We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westcoast Wildlife Centre

Westcoast Wildlife Centre
Cnr Cowan & Cron Streets, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 18 Attractions in Franz Josef
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Outdoors
Attraction details
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
1 review
“What an experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We were lucky enough to hear about the Westcoast Wildlife Centre -what an amazing thing they are doing saving our kiwis - all of us who live in New Zealand as "Kiwis" should remember they are so rare and I am really impressed with the dedication that this wildlife centre has towards saving them. Yes I know how hard it can be to see kiwis and at times we can be disappointed not to see them - but they are there and if you take the time you will see them. patience is a virtue - As a family the educational experience and the displays they have makes for a fun informative day - complete with a good coffee and a little shopping - win win for us all - the westcoast people are such open and friendly people and the staff at the Westcoast Wildlife Centre are so welcomeing - Well done all :)

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    53
    23
    23
    12
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic Kiwi Attraction - Must See !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We used the Lonely Planet Guide book to work our way around New Zealand and found the West Coast Wildlife Centre in Franz Josef listed as one of the top 12 things to visit.
We were not disappointed - it was fantastic ! . Really interesting backstage pass tour which for $50 included the indoor kiwi viewing forest walk through area, and Glacier information and West Coast stories stuff.Loved the kiwi and the pass got us back the next day for free!.The children really loved this and wandered in and out of the attraction for at least 3 hours.
We would highly recommend this as a must see place to visit on the West Coast - and a definate must do in Franz Josef.The shopping was also some of the best we had seen in New Zealand and i used the free wi-fi to connect back to home and share some photos of our trip.
The Wildlife Centre looks after the world's rarest kiwi called the rowi and there are apparently less than 500 left alive in the wild today.What a difference this place is making to the survival of this little creature !.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very informative”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Well done. Very informative however the Kiwi birds were hard to see in the dark, although they are of course nocturnal animals and we were observing them in their natural habitat. We had not previously seen a real Kiwi bird so it was fascinating to have the chance to do so. Loved the ice displays and the educational information of the glacier. It was perfect to do this first and then traipse up to the mountain to see the glacier itself. A fascinating area to visit and the information centre was full of useful information! The price seemed a little steep - $80 for a family of four as the boys breezed in and out of the exhibition but worthwhile for all the effort that has been put into the display.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Extremely overpriced!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We wanted to see the Rowi Kiwis and we did! They were hidden in a dark corridor, but were actually active when we walked through. Having said that, the total experience of this centre here is quite negative. Extremely overpriced. If you want to see the hatchery you have to pay extra. Well, even if it was an extra, free thing to see, we would still feel ripped off. What you pay for is a "day-pass" but still feels very much like a ripoff! Maybe the money goes to endagered kiwis, but then say so! That would actually be ok... Now it just seems like a money machine!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“You can see kiwis, but "wildlife centre" is stretching it...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

There are only two kiwis, and if you're quiet you'll easily see them. But to call this a wildlife centre is to stretch things a little.

If you consider that your money is going to a good cause and consider it a donation then you'll be fine - but don't expect to spend more than half an hour in here including a stop in the shop.

A lot of people have written unkind things about the glacier section. Although it does feel as though it's a little out of place with the kiwis, it was actually informative and unless you already know a lot about glaciers, you will learn something if you bother to read all the information.

A decent shop, and friendly staff - but don't be fooled into thinking that you're going to spend all day here.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Westcoast Wildlife Centre also viewed

Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 

Been to Westcoast Wildlife Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westcoast Wildlife Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.