We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Views Just Outside your Window” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Franz Josef TOP 10 Holiday Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Franz Josef TOP 10 Holiday Park to your Saves list
Franz Josef TOP 10 Holiday Park
2902 Franz Josef Highway, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Brentwood,ca
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Stunning Views Just Outside your Window”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

This views blows everything else out the window, its so beautiful in this town.Place is nice, clean, lovely linens on beds, nice facilities. We were 4 adults and shared the 2 bedroom with one bath. Would prefered to have 2 bathrooms but nothing else available. Laundry was expensive, the close ones dryer didn't work had to go to back of property, public shower did not have hot water. So some important details should have been better, but location was amazing...nice girl at reception, very helpful

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    83
    30
    13
    3
See reviews for
52
90
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Our family visited in January, Mum, Dad with four children and friends in in early 20s age group. We stayed in Motel units for one night. The reception team were friendly and helpful. The units were modern, clean and tidy. They suited us very well. It was good value for money.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

At $40 a night for tents, this place isn't cheap but you do get full facilities. There was a tv and games room, good sized laundry, huge kitchen and dining room, BBq area, lots of picnic tables, and most importantly great hot showers. Everything is spotlessly clean and well maintained. Reception staff were really friendly. Location is ideal

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I arrived during a summer storm. Nice to see families enjoying the park in buggies despite the weather. The service was good, matter of fact, and polite. I was disappointed in additional charges for internet. On booking .com it was advertised free. There may have been fine print on this, for members of holiday top 10 only but still not what i read.

I had to hire a towel. It was a very old towel and expected for an average holiday park camp.

The room was ok but not nearly up to the usual standard in a three star motel. It had a kettle and toaster however no water or tap. The bed was comfortable. We had use of a kitchen. There was no utensils and plates etc. We are offered the chance to hire this. The bathroom ...about 4 or 5 toilets and 4 or 5 showers sounds a lot. But if you have 100 in the camp it is not enough. I had to wait 10 minutes to use the toilet and after using the shower, there was a queue of 4 behind me.

If you are use to good romantic hotels or motels or studios, you will be very disappointed. If you have a big family in tow and willing to surrender a bit of privacy and luxury for a bit of fun and some serious savings then this is good for you.

The gardens were good and appeared maintained. Also there was evidence that the hosts had provided buggies for the kids. There was a TV in the kitchen...that was cool for the children.

Room Tip: try the vege pasta...yum. But it wont fill ya belly ...so try two. Ask for it to be heated. Mine was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney, australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We booked a powered site for our little campervan and it was great, good facilities, short walk/drive to Franz Josef village centre etc.
It was a perfect base with breathtaking scenery for us to explore the glacier.
Would also definitley recommend a scenic helicopter flight over the glacier(s) and the thermal pool/spa place in Franz Josef.
Would definitley stay here again if the opportunity arose.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokoroa, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We arrived on a very wet day and was greeted by a very friendly face at reception.Our powered site was very near the bathroom/kitchen, which was a godsend in the rainy weather.All the facilities were top quality and I wish we could have stayed longer.We checked out a day early due to bad weather and the lady on reception was very helpful and gave us a refund with a smile.Your park is wonderful and I hope to come back when the weather is better.Well done!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

The one bedroom apartment had a bad smell. We were a group of 8. we had 2 one bedroom apartment and one, two bedroom apartment. The 2 bedroom apartment was still ok. The cups in all the rooms were stained. The overall ambience of the rooms was very shabby and the smell in the room made it difficult for us to sleep there. The bathrooms were also ok. After seeing so many apartments of good quality on my holiday to New Zealand, this was the only one that was a big disappointment for us.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Franz Josef TOP 10 Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franz Josef TOP 10 Holiday Park

Address: 2902 Franz Josef Highway, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A peaceful setting with great views of the mountains, Franz Josef TOP 10 has accommodation to suit every budget. Guests in campervans and campers enjoy modern kitchen and bathroom facilities. Accommodation includes standard cabins with shared facilities and self-contained park motel units suitable for singles, couples, families or larger groups. We have two spas for guests to use, Wi-fi throughout the park, kids playgrounds, Sky TV, games room. Our staff know the area and are happy to advise on the best way to enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Franz Josef TOP 10 Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Franz Josef TOP 10 Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.