We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic service and facilities” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Franz Josef TOP 10 Holiday Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Franz Josef TOP 10 Holiday Park to your Saves list
Franz Josef TOP 10 Holiday Park
5.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   2902 Franz Josef Highway, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Christchurch
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Fantastic service and facilities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012 via mobile

Excellent service and probably the nicest top 10 I've stayed at yet. Staff went above and beyond to ensure our stay was a good one. We had a powered site and facilities were top notch and very clean. Thanks guys!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    103
    39
    17
    5
See reviews for
59
110
8
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

The first room we checked in has NO heater at all! And this is May. We upgraded to a second room with actually a heater, but then the room was still cold and very uncomfortable. Facilities are bad throughout. Along our trip we stayed in another Top 10, and found that both of them are lackluster in quality. Don't be lured by the $5-10 savings in room rates (sometimes even at the same price). You get much better quality in other motels and holiday parks. The staffs are unfriendly by NZ standards and provides little information as we checked in. I guess they just want to go off early since we arrived around 1 hr before their reception closing time.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

We were adventurously enough to take 10 hours to travel along Queen Charlotte Drive and West Coast, from Picton to Franz Josef. It was already 9PM by the time we reached there. The whole holiday park is very quiet, probably because it is less populated at this season, we does get a unit for 7 people at reasonably fair price. Our room was next to the dining lounge with kitchen facilities, TV room and sofa. The whole place is all for ourselves, and we can watch the TV, enjoy the dinner and chit chatting without worrying too much to interrupt other visitors. Room was very clean, though basic with no fancy decoration, but we were happy with our beds. The night view with Mt Cook in sight is very beautiful too. As we left early next morning, we were lucky have paid for our room before we reached there. We were kind like just stopped by to this place, without even meet the staff there (they left the key for us, as we arrived late). We will consider to choose this place again in our next trip to Franz Josef.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

We got suite number 6 which is not a family room
The room is small and dark and there is no place to eat in the room
Beds were horrible and I woke up with sore back!!!!! ( took me 3 days to get out of it)
Room had bad cooking small from the cooking made in communal kitches thus it seems that the ventilation of kitchen is not effective.
they could not get us other room so we suffered through the night
a day after we have moved to a real "family room" which was bearable
Overall was a very bad experience
The park has 5 stars but no indacation for 5 stars
No kids playground and none 5 stars facilities
We were very dissappointed from park and room

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

stayed in a 1 bedroom motel unit.
very good quality. clean. slept 4 people
kitchen area was good
bathroom was the open concept: toilet, shower sink all in 1 space with the shower splashing everywhere the shower curtain can't contain
there was a trampoline for kids
used the laundry room. several machines - like 5 washer dryers each i think
would stay here again
the office staff were helpful with tips for exploring the region

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

We often stay in ensuite rooms and units at Top 10 parks as overall they are good value for money and we know what we're getting. We were not disappointed with Franz Josef. It was slightly more pricey than other Top 10s but we were happy with our unit which was nice and warm and had faciltiies sufficent to cook tea / breakfast (hot plates and microwave). The queen bed in the lounge took up a fair bit of room but overall the one bedroom unit was large enough for the 3 of us (a single and bunks in the bedroom)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

We stayed in part of this modern motor camp which had separate rooms with beds and bathroom but where you shared the kitchen and lounge facilities.

It was very tidy. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom very clean. The kitchen was fully equipped with pots and pans. However it was a it small and became congested quickly if one or more party was wanting to cook. However we did meet some nice people from Scotland as a consequence.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Franz Josef TOP 10 Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franz Josef TOP 10 Holiday Park

Address: 2902 Franz Josef Highway, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Franz Josef TOP 10 Holiday Park 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A peaceful setting with great views of the mountains, Franz Josef TOP 10 has accommodation to suit every budget. Guests in campervans and campers enjoy modern kitchen and bathroom facilities. Accommodation includes standard cabins with shared facilities and self-contained park motel units suitable for singles, couples, families or larger groups. We have two spas for guests to use, Wi-fi throughout the park, kids playgrounds, Sky TV, games room. Our staff know the area and are happy to advise on the best way to enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Franz Josef TOP 10 Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Franz Josef TOP 10 Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.