We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable with views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Franz Josef TOP 10 Holiday Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Franz Josef TOP 10 Holiday Park to your Saves list
Franz Josef TOP 10 Holiday Park
5.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   2902 Franz Josef Highway, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Comfortable with views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We had 2 nights here and were happy with the location and the facilities. Eating outside with snow capped mountain views was very pleasant.The spa was greatly appreciated. however the room smelt stale and had to be aired for much of the day.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    103
    39
    17
    5
See reviews for
59
110
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Stayed for one night powered site in a motor home, with our 4 kids.. we were very happy with the facilities, most spacious showers of our whole trip...friendly staff..fantastic views...would definately stay here again

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redcliffe, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Booked into the Franz Josef Top 10 holiday park for 2 nights while touring the South Island in a motorhome. The park is lovely and quiet, great motorhome sites and the modern amenities block very clean. The views of the mountains just take your breath away, such a scenic place to stay. When we were there, it was quite busy, and we had to wait for a shower but everyone was very friendly. The park manager and staff were very helpful and nice. Sadly we had to travel to Fox to do our Glacier tour, as Franz Josef was closed to walk-in tours when we were there, but still enjoyed out stay at the park. One word of warning - don't borrow the loan bicycles, we found them quite dangerous on our cycle into the village. The staff apologized and said they would look into getting them fixed. Otherwise, a fantastic stay, would recommend this park highly.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Illinois
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We spent 4 nights at the Franz Josef TOP 10. The unit was well equipped and comfortable. The only negative was the noise made by the hot water heater from time to time. There is a self-guided rain forest trail on the grounds of the school next door and deep rain forest a short walk down the road exiting the rear of the Park.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

I recently stayed at the Franz Josef Top 10 Holiday Park with my sister and a friend. The accommodation is in a really convenient location, with very helpful reception staff.

Beware - lots of bugs around the area, so don't leave windows open when lights on.

The TV was good, kitchen area well-equipped, and nice modern shower/bathroom.

I bought a $5 internet card for use for 24hrs but it worked for about 15minutes. I took it back the next day and the guy at reception gave me a refund straight away.

Overall, this was great accommodation and I would definitely recommend it as a place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betchworth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

This a great location, about 20 minutes walk into town.
The staff, especially Johann, are outstanding. We had a bit of a disaster with our motor home (long story!!) and had to move into a chalet. The admin and move were made so much easier because of Johan's help. Nothing was too much trouble ...brilliant helpfulness. The chalet was a very high standard and very good value.
The facilities are very good too ...a good laundry, good communal kitchens and clean showers and toilets.

Room Tip: All seemed good!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We stayed at Franz Josef Top 10 Holiday Park middle of October, and we were well taken care of and after a little misunderstanding regarding our point out parking place (was already taken when we arrived), we were given a swell place when occurred. Clean and comfortable Holiday Park.
Thank you from Sweden!
Team Vidar

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Franz Josef TOP 10 Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franz Josef TOP 10 Holiday Park

Address: 2902 Franz Josef Highway, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Franz Josef TOP 10 Holiday Park 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A peaceful setting with great views of the mountains, Franz Josef TOP 10 has accommodation to suit every budget. Guests in campervans and campers enjoy modern kitchen and bathroom facilities. Accommodation includes standard cabins with shared facilities and self-contained park motel units suitable for singles, couples, families or larger groups. We have two spas for guests to use, Wi-fi throughout the park, kids playgrounds, Sky TV, games room. Our staff know the area and are happy to advise on the best way to enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Franz Josef TOP 10 Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Franz Josef TOP 10 Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.