We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome and welcoming stay! Thanks Paul!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Franz Alpine Retreat

Save Saved
You added Franz Alpine Retreat to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Franz Alpine Retreat
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   2 Donovan Drive | State Highway 6, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Awesome and welcoming stay! Thanks Paul!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

The location was ideal, beautiful scenery all around. We were greeted with lots of warmth. The chalet was spacious and clean. Paul, the gentleman in charge was very helpful, generous and warm. We loved every.moment of it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    116
    41
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
65
63
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Halesworth, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed at this property having read good reviews on tripadvisor and have to say that we were a bit disappointed. The receptionist (manager?) was very pleasant and helpful but that was the only positive aspect of our stay. The accommodation appeared to have been built and furnished on the cheap and it was in need of maintenance.
When we arrived on a cold, wet day, all of the windows were open, presumably to get rid of the strong smell of curry which pervaded the whole chalet. There was one small fan heater which was very noisy and totally inadequate to heat one room let alone the entire property. There was mould on the curtains and the floors were painted chipboard!
I could go on but to summarise, I think that better value could be found elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Excellent customer services, quiet and clean, free wifi, complimentary breakfast.

Would definately stay again and recommend to others!

However, it is located about 10 mins from Franz Joseph town centre so own transport is required.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queenstown NZ
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

For $260 our family found this over priced. The rooms were very cheaply made up and they need a maintenance guy! All fixtures fittings were cheap and done broken. We came to check in no one was there waited 20 minutes then went off and came back. Mould throughout, cheap curtains, mirror had fallen off the wall. Lots of mould. The master room had a terrible smell like salami was weird!! Felt dirty I just think they have a good website that makes it look flash but upon arrival you will find a different story. Better older motels in town that would be cheaper and cleaner.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Takaka, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Received a warm, friendly welcome from manager Jo, who went out of her way to make sure everything was OK for our stay. She also had lots of good, helpful advice for making the best of a visit to this area. All units detached and we stayed in a comfortable, well-equipped (including full kitchen) 2 bed unit with super view of mountains. Even had surprise complimentary continental breakfast which was very thoughtful and appreciated. Fly screens were a great bonus on a warm summer night. Good WiFi available for those that require it, with a small allowance free of charge. A few minor problems that Jo is aware of e.g. mildew on curtains (difficult to control in a temperate rainforest environment), and she advised us that new curtains were on order for all the units. Perhaps a little on the expensive side but we thoroughly enjoyed our one night here and wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grayling, MI
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I cannot recommend this motel due to the accommodation being poorly maintained: mold on curtains (totally unacceptable), pluged bathroom sink, rusty deck table, thin sheets on bed, old main room curtains that needed to be replaced. The management was on the cheap, and this is not a 3,4 or 5 star facility. Finally internet available is a joke. If you want a quality place, keep looking. This place may have been rated high at one time, but not for me.

Room Tip: Find another place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We are a family of four and stayed for only one night. It was thunderstorms in Franz Josef so we missed out on seeing the glaciers and our booked helicopter ride. Jo was fantastic in suggesting alternatives and even helped in trying to get us on another flight. The accommodation was fantastic and provided a wonderful respite from the weather. I wished I had booked two nights at this place - even if there is nothing to do in Franz Josef (due to weather), the accommodation is a lovely place to stay to have a rest. There's also a proper kitchen (full oven and gas stove) which you don't find in alot of accommodation.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Franz Alpine Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franz Alpine Retreat

Address: 2 Donovan Drive | State Highway 6, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Specialty lodging in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Franz Alpine Retreat 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Franz Alpine Retreat gives you the perfect retreat in the most beautiful location this country has to offer. Whether you are travelling alone, as a group or a family, it has personalised facilities that fully immerse you in the surrounding environment.Franz Alpine Retreat has been purpose built with facilities that allow you to feel at home, relax, do your own thing and ultimately enjoy the breathtaking environment around you. Our chalets can sleep up to 6. Chalets are equipped with full gas cooking, kitchen - dining room, electric blankets, SKY + Freeview, Wireless Internet, Phone & insect screens. Other facilities within the complex DVD library, BBQ, full laundry facilities, continental breakfast.A perfect place to stay - your home away from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Franz Alpine Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franz Alpine Retreat Hotel Franz Josef

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Franz Alpine Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.