We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but less than expected” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Skydive Franz

Skydive Franz
Main Road, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand
+64 800 458 677
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 17 Attractions in Franz Josef
Type: Sports Camps/ Clinics, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: New Zealand's Highest Tandem Skydive - 18,000ft. Be surrounded by Aoraki/ Mount Cook & Tasman, Franz & Fox Glaciers, Rainforest & Ocean for your Skydive. Our Friendly team and epic surroundings provide simply the best skydiving experience available in New Zealand! Choose From: 12,000ft - 45+ seconds free-fall 15,000ft - 60+ seconds free-fall 18,000ft - 75+ seconds free-fall All of these options include a scenic flight over Franz Josef Glacier and a 6-8 minute parachute ride. We use the world's most advanced and most comfortable parachute systems.Our aircraft is maintained and operated to the highest standard in the industry. Photo & DVD options available.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good but less than expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Skydive was great as usual. My wife's coach was excellent but mine was not so good. He got me to the ground much earlier than my wife, though she jumped 30 seconds before me. Also, we did not get views of great snow mountains while jumping as against displayed in their advertisements. And as a last nail in the coffin, they forgot to take my photos :(

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SkydiveFranz, Marketing Manager at Skydive Franz, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Hi there, I'm glad you guys both enjoyed your skydives!
Every jump is unique and there are many elements that contribute to how long you have in the air, including the combined weight of the passenger and tandem master. Heavier pairs will inevitably fall faster so reach the ground quicker. Our expert team of tandem masters do their best to give you as long as possible under canopy. You will get between 6-8 minutes of canopy flying during your jump.
I'm sorry that the weather restricted your view of the mountains on the day. We never make any promises for exactly what you will see during your skydive as we can't predict what the weather will do. It is very rare for the clouds to completely cover the mountains and for conditions to be suitable for jumping. The scenery here is amazingly diverse and I hope you got to see the glacier, ocean, lakes and rivers during your skydive!
Regarding you photos, I believe this issue has been resolved and that the photos weren't forgotten. You have now received the photos from your jump?
Thanks, Clare & all the team at Skydive Franz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    1
    2
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“19,000ft”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We were first attracted to Skydive Franz because they take passengers over 100kg as my partner is 6"8 we needed that! You don't know how glad we are that this led us to go with Skydive Franz!!! We went straight for the 19,000ft, neither of us had ever skydived so we were nervous (of course).. We were so reassured by our tandem instructors Chris and Rhys! The plane was a lot bigger than we were expecting - but the views were spectacular! You can not describe how cool the view is.... So close to Mt Cook and Mt Tasman and then on the otherside the ocean! We ended up a tiny bit higher than 19,000ft and look it was amazing - We will never forget the amazing skydive with 90 seconds of free fall! The ears blocking though - but you've got to expect that going over 200km/hr...... If you have the choice to Skydive anywhere in NZ... Do it here.... Queenstown would be really overrated in comparison to these guys and the amazing location they have - plus the highest jump!!!

We paid for the full package of footage too - videos and photos from the tandem guy + another jumper with you taking footage! We were really glad we chose this option!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SkydiveFranz, Marketing Manager at Skydive Franz, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Hi guys!
Thanks for this amazing review. We are glad your research led you to us and you had such a great experience! We aim to please :) We reckon we have the best Dropzone, it's nice that you do too.
The work the guys do on the video & photos packages are amazing aren't they! It's incredible the quality of shots they capture during freefall.
Thanks again, I hope you enjoyed the rest of your NZ trip.

Clare & all the Team @ Skydive Franz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Amazing amazing - just do it...!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

It took some convincing, but sooooo glad I did this...! Jumped from just under 14,000 ft in the end (think we were lucky enough to be hitching a ride with a dude going up to 19,000ft....) but it felt like we were free falling for way longer than 50 seconds.... Then.... The parachute opens, the whooshing ends and just.... Silence... Stunning views and a really cool ride.

Thanks to the team for getting me up there and out of that plane...! A totally amazing experience.... !!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SkydiveFranz, Marketing Manager at Skydive Franz, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Hi Soph,
You are so welcome! We're glad you enjoyed your jump with us & that your friends managed to convince you to do it :)
Every part of the experience is amazing isn't it?! And it sounds like you loved it all.
Thanks for choosing to jump with us.
Clare & all the team @ Skydive Franz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
1 review
“19,000ft! Are you for real?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

I did the world highest 19,000ft tandem skydive jump (nearly 6000m) the most amazing experience for me I can't describe. I did research and chose this company and it was best decision. my recommend just to do it!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Marketing Manager at Skydive Franz, responded to this review, June 23, 2012
Hey Hans,
Yeh, we are for real! haha. Words really can't describe the feeling of falling from 19,000ft can they!? Everyone experiences something different (and brilliant). Take Hans's advice and 'just do it!'
Thanks for the awesome review Hans
Clare & all the team @ Skydive Franz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome views on ths amazing trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

what can i say? Words dont explain what an amazing experience this was. If you want to do a skydive then Franz Josef is the palce. The crew were great and the village was a beautiful place to stay

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Marketing Manager at Skydive Franz, responded to this review, June 23, 2012
Hey there Selene, Thanks for the great review & the recommendation that Franz Josef is the best place to jump! Of course we think this too :)
Clare & all the Team @ Skydive Franz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skydive Franz also viewed

Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 

Been to Skydive Franz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Skydive Franz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.