We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful! Great room, view and lovely hostess” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Franz Alpine Retreat

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Franz Alpine Retreat to your Saves list
Franz Alpine Retreat
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   2 Donovan Drive | State Highway 6, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Rotterdam
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful! Great room, view and lovely hostess”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

The Franz Alpine Retreat was a wonderful stay which was all thanks to the wonderful hostess Jo (I hope I spelled her name right). She was a treat. Warm, funny and very welcoming.
At arrival she gave us many tips about what to do in the environment which was wonderful seeing as the weather was turning bad and our glacier trip seemed like it was going to be cancelled. She made sure during our stay that everything was in order and was always up for a chat. She made you feel quite at home.

The room was one of the best we had during our trip. There was a good spacious seating area with a soft sofa, 2 chairs and a tv which also had a dvd player. There was a dining room and very spacious kitchen with all the appliances one could want, including an oven.
The bathroom was clean and had a very nice shower.
The bed was nice and firm and the blinds helpt keeping out the sunlight.

I warmly recommend this retreat to everybody visiting Franz Josef. It's a bit out of town so you have to take your car there. If you can, don't get gas here, but do this in another town on your trip because gas here is expensive.

From the retreat you have a view upon the glacier with good weather. We only had ok weather on the day we arrived so we only saw it for a short while, but still it was wonderful. Because the environment where the retreat is is a very open space, you can see the weather changing which you can do from the comfort inside or on your porch.

We didn't use any facilities outside the room so I can't comment on this, but the room itself, together with Jo make it a place to stay and feel at home already

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer F, Manager at Franz Alpine Retreat, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Thank you for the review! it is much appreciated. So sorry the weather was not ideal, but happy your time in Franz was enjoyable, you were a delight to host.
Wishing you safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    42
    10
    3
    3
See reviews for
68
68
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

We had a wonderful 2 night stay in December 2013…in fact we just checked out today. Jen greeted us with such lovely genuine enthusiasm and as we were earlier than the normal check in we were expecting to be told to come back later…no.. Jen welcomed us and was more than helpful with organising things and letting us know what was in the area. We were planning on doing a hike the next day out to the glacier but when we woke up it was raining and more like staying in and watching DVD's all day…so thats what we did after a brief drive out to Fox Glacier and a stop in town to pick up supplies we headed back to our cabin to use the DVD's from reception…kids loved a movie day all rugged up…and by the afternoon the weather had cleared enough to head out and do a brief hike before enjoying the Glacier hot pools.

Thanks Jen for all of your service…will definitely recommend Franz Alpine Retreat

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer F, Manager at Franz Alpine Retreat, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
So happy you enjoyed your time even though the weather was not the best. You were such a pleasure to have stay with us! Wishing you safe travels and a Merry Christmas!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

The 2 bedroom cabin is spacious. I like the large kitchen and the dining table sits 6 comfortably. There are two sofas in the dining room which means there is enough seating for 4.

At check-in, we were pleasantly surprised at being told we would get an early Christmas present in the form of a free continental breakfast - but which never came. This was okay because it wasn't part of the contract but I wished we were not offered the "Christmas present" to begin with.

Wifi is not free so I am confused by other writers who said it was, unless their deal was different.

The location is slightly out of town but is great if you want peace and quiet.

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer F, Manager at Franz Alpine Retreat, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Thank you for your feedback.
We do apologize your "Christmas present" was overlooked!
The wifi at the moment works on a voucher system which can be found at reception, my apologies that was not clarified to you.
We hope you are enjoying the rest of your travels, thank you for choosing JagEscape Franz to be a part of your vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Whilst not luxurious, the cabins are set in a peaceful area with spectacular views of the mountains. The cabins are clean and new and had all the amenities required for a short stay. Breakfast ingredients being delivered to the cabin the night before was very handy. Enjoyed our stay.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer F, Manager at Franz Alpine Retreat, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate it.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, hoping the rest of your vacation was amazing. Thank you for choosing JagEscape to be a part of your New Zealand stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Lovely cottages, modern, clean and self contained. We got the one at the end which had fabulous views of the mountains.

Special mention must go to Jo, the manager, who couldn't do enough to ensure our stay was as great as possible.

Room Tip: The one at the end, the 2 bed cottage had great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer F, Manager at Franz Alpine Retreat, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, it is appreciated.
We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

Stayed here in November for 2 nights. Jo was very welcoming and extremely helpful with booking the trips you could do. Explained to us where to get cheaper petrol, where to eat etc.

Chalet was clean, well equipped and we were very comfortable. Franz Josef is a fantastic place and Jo made it a lot easier. There was plenty of utensils, and towels too.

Room Tip: All of good quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer F, Manager at Franz Alpine Retreat, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, it is appreciated.
We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, you were a pleasure to have :)

Thank you for choosing JagEscape to be a part of your New Zealand vacation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

We booked 2 cabins 1 night through bookings.com which appeared perfectly fine on the confirmation email received by both parties. Upon arrival there was an error in their books saying we had 1 cabin for 2 nights and all other cabins were booked. For 6 people this was disappointingly squishy however the manager was very kind/quirky and did her best to accommodate us in the 1 cabin. She proceeded to lower the price and offer all she could for the mistake. Thanks

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer F, Manager at Franz Alpine Retreat, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, it is appreciated.
We do apologies for the inconvenience of the error in the booking system, you were a pleasure to have as guests and hope the rest of yours travels have been wonderful!

Thank you for choosing JagEscape to be a part of your New Zealand vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Franz Alpine Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franz Alpine Retreat

Address: 2 Donovan Drive | State Highway 6, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Franz Alpine Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Franz Alpine Retreat gives you the perfect retreat in the most beautiful location this country has to offer. Whether you are travelling alone, as a group or a family, it has personalised facilities that fully immerse you in the surrounding environment.Franz Alpine Retreat has been purpose built with facilities that allow you to feel at home, relax, do your own thing and ultimately enjoy the breathtaking environment around you. Our chalets can sleep up to 6. Chalets are equipped with full gas cooking, kitchen - dining room, electric blankets, SKY + Freeview, Wireless Internet, Phone & insect screens. Other facilities within the complex DVD library, BBQ, full laundry facilities, continental breakfast.A perfect place to stay - your home away from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Franz Alpine Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franz Alpine Retreat Hotel Franz Josef

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Franz Alpine Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.