We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Franz Alpine Retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Franz Alpine Retreat

Save Saved
You added Franz Alpine Retreat to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Franz Alpine Retreat
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   2 Donovan Drive | State Highway 6, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Franz Alpine Retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed here on our honeymoon recently. Jo was an awesome host! Made us feel so welcome and even gave us a special surprise for our honeymoon. Went out of her way to find out about weather for our trip on the ice. Lovely place, clean and beautiful view. Thanks Jo

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray M, Owner at Franz Alpine Retreat, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thankyou so much for your review. We really appreciate that you took the time to do this. Yes, Jo is awesome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    117
    41
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
66
63
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night at Franz Alpine Retreat. Jo (the owner) was sensational and could not have been more helpful. We had a bedroom chalet - spotlessly clean, very comfortable. The location is a about 3km out of town - and we loved it. Thanks Jo!

Stayed April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stayed one night at the Franz Alpine Retreat and had a very comfortable chalet with two bedrooms, lounge/kitchen and bathroom, all clean and comfortable. All the windows had fly screens which helped prevent any invasions of sand flies etc. The owner was very helpful and recommended various places of interest. The Retreat is a little outside the town which suited us although you need a car to get around.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 1 night, it was a beautiful cosy retreat, immaculately clean, well maintained, owner and co were extremely helpful and infortmative, fantastic location, serene atmosphere made it the place we would definitely stay at again!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We found the experience at the Retreat to be excellent all round. The service from the lovely lady was exceptional; she provided us with everything we could need and more. The chalet was spotless and looked as thought it was built this year. No complaints, would definitely come back. Cheers for a great two nights!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We drove from Queenstown and arrived late at town in the evening . Most of the restaurants in the town are closed by 9 or 930 , so we decided to have dinner first before checking in . The location is only 6 minutes driving from city center. There are plenty of restaurants and small grocery shop near the area , but as I said earlier, they are all closed by 9 or 930pm.
When we arrived at the hotel, the reception desk was already closed, but Jo, the hotel manager left us a notice on the office window where to find keys and everything. She made sure our apartment was ready and all clean when we arrived. The heater was on and all the information was provided nicely. There were four of us , but I think a group of 6 people will stay comfortably as well . I surely will try the kitchen equipment for next staying. They are fully furnished ! Jo also gave a great tips on which route of glacier walk is the best for our itinerary . Thank you Jo!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.Cloud
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We shared one unit with another couple on our trip to New Zealand. The unit was large enough to share without feeling crowded. By splitting the fee it was fairly reasonable. This is a no nonsense accomodation, it is like a pre fab home. There were minimal decorations/wall art around the unit. It was clean and tidy. We were provided with hot drink packets and milk, bread, cereal in the refrigerator. Jo was very friendly and also helpful. She was more than willing to help with directions to various hikes and places to eat etc. It's located in a quiet setting with no other properties around. It's about a 10 minute drive into town.

Room Tip: The end unit is labeled for disabilities but we were assigned it. You have a nice view from the one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Franz Alpine Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franz Alpine Retreat

Address: 2 Donovan Drive | State Highway 6, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Specialty lodging in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Franz Alpine Retreat 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Franz Alpine Retreat gives you the perfect retreat in the most beautiful location this country has to offer. Whether you are travelling alone, as a group or a family, it has personalised facilities that fully immerse you in the surrounding environment.Franz Alpine Retreat has been purpose built with facilities that allow you to feel at home, relax, do your own thing and ultimately enjoy the breathtaking environment around you. Our chalets can sleep up to 6. Chalets are equipped with full gas cooking, kitchen - dining room, electric blankets, SKY + Freeview, Wireless Internet, Phone & insect screens. Other facilities within the complex DVD library, BBQ, full laundry facilities, continental breakfast.A perfect place to stay - your home away from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Franz Alpine Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franz Alpine Retreat Hotel Franz Josef

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Franz Alpine Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.