We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glacier Country Kayaks

Glacier Country Kayaks
P.O Box 32 | 64 Cron St, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7856, New Zealand
+64 3-752 0230
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A unique kayak adventure across Lake Mapourika, created by the mighty Franz Josef Glacier. We experience amazing panoramic views of the glaciers and southern alps, mirror like water and also explore a Kiwi Conservation area amongst some of Westland's oldest untouched rainforest. Free photos are included with each tour!
Brussels
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

This is a great experience - amazing views, friendly and knowledgable staff, and excellent value for money (especially the photos being included). This was a really great way to spend an evening and one of the highlights of our time in Franz Josef. Highly recommend.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glacierkayaks, Owner at Glacier Country Kayaks, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
That's great we made your trip to Franz Josef so memorable! We love taking photos of our photogenic lake and paddlers too:)
Happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    11
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“One of a kind experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We had a great time out on the water with Bronwyn during out trip in late August. Our group of three (57, 25, & 23) had some experience on kayaks but were very out of practice, and Bronwyn was a great instructor and guide as we got back into the swing of things. It was a cool morning and rained a little on us, but we had such fun anyways! Bronwyn took some wonderful shots of us and shared a lot of interesting information about the area.

While it's not the most taxing activity, you will likely be sore and glad to get out of the kayaks when the trip is done.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glacierkayaks, Owner at Glacier Country Kayaks, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thanks for the review! We try to deliver a lot more than just a kayak tour - so knowledgeable guides just tops it off! Glad you enjoyed my trip, and the rest of your travels
Cheers
Bronwyn:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Tiring but fun experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

It was awesome and my family enjoyed it very much. We will certainly be having a great night tonight.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glacierkayaks, Owner at Glacier Country Kayaks, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
We're glad you enjoyed the tour - and a good nights sleep afterwards too! Thanks for the review.
-the kayaks team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Amazing and funny trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

As the weather in Franz Josef was quite bad at the time of our visit, we decided to go kayaking. Our guides Campbell and Tyler from Glacier Country Kayaks were really nice and very funny. After being supplied with all the stuff needed to go kayaking, we went off to the other shore line into an arm of the lake to a kiwi sanctuary. Campbell was taking photos of everyone which were then given to us on a CD later on for free. Definitely worth it!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glacierkayaks, Owner at Glacier Country Kayaks, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Paddling in the rain! We love it too - it's nice to get out there and enjoy the true west coast! We try to deliver a good laugh in all weather conditions and happy that you had a good time. Thanks so much for the review!
-The team at Glacier Kayaks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Dale, Bronwyn & Jose, what can I say. Fantastic team. even before we got to NZ they were helpful and amazing.Organising the helicopter ride for us and then changing it for me as I redid my intinerary again and again.. The Kayaking was one of our favourite mornings of our holiday. Lake Mapourika is spectacular, amazing colours, views, Forest a great way to spend a few hours... Our guides for the day Dale & Jose were great, funny, knowledgeable and just good old fashioned friendly and they take awesome photos, which they throw in free of charge..:) I would def do this again if we go back.. Great job guys keep up the good work

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glacierkayaks, Owner at Glacier Country Kayaks, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thanks so much for your wonderful review! Heli-flights and kayaking deliver such a well rounded visit to Glacier Country. We really hope to see you again sometime!

Cheers:)
the kayaks team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glacier Country Kayaks also viewed

Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 

Been to Glacier Country Kayaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glacier Country Kayaks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.