We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good base” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel to your Saves list
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   State Highway 6 | PO Box 47, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7856, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
frodsham
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good base”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

This hotel has the best beds I've ever slept in apart from my own. They just gobble you up. If we had slept in separate beds I doubt we'd have got up they were so cosy. The room was well equipped very clean and tidy. However, its downfall was the rooms location I can't remember the room number but 626 seems familiar it was based to the far right of the hotel as you look at it from the road and is right opposite the pub on the corner. The pub was quite noisy and open until early hours so took quite a while to get to sleep. We ate at the pub across the road and it was quite pleasant. Breakfast in hotel was very good.
Good location for the glaciers. Village is buzzing in the evening.

Room Tip: stay away from the rooms on the right hand side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHFJManager, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear MazzyFrodsham

Thank you for placing comments on Tripadvisor. I agree the beds offer a great nights sleep. All beds have our Scenic signature bedding, which includes plush feather mattress toppers and duvets.

I hope you enjoyed your trip to the beautiful West Coast.

Kind Regards Maree
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    81
    35
    17
    3
See reviews for
37
114
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Point, New York
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

A nice hotel centrally located in the small town. A nice breakfast buffet with a good assortment of hot and cold foods. Dinner was good, too. The hotel does not have air conditioning or a fan in the room; it was uncomfortably hot and had to leave the windows open. I'm glad we were up the next day before a tour bus started up outside our window! No free wi-fi.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHFJManager, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Leigh T

Thank you for your feedback on Tripadvisor. I have passed your kind comments onto the kitchen brigade in regards to your dining experiences.

The hotel is located in Glacier Country and with the milder year round temperatures, we do not have air conditioning. However, fans are available to our guests.

I hope you enjoyed your travels around New Zealand.

Kind Regards Maree
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
225 reviews 225 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Great location and nice rooms, well kitted out. However, there is no air conditioning so the rooms at this time of year are rather hot and stuffy. All the rooms have balconies so at least you can sit out in the cool for a glass of wine.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHFJManager, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear PaulofPleshey

Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor... We have enjoyed warmer weather in the region throughout January. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again to Franz Josef.

Kind Regards Maree
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

This hotel has a great location opposite the West Coast Wildlife Centre and close to the offices of the helicopter companies. Rooms were on the ground and first floor with an attractive bar and restaurant in the central reception building. The only disadvantage was that our room faced the road, which wasn't busy but the bar/restaurant opposite was, and it was rather noisy at bedtime! From every other aspect it was great - the room was spacious and well appointed, though not a single picture on the walls which is unusual .. . There were two double beds and good storage. The bathroom was also a good size with a shower screened off but no bath. Staff were courteous and helpful and we were particularly impressed by the facilities for recycling which included a special unit for separating garbage and recycling materials in our room - first time we've seen that! We'd certainly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Request a room that does not face the bar/restaurant across the road!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHFJManager, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Lee F

I appreciate that you took the time to place comments on Tripadvisor. The hotel is situated in an ideal location with stunning 360 degree views.

Your comments in regards to the noise from the bar across the road have been addressed and I apologise for any inconvenience.

Thank you for staying at Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier and I am glad my team left a lasting impression.

Kind Regards Maree
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, Marlborough, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Most impressed with this property and sad we only stayed one night..The staff OUTSTANDING and caring and happy.
Nothing was missed, even spare pillows, blankets in plastic.
Most comfy bed, pillow and crisp linen.
Would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Ask upon checkin. Happy to accommodate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHFJManager, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Leigh R

It is always wonderful to receive such great feedback in regards to my team. We do aim to give each guest a memorable experience whilst staying in this beautiful region.

We hope to welcome you back to Glacier Country in the near future.

Best Wishes Maree
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergisch Gladbach, Germany
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

It was our honeymoon, the staff was very friendly staff... especially at the restaurant ... perfect hotel after a glacier tour!
We loved it and already got some additional tips for the rest of our tour - thanks a lot.

We'll be back again!
Sincerely, Mike and Nicole

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHFJManager, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Mike & Nicole

Thank you for your comments. I am so glad you enjoyed your honeymoon in Franz Josef and that my team catered to your needs.

We look forward to welcoming you back, perhaps on your Anniversary...

Best Wishes Maree
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Room was anything but scenic as all we could see was the busses in the parking lot, breakfast was ok but expensive when all you eat is a bowl of cereal, OJ and coffee, which we had to chase down to get the cups refilled. Dinner of a scotch fillet, full of grisle and lamp shanks which had to have been cooked a few days before, was not edible. The washer and dryer were greatly appreciated though. Location was also good as we could walk to the other restaurants in town.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHFJManager, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Lyle K

Thank you for placing comments on Tripadvisor. Feedback is always welcomed as it helps us to improve each guest experience. Your comments have all been addressed with the food and beverage department.

I hope you enjoyed the remainder of your stay in New Zealand.

Kind Regards Maree
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel

Address: State Highway 6 | PO Box 47, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7856, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Franz Josef
#6 Luxury Hotel in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier sits at the edge of the Westland World Heritage Park, and is just moments from one of New Zealand’s most spectacular natural attractions, the Franz Josef Glacier. Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier makes the most of its alpine location and offers quality accommodation in two separate hotel ‘wings’. Stay in either the Douglas or Graham wing, and enjoy the beautiful surroundings within Franz Josef village. Our hotel is in a premium location, making it the perfect place to base yourself while exploring the magnificent Westland region.Our professional, friendly staff look forward to welcoming you and helping to make your stay enjoyable and comfortable. Your visit will be made even more memorable by the many natural wonders in the area. Just be sure to bring your camera! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franz Josef Glacier Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.