We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food par excellant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alice May

Alice May
Cron Street, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand
03 7520740
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 14 Restaurants in Franz Josef
Price range: $8 - $25
Cuisines: Continental, International, Healthy, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: as warm and welcoming, as a traditional English Carriage House. The white walls and exposed rafters are adorned with riding tack, farm tools and other historic artifacts. While the wooden floors, wagon wheel bar stools and open fireplace add to the warmth.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Food par excellant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I have had the chance to dine twice at Alice May and I always class the second visit as quality control. They have certainly passed the test with both meals being of excellent quality and value for money.Certainly recommend and always leave room on the dessert side.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    224
    143
    49
    19
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We were recommended to this restaurant and were not disappointed. Good menu to select from and reasonable prices. The service was friendly and the food we had delicious and well cooked. We were pleased we went to eat fairly early in the evening as it was getting really busy when we left.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A great night out!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

After checking out all the available restaurants in town, we settled on Alice May's as it has a good menu at reasonable prices with attentive service.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
“Always Good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I always eat here at night, great service even when very busy, very good menu.
Can be exceptionaly busy in the Summer, would definalty reccomend

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Whether you are staying in Franz Josef Glacier or passing through, stop here for a good meal. If it is dinner time, arrive before 6 p.m. to save a few dollars and avoid the crowd. The beer on tap is nice after a long day, but better yet is the food. We had a pork dish and a fish dish, both excellent. Everyone around us also commented how good the food was. We had no room for dessert, but you may want to, they looked worth it. The restaurant is small with a nice atmosphere and excellent staff. We also thought that the prices were reasonable.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alice May also viewed

Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 

Been to Alice May? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alice May, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.