We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real treat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glacier Hot Pools

Glacier Hot Pools
Cron Street, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand
0800 044 044
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #11 of 16 attractions in Franz Josef
Type: Spas
Attraction Details
Hamilton, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A real treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

The weather was cold and the rain freezing - but the thermal pools were just right. I found a spot to sit under the overlapping sail cloth (as it was dark I can't tell how much sun they would block out) - this reduced the number of cold wet rain drops that landed on my head - all part of the fun. Most people seemed to prefer the cooler pool, while I spent time in the two warmer pools. The pools are really well set up, so you can find yourself a quiet nook to sit and relax. The only down side was that the lockers for clothes were (i) not particularly easy to find and (ii) open on one side and the rain got in a bit. And, of course, it was cold getting out of the pools! The changing rooms were very smart - the showers appeared to be in a cleft in rock, which was a great touch.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    104
    38
    10
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great place to relax”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

This was a highlight of our trip to Franz Joseph - mainly because it was cold and wet, and the Glacier pools were warm and wet! Franz Joseph receives around 5100mm of rain per year according to the visitor centre. I'd recommend upgrading to the private pools which come with their own shower / toilet and change room. Included in the price was access to the 3 other pools, so it was easy to try out the lot by getting there a little before our booking time.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good escape from the weather!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We had a great time here on a (very) wet evening. There is a family change room which was great for us (mum, dad, 1 year old). We all loved the pools, very clean, great setting in amongst the rainforest. It was pretty good value, and so much nicer than the Hamner Springs pools

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing Experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Glacier Hot Pools is a very popular spa in Franz Josef and offers both - public and private pools. The 3 public pools are maintained at different temperature levels, while the private pool, as the name goes, offers absolute privacy, thus making it ideal for both young couples and small families. The pools are located amidst lush greenery and the cool, tranquil atmosphere along with the hot pool makes this a perfect place to relax after the a hectic day in the glacier country. They also have relaxing massages - which I found to be a little pricey - and hence didn't opt for the same.

We, two adults and three children, opted for the private pool and we loved the experience. The kids were absolutely thrilled and never wanted to come back! I should warn that the private pools, compared to public pools are rather small - but is still perfectly fine for couples and small families. Also, people who opt for private pools also have access to public pools - free of charge (though swimwear is necessary for public pools!).

The private pools are equipped with a changing room, toilet and bath - all heated - and is quite spacious. The pool experience is for 45 minutes with an additional 15 minutes for changing (the water drains off after 45 minutes).

I strongly recommend glacier hot pools to everybody visiting Franz Josef, for a relaxing experience amidst lush green settings.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Relaxation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

After our drive and trip up to and onto the glacier we wanted to chill and relax. his definitely hit the spot. Definitely a couple/ adult attraction which differs to Hanmer Springs. There Re 3 to pools .. 36/38 and 40 degrees...facilities are good but more pricey that Hanmer Springs....very enjoyable would recommend

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glacier Hot Pools also viewed

Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 
Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 

Been to Glacier Hot Pools? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glacier Hot Pools, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Glacier Hot Pools to your Saves list