We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alice May

Alice May
30 Cron Street, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand
+64 3-752 0740
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 17 Restaurants in Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $24
Cuisines: International, Continental, Healthy, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: As warm and welcoming, as a traditional English Carriage House. The white walls and exposed rafters are adorned with riding tack, farm tools and other historic artifacts. While the wooden floors, wagon wheel bar stools and open fireplace add to the warmth.
Aldridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great little restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Excellent small restaurant with good menu, very attentive service and good value prices. We ate there for our two night stay and needed to look nowhere else. lovely outdoor seating if weather is good

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    257
    185
    68
    24
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Food was very good and we enjoyed the history of the place. There were lots of staff on and not a huge number of diners when we were there as we were early in the evening. This may explain why plates were being cleared away whilst others were still eating - a pet hate. Staff were really friendly but a little training wouldn't go amiss.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good food but!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Enjoyed our visit and food was very nice, but!, a few days later on checking our credit card account we had been charged twice! We emailed Alice May to bring this to their notice but they have failed to acknowledge our post!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Te Puke, New Zealand
1 review
“yummy delicious pork belly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

have visited this restaurant at least 6 times in last 6 months travelling down south. really enjoy the friendly atmosphere and the friendly service. The pork belly is so tender and spicy. Great choice of desserts. Prices are reasonable and the meals a decent size.
great all round experience with great views, great music, great food and atmosphere.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Friendly and efficient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Very friendly and efficient service and good food which was quickly served and given we were hungry and tired that was exactly what we wanted.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alice May also viewed

Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 

Been to Alice May? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alice May, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.