We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel in such a small city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel to your Saves list
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   State Highway 6 | PO Box 47, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7856, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Surat, India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“nice hotel in such a small city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Stayed here for one night but wished to stay more a good hotel. the city was quite small and the hotel was too good which was out of expectation. the only attraction which we missed due to bad weather was the glacier region. we had our best breakfast. really loved the taste of the food.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander T, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear 365aroundtheworld,

I am really pleased to read that we were able to exceed your expectations on us and on your stay in Franz Josef Galcier. Unfortunately this time you could not visit the Glaciers but lets hope there will be a next time!

Thank you for positively commenting on our breakfast buffet and our food in general.
Your feedback is appreciated.

Best regards and safe travels around the world.

Yours sincerely,

Alexander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    109
    47
    20
    5
See reviews for
45
151
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

I really enjoyed my one night here while touring the South Island on a business trip.
The rooms were a good size, clean and the restaurant was really good.
I loved how it was walking distance to the thermal pools!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander T, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Dear TravelAgent604,

Thank you for your kind review. And I hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel and the spectacular Glacier Country in the near future. -Maybe next time on a leisure trip.

Safe travels!

Alexander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

Had a night stay and would love to stay longer!
Room: cosy and very clean. We are impressed with the squeaky clean toilet. However the room was pretty small and especially the toilet. But we valued the cosiness and the cleanliness of the room and so the size did not bother us much. Also, it will be good if the bed could warm up as it get pretty cold during our visit in autumn (there is heater in the room, but a warmed bed would be better)
Service: staff are friendly.
Breakfast spread: the spread was decent.
Overall: recommended for stay during visit to franz Josef!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander T, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Dear PF-funnie,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review, following your recent stay at the Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier. We would have liked to see you stay longer. -In the matter of facts, we recommend that guests plan to stay at least 2 days in Franz Josef Glacier as a huge variety of activities is on offer. One day is in most cases not enough ‘to see it all’.

The hotel was completely refurbished in 2012. All rooms have been made up to provide travellers with a quality accommodation option in one of the most stunning regions New Zealand has to offer.

Once again, thank you for your review and please stay in touch.
We look forward to your next visit in the hopefully not so distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Alexander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gymea, Australia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Stayed here as part of a group. Had a really great, spacious room with a sliding door opening on to a balcony with fabulous view. Had a mix up and received someone's else luggage as well as mine. As soon as I rang reception to advise, 2 happy, friendly young guys turned up to collect the suitcase and deliver it to the right guest. The whole atmosphere of the place was that everyone was having a good time. I can imagine that during the skiing season, young people must have a wonderful time staying there. Dinner and breakfast were excellent. We only had an overnight in Franz Josef but would love to go back and spend more time exploring the area.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander T, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Dear roselilycat,

Pleasing to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
The Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier is positioned in central location in town and most activities are only a short walk away. However, guests can still enjoy beautiful panorama views right from their room.
You have stayed in one of our superior rooms. These rooms are really popular by our guests as they offer more space and an own private balcony or terrace. Perfect for the more concerning traveller.
Thank you for mentioning the positive service you have received from our team. It is recognition like yours that makes it worth to go the extra mile for our guests.

We hope we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel when you are next travel to the Glacier Country.

Best regards,

Alexander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
308 reviews 308 reviews
112 hotel reviews
Reviews in 145 cities Reviews in 145 cities
183 helpful votes 183 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

I stayed 1 night in room 306 - Very large room with great comforters on both beds, fully stocked minibar, tea/coffee service, really big TV, wonderful bath with set-in glass shower, fluffy towels and a wide selection of complimentary toiletries.

So why am I rating it only average? Because across the parking lot from this room is a backpacker's place blaring dance music, with the bass loud and clear even with windows shut tight.

I'd stay here again if I had a room facing away from the parking lot.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander T, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Retirada,

Please accept my apologies for the noise disturbance that you have experienced during your time in Franz Josef Glacier.
I am disappointed that we failed to provide you with the pease and quite you deserve as our guest.

The matter has since been brought to the attention of the Westland District Council and I trust that appropriate steps will be taken against the business that was responsible for the noise disturbance that night.

If you ever plan to visit Franz Josef Glacier again please do get in contact with me so I can ensure that your next visit will be on a more positive note. We do care about our guests and so do most of the business operators in town.

Yours sincerely,

Alexander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

I booked this hotel as a part of a surprise 3 day get away for my partner and myself so that I could pop the question!!! We unfortunately were held up on our travels and could only spend one of the two nights booked!!! I could have stayed a lot longer!!
The manager Rosie (hope I got that right!!) was truly amazing in making this one of the most memorable weekends ever. She and the wonderful staff helped organise a bottle of Dom Perignon (2004) and upgraded our room so that after I proposed on the top of the glacier, we were met by a truly stunning room!! Even down to the flower petal arrangement on the bed of our initials in a heart!!
I wouldn't hesitate in recommending this to any of our friends and we both look forward to returning again to take in more of the beauty that the South Island and Franz Josef have to offer!!
Thank you again Rosie and all your staff, you went above and beyond to make our stay truly special!!!
.....and she said yes!!!!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander T, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Adam B,

We are so happy for you and your fiancée and thank you for allowing us to be part of this great occasion. I am sure you will keep us in good memory and hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel some day soon. Maybe on your honeymoon?!

Best regards,

Alexander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Stayed here for one night and hotel is located in the centre of town. Hotel staff were very friendly. Rooms were modern with new bathrooms, bathrooms were a bit small but could not complain, we were very impressed with with this hotel.Hotel has great view of the glaziers and peaks.and would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander T, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear donny15,

Thank you for your positive mentioning of our Hotel on TripAdvsior.com.
It was great to have you staying with us and we look forward to welcome you back to the hotel in the hopefully not so distant future.

Best Regards,

Alexander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel

Address: State Highway 6 | PO Box 47, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7856, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier sits at the edge of the Westland World Heritage Park, and is just moments from one of New Zealand’s most spectacular natural attractions, the Franz Josef Glacier. Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier makes the most of its alpine location and offers quality accommodation in two separate hotel ‘wings’. Stay in either the Douglas or Graham wing, and enjoy the beautiful surroundings within Franz Josef village. Our hotel is in a premium location, making it the perfect place to base yourself while exploring the magnificent Westland region.Our professional, friendly staff look forward to welcoming you and helping to make your stay enjoyable and comfortable. Your visit will be made even more memorable by the many natural wonders in the area. Just be sure to bring your camera! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franz Josef Glacier Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.