We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“well sited, clean and friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Terrace Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Terrace Motel to your Saves list
The Terrace Motel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 Cowan Street, Box 44, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
BEST PRICE IS ONLY ON www.terracemotel.co.nz
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“well sited, clean and friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

Friendly and efficient reception.
Terrace is well sited just off the main road and next to a forest path with glow-worms. They have a good set up - motel units, some cottages and a van park.
We had 2 bedrooms, large lounge / diner / kitchen and a shower room. All very clean. Beds comfortable. When you need it, the drainer tray is in the cupboard under the sink! Some of the motel units are disabled access.

Minor issues - could do with a lock on the shower room sliding door. Bedrooms a bit tight, perhaps most guests are one nighters living out of the suitcase.

WiFi is included, but I had problems with my iPad squirting photos to the 'cloud' and to dropbox, which used up my allowance in a few minutes. Logan tried to help with iPad adjustments and gave us more access tickets.

Franz Josef has better scenery and immediate surroundings than Fox Glacier.

We would happily stay at the Terrace again.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    51
    24
    1
    1
See reviews for
28
78
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Inverurie, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

The Terrace Motel provides what you need for an overnight stop. We found it fairly basic, but clean and comfortable.

The front desk were helpful and forthcoming with their advice. All in all it fitted the bill.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, Manager at The Terrace Motel, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Hi Savik

Thanks for your comments, and I am glad you found the room comfortable. We will take your feedback on board and look at our room facilities, we certainly aim a lot higher than basic, by providing a lot of room extras that are not normally provided at our price point - such as make up remover, biscuits, sweets, filter coffee etc.

Our system has no record of anyone with your name staying but I assume you must have stayed in one of our three cheaper rooms. While our smaller rooms (by most motel standards they are still large) are very popular and we often get complemented on them. Our other rooms contain cooking facilities, most have covered parking and are very large with tables, chairs, couches and some have separate lounges. We also have a two person private spa bath in a one bedroom apartment.

I hope you will stay with us again as I would be keen to show you some of our other rooms that are only slightly more expensive.
For the best rate on all rooms book direct on our website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Right after arriving at Franz Josef we went straight to the Terrace Motel. We did our bookings prior tour arrival and everything was ready for us. We couldn't ask for more, Terrace has an excellent staff that gave us great and useful suggestions about Franz Josef and the surrounding areas. The room was very comfortable and super clean, and free Wi-Fi!!!! We would definitely would stay there again!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We had a great stay at Terrace Motel! Rooms are very spacious, beds comfortable, kitchen is well equipped to cook. Location is great too, only a few meters from the main road close to all the restaurants, bars and other touristic service centers.
Staff was really helpful and friendly, they have good agreements if you want to take a helicopter ride. The owner is really kind as well
A good place to stay if your are going to Franz Josef

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, Owner at The Terrace Motel, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you for your comments, I hope you enjoy the rest of your holiday in New Zealand. With any guest we are always happy to share our local knowledge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Arriving in Franz Josef on a very wet evening we went to the the Terrace motel looking for accomodation for the night. The staff where very friendly and showed us the rooms avaliable -
THey are very helpful and informative about the local area and the guy and reception seemed to be a local and knowledgable about the area.

We had a good nights sleep in a clean spacious room - only problem was the Wifi was some what temperamental but this may have been down to the weather.

We where going on an early morning helicopter flight over the glaciers and where told that we could leave the car for as long as we wanted. Very friendly staff from check in to departure.
Alice Mays restaurant is just next door which is very good and you get a free drink if you show them your room key !

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, Owner at The Terrace Motel, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Hi

I am glad you had a good stay.

We realise how important Wifi is to guests and so we put in a new system with many aerials to make sure all rooms had good coverage from anywhere in the room – while only 11 rooms the motel is spread out as all rooms are ground floor with parking next to the room. After replacing almost all aspects of the wifi network and upgrading the speed and cabling some guests were still finding issues. Over the last two days we have had one of the South Islands wifi experts here (he had to travel 7 hours to get here as we are in a remote location – making IT support more of a challenge) and it would appear one of the aerials was incorrectly set which has created problems. He assures me that the Wifi is now working effectively and we have one of the best wifi coverages and speeds in town. Since the changes no guests have had issues and a guest commented me this morning that he was able to download his newspaper quicker than he can in the UK (which is great, as generally NZ internet anywhere is not as quick as many countries). Clearly however on a wet day if a lot of guests are using wifi any network will slow down.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Clean and spacious room. Motel with an ideal location, quiet and yet with restaurants and shops etc close by. In contrast to many motels we had been to, there were many little things that made us feel at home, for example, sufficient hooks for towels in the bathroom and for dish and hand towels in the kitchen, and paper towels (kleenex) were high quality. Greatly appreciated. Kitchen was well equipped with utensils, crockery and flatware. Fantastic view of the glacier from our room (view studio). Our host and his staff were most pleasant and knowledgable, friendly and helpful. Excellent service.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, Owner at The Terrace Motel, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you for your comments, we try hard to make sure everyone has a great stay and it is rewarding to know you had a good time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

We stayed there for two nights and couldn't fault the motel. The room was clean and modern with comfortable beds. The position of the motel is also excellent, not on the main road but only a couple of minute walk to town centre. Staff were very friendly. What more could anyone want?

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Terrace Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Terrace Motel

Address: 15 Cowan Street, Box 44, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Terrace Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Terrace is the closest Motel to the centre of Franz Josef Village, yet on a quiet side street. The 4 star Terrace Motel offers views of snow capped mountains and the Croz Glacier from its grounds. Unlimited Free Wi-Fi and free on-site parking are included. The Terrace offer Hotel style rooms along with rooms with cooking facilities, next to reception is a quiet restaurant operated by two of Franz Josef most experienced restauranteurs. The Terrace is the closest Motel to Franz Josef's free Glow Worm Caves and Franz Josef Kiwi Bird Centre where guests can experience New Zealand's national bird up close. The Terrace offers spacious ground floor accommodation with electric blankets and electric heating, flat-screen Televisions, tea/coffee making facilities and all en suite bathrooms, some feature a Spa Bath. Guests have a choice of studio's or spacious 1 and 2 bedroom apartments. Most rooms features stove tops and microwaves along with a dining area (please note Hotel style rooms offer tea / coffee and breakfast making facilities only). All rooms are serviced daily. Guests have access to shared laundry and barbecue facilities with outside tables and chairs. The tour desk can organise a range of activities including discounted helicopter flights, hikes, kayaking, horse treks and glacier walks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Terrace Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Terrace Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.