We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful spot, best breakfast in NZ!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fox Glacier Mountainview Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Fox Glacier Mountainview Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Fox Glacier Mountainview Bed and Breakfast
Williams Drive, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7951, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Fox Glacier B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful spot, best breakfast in NZ!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014

Unfortunately we didn't get much time at Fox. We arrived late and got a great introduction to the room and advice on where to eat in town (fair warning: there aren't many places and in our experience the food was decent, but a bit overpriced)

The ensuite room we stayed in was clean and tidy, not overly modern (if that's what you're after), but very comfortable and enough space. The bathroom fixtures were again not modern, but very well kept and clean and worked perfectly. We really appreciated the electric blanket, and the bed was the best we slept in during our 7 days in the south island.

Karen herself was very chatty and helpful, fixing us up with a beautiful breakfast and some advice for our glacier helihike later that day. The views from her place are just as pictured, beautiful snow capped mountains reflected perfectly in the picnic pond and immediately surrounded by a few quiet fields.

Room Tip: There are seperate ensuite rooms, and dual rooms (work for families) inside the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    25
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
10
76
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014

Our en-suite room was clean, simple and comfortable. What we particularly appreciated was the genuinely warm welcome and hospitality from Karen and her family and the spectacular views. There's a reflecting pond right in front of the house and Lake Matheson is a short drive away for a gorgeous early morning walk. Karen also invited us to accompany her into the pasture to feed the cows, which was a treat.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2014

Seeing the views when we first arrived, we immediately realised that Karen has aptly named her B&B as Mountainview B&B. The drive in was nice, seeing that she has some cows and chickens. Once we got out of the car, we were warmly greeted by Karen. She showed us to our room, and we were pleasantly surprised that not only the exterior was a pretty sight, but the interior was nice too. The room was a comfortable size, and has a modern yet cosy feeling. For example, there was a coffee table for you to sit at to enjoy the view from the room, decor was soothing to the eyes, everything was meticulously cleaned and nicely laid out. Karen invited us to tea and biscuits and chatted with us on the things we could do and the timings, and routes to take.She gave many valuable advice, which turned out to be really good. For example, we were pleased that we took her advice to do the fox glacier heli height and did lake metheson at 630am. Breakfast was great too! Well there were so many good things to write in here. All in all, the best B&B experience we have had!

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We stayed here in the studio apartment as a break whilst travelling down the West Coast.

The welcome from Karen the owner was very warm (including a cup of tea) which was very acceptable after being drenched exploring the Fox Glacier itself.

The facilities were excellent and she had even put the heating on to warm up the room.

Unfortunately, it rained most of the time so even after setting the alarm at 6am, I missed the visit to lake Matheson to take the iconic ‘reflections’ photo! We also only had a quick glance at the amazing view over to Mt Cook.

However, the wonderful breakfast more than compensated for the disappointment and there is now a good reason to return to this idyllic setting again in the future – but on a clear day!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

We stayed in Lemon Cottage which was lovely with stunning alpine views all around. Karen was a wonderful host and she welcomed us with a drink and gave us lots of useful tips on local things to see such as Lake Mathieson, the best viewpoint to see Fox Glacier and where to eat. We were lucky enough to see Mount Cook in clear weather and it was like a picture postcard view. The setting of Mountainview B&B is idyllic set in pretty gardens and a pond which shows sublime reflections of the mountains in good weather.
Breakfast was excellent and gave us he opportunity to chat with Karen who is really interesting and made our stay even more special. We wouldn't choose to stay anywhere else if we are lucky enough to return to Fox Glacier.

Room Tip: Lemon cottage was very nice and completely private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Upon our arrival we were warmly greeted by a very spontaneous Karen. She invited us in for a cup of tea and loads of information on Fox Glacier. The b&b is located just outside of the village of Fox Glacier, but still easily reachable for dinner in the evening. Lake Matheson, with its gorgeous reflection pool is nearby.

We wanted to do a helicopter ride and had nothing precooked but she managed to get us on an early morning flight, perfect!

Rooms are big, clean and equipped with all you need. Breakfast is served in her living room and you can choice between either continental our eggs.

Room Tip: One word of advice: it gets cold at night, so use those blankets!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenelg, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

our stay at Fox Glacier Mountain View was easily our best stay in New Zealand. Karen is an incredible host who greeted us with tea and gave us advice which helped us immensely with our travels. Our room was clean and spacious and the view was simply breathtaking! Karen cooked us up delicious breakfasts each morning and made our stay unforgettable. We did the ' nimble fox' glacier walk which was the highlight of our trip. We will definitely be back, thanks alot Karen!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fox Glacier Mountainview Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Glacier Mountainview Bed and Breakfast

Address: Williams Drive, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7951, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Fox Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to my peaceful Fox Glacier hideaway, set on 8 acres of "Pure Nature" at its best. This 8 yr country home has it all. With wide-open landscape, breathtaking views of Mt Cook and Mt Tasman, and surrounded by bush-clad hills with a magnificent reflection on my own special pond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Fox Glacier Mountainview Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fox Glacier Mountainview Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.