We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific place to see the glaciers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Terrace Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Terrace Motel to your Saves list
The Terrace Motel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 Cowan Street, Box 44, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Want unlimited free WiFI?
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Guildford
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Terrific place to see the glaciers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Franz Joseph is a lovely compact town and the Terrace Motel was both well appointed and well situated. We had one of the nicest rooms in our travels, with a great little restaurant right next door. The staff were extremely helpful in booking a helicopter flight to see the glaciers.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMFJ, Manager at The Terrace Motel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you very much for your review of the Terrace Motel, we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and your time in Franz Joseph Glacier.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    35
    19
    0
    1
See reviews for
20
58
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hanover, NH
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The Terrace Motel is an excellent, clean motel located in the compact town of Franz Joseph. Restaurants, groceries, shopping and tour activity offices are all within a few blocks of the motel. The parking and hiking areas for the Franz Joseph Glacier are just a short drive away.

Our room was very large and included cooking facilities, although we did not use them.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMFJ, Manager at The Terrace Motel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Terrace Motel, We are very happy that you found our location and services satisfactory. We are within walking distance of everything Franz Joseph has to offer. Lots of our rooms include cooking facilities, which guests find handy if you are missing a home cooked meal! Thanks for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

As other reviewers have said, the rooms were very clean and comfortable, management was very courteous, and the property is conveniently located. However, compared to other places we stayed in New Zealand, I was disappointed that there was no separate sink in the kitchen area; one had to use the sink in the bathroom for kitchen needs. The gravel parking lot made quite a bit of noisy when cars drove up, and proximity to the restaurant situated right outside our window made for some interesting smells. Although wi-fi was free, which we always appreciate, the bandwidth was such that we had to stand in a certain place next to the window to get a decent connection. All things considered, I had to give the Terrace Motel an average score relative to the other places we stayed during our three-week tour of New Zealand.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMFJ, Manager at The Terrace Motel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Terrace Motel. We are glad that you found the room clean and comfortable and the location convenient.
We are sorry that you were disappointed with the only sink being located in the bathroom.
As advertised ,The Hotel style studio does not have 'cooking facilities', only a fridge, kettle and toaster. There are plates, cups and glasses included for your convenience as we offer complimentary tea,coffee, hot chocolate etc, but as the design is based on your average 'hotel' room, there is not a kitchen sink, only one in the bathroom.
The room is serviced daily if the guest is staying longer than one night and we will happily wash and replace these items for you.
With regards to the wi-fi, we have rectified the problem with connectivity in certain parts of the rooms and now have a wider coverage through out the whole property.
We hope the rest of your travels through our beautiful country were enjoyable and thank you again for staying with us. Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan, South Carolina
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

My wife and I spent one night here traveling down the West Coast to visit the glaciers. The motel is conveniently located within walking distance to anything in Franz Josef (it's not that big of a town). The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was clean and fine for the stay. It you are looking to visit Franz Josef Glacier, the helipad is within walking distance. If you are looking to visit Fox Glacier, it's only about a 25 minute drive to the helipads in Fox. I recommend the Terrace Motel for a quick stay while driving down the west coast.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

The Terrace Motel is in a great location for both Fox & Franz Joseph glaciers and Franz high Street and Spas. Staff were very friendly and extremely helpful. I spent New Year's Eve here and had a great time. Parking right outside the apartment was fantastic and the rooms and facilities were excellent.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I had booked this Motel on the strength of previous reviews and everything I experienced here confirmed this to be an excellent base in Franz Josef.

The room was spotlessly clean, spacious and had everything you could need. The staff within the Motel were absolutely superb, really helpful and friendly. They were able to book my Glacier flight for the next day and were only too happy to explain and suggest recommendations for the next part of my journey (which included Lake Matheson which I'm so glad I included).

The Alice May Bar and Restaurant (just next door) served excellent food, another advantage to staying at the Terrace. All of Franz Josef's local amenities are in easy walking distance of the Motel too.

This Motel was probably the joint best of my trip with the friendliness of the staff and cleanliness of the property making it one to highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

Small towns that are designed around tourism do not always have budget friendly rooms. Terrace motel has great hotel rooms, extremely clean, well maintained with nice ammenities including heated matress pads and towel warmers. Literally one block away from top restaurant it is perfectly located.

Rosemary and her staff are wonderful! They will provide great recommendations on walks and other activities. Their goal is to make sure you have a great time in this friendly town with awesome scenery (glacier of course).

Do yourself a favor and check out the motel, best value we have found in all of New Zealand.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMFJ, Manager at The Terrace Motel, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Dear Matthew,
We are glad that you had a wonderful time here and enjoyed the Franz Josef scenery.
Thank you for your kind feedback and recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Terrace Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Terrace Motel

Address: 15 Cowan Street, Box 44, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Terrace Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Terrace is the closest Motel to the centre of Franz Josef Village, yet on a quiet side street. The 4 star Terrace Motel offers views of snow capped mountains and the Croz Glacier from its grounds. Unlimited Free Wi-Fi and free on-site parking are included. The Terrace offer Hotel style rooms along with rooms with cooking facilities, next to reception is a quiet restaurant operated by two of Franz Josef most experienced restauranteurs. The Terrace is the closest Motel to Franz Josef's free Glow Worm Caves and Franz Josef Kiwi Bird Centre where guests can experience New Zealand's national bird up close. The Terrace offers spacious ground floor accommodation with electric blankets and electric heating, flat-screen Televisions, tea/coffee making facilities and all en suite bathrooms, some feature a Spa Bath. Guests have a choice of studio's or spacious 1 and 2 bedroom apartments. Most rooms features stove tops and microwaves along with a dining area (please note Hotel style rooms offer tea / coffee and breakfast making facilities only). All rooms are serviced daily. Guests have access to shared laundry and barbecue facilities with outside tables and chairs. The tour desk can organise a range of activities including discounted helicopter flights, hikes, kayaking, horse treks and glacier walks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Terrace Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Terrace Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.