once again) at Holly Homestead on our South Island tour. We were met on a cold, wet and blustery day with a roaring log fire and a smiling hostess, Bernie, who couldn't do enough for us. After getting us settled in our rooms, Bernie soon had a steaming cup of tea and homebaked cookies in our hands. It was a very warm welcome. The rooms are beautifully finished - the native rimu woodwork is some of the best I've seen in any New Zealand home.
This old character home has a ton of ambience, and has been lovingly restored and upgraded. I highly recommend Holly Homestead to those travellers seeking affordable luxury in Franz Josef

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holly Homestead B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holly Homestead B&B

Address: 2900 Franz Josef Highway, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7856, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Holly Homestead B&B 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique B&B : This colonial homestead whispers history. Originally constructed from beautiful native timber in 1926, now tenderly refurbished staying true to the Arts & Crafts style of architecture. Start your day early with a panoramic view of the Franz Josef neve from the breakfast table. Go exploring at your own pace and come home to a glacial sunset, a glass of port in the guest lounge and a welcoming bed. Age restriction: children 12+ welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Holly Homestead B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holly Homestead B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.